We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic weekend.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baganara Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bartica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baganara Island Resort
Save
You added Baganara Island Resort to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Essequibo River, Essequibo, Guyana, Bartica, Guyana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bartica
TRINIDAD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Romantic weekend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This place is so relaxing and peaceful its a place for romance. I will recommend it to everyone.
The food is delicious and well balance.
The workers are friendly and are there on your every needs.
The rooms are cozy and comfortable.
We will surly come back with friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks over the river, a beautiful sight when you get up in the morning. Need an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

When you get off the plane the sound of silence rings in your ear. The friendly welcoming staff greets you to take you to your room, then to a lovely welcome drink.
The only thing this place is missing is golden streets... It is the perfect getaway for seclusion for couples, families, friends or retreats.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A little slice of paradise. Amazing staff, great food, beautiful beach which you can have almost to yourself since and that is the beauty of it, the whole point of escape". It is a wonderful escape.

Wish they had a 9 or 18 hole golf course right at the back of the building, or even a golf drive range. Please do one if you can Baganara and I will return more often if you did :)

You can fly to the Island but I enjoyed the speed boat ride to the island to enjoy the beautiful view from the river, flew back to Ogle. just make sure you wear your life vest in the speed boat.

Will definitely return someday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had the Island all to ourselves. It was amazing. The staff were like family. Kurt, the main man was full of warmth and light as were all the others. More than willing to leave you to do whatever you fancied, but also really interesting to talk to if you felt like learning about Guyanese culture. It was our first point of call and certainly settled the nerves on visiting the motherland for the first time.

Apart from the great people, the beautiful view of Amazon on the other bank, and the sweet sound of nothing, there was also a table tennis table and some row boats for a bit of entertainment. I don't think you'd get bored here though.

Oh and also the food is brilliant. It's all the things my mum cooks, but with a slightly modern twist and served like your in a posh restaurant - Only with bamboo tables, an open view of the river, jungle, calypso in the background and waitresses who smile from the bottom of their hearts.

Fair to say I think, that this Island is an absolute treasure. Kurt, Ervin and Everyone at Baganara - "Thanks for a beautiful moment."

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We used Baganara as rest stop between touring the Guyana interior and moving on to Suriname and French Guiana, and found it perfect.

The rooms have a Caribbean colonial feel and the large dining and lounge area feels almost Polynesian.

Grand sweeps of manicured lawn with chairs and benches throughout make strolling a delight.

There are plenty of beach chairs and tables and the swimming is excellent. The sunset excursion to parrot island is a pleasant end to a day of lounging.

Food is excellent and service sublime. But then, we were there midweek and had the place to ourselves. We recommend visiting midweek. The place fills up on weekends. Weekdays, we were told, it is often just a few guests and some occasional day-trippers who stop by for lunch.

Baganara is a popular conference center and could easily accommodate large groups. A landing strip makes for easy access.

Tip: The newer rooms are some distance from the dining and lounge areas, the dock, and the roped-off swimming area. Be sure to bring rain gear, just in case.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

At the end of an expedition throughthe heart of Guyanas jungles this was the perfect retreat to wind down have a bit of a last party and just enjoy life. Staff all super helpful, great facilities for adults and kids. Food was unparalleled absolutely fabulous. Airstrip and private island idea is a novelty you don't find everywhere. Very laid back feel to the place and a great place to start or end any trip to Guyana!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We have just returned from 3 months in Guyana. And amid a lot of other very excellent adventures, we ditched the kids for one night and flew to this total paradise! It was very peaceful. The beach was ours, no annoying beach vendors oofering to do your hair or plait you a hat (Barbadoes)

The staff were uber efficient but very inobstrusive.

We were very impressed by the evergy solutions of this great place. By using solar pv panels and hot water panels they have kept their use of fossil fuel to a minimum. The water is from rainwater harvesting and using grey water (the river) for the washing and watering needs.

I know folk have disparaged the temp of the hot water, but do remember this is an attempt to be as eco friendly as possible and to besides, why do you need hot water when really all I wanted was a refreshing cold shower. The outside temp is 30 degrees for Pete's sake!

The food is all local and TO DIE FOR! The fish is fabulous. They do not overcharge for the drinks unlike the Pegasus Hotel in Georgetown.

.

My husband loved sitting on the beach and observing the little aircraft dropping people off. He took so much video the battery went flat.

You can kayak around the island in about 1.5 hrs which we did. And they actually do a run in their boat to ensure you are safe.

We'll definitely be going back next year for a bit longer.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fab. If you are a plane enthusiast, just ask for the room overlooking the little s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baganara Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baganara Island Resort

Address: Essequibo River, Essequibo, Guyana, Bartica, Guyana
Location: Guyana > Cuyuni-Mazaruni > Bartica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bartica
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baganara Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pre-eminent among the three hundred and sixty-five islands in the mighty Essequibo, with its own 2000ft airstrip, Baganara is this wonderful little paradise with one hundred and eighty-seven acres of lush green foliage and tropical flowers. Five miles South of Bartica, it is the getaway to the un-spoilt rainforest of Guyana and the junction where the great Essequibo and Mazaruni Rivers meet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baganara Island Hotel Bartica
Baganara Island Resort Guyana/Bartica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baganara Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.