We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really worth the trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kayaking Puerto Rico Adventures, Inc.

Kayaking Puerto Rico Adventures, Inc.
Rd. #987, Km. 5 Las Croabas, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
787-435-1665
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 48 Activities in Fajardo
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the finest BIO BAY, SNORKELING, Kayaking, and Boating Excursions in Puerto Rico! Winner of the Puerto Rico Tourism Company QUALITY AWARD, KPR specializes in professionally guided eco adventures along Puerto Rico’s Eastern Coast.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Hillsville, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We took the late tour and it was awesome. Safety was stressed and the staff were professional in their duties. Navigating was a bit difficult depending on who you were following. Couldn't see a thing as it was a moonless night. Tiny lights on the kayak were enough to follow provided the folks in front of you stayed on course. The Bio-Bay was awesome and the guide was extremely knowledgeable in the subject. Well worth the trip.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,010
    103
    22
    2
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Glad we did this tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time on this tour. We took the earlier tour during the new moon, and were glad we could go through the mangrove forest first in light and then in the dark. The luminescence was fascinating, and the scenery was beautiful, too. By the time we started back it was completely dark and the luminescence was fairly bright, all the way through the Laguna and the mangroves. Cristobal was our trip leader, and he kept our group organized and did a great job timing our movement around the many other tour groups. There were also three other guides, and while we didn't interact much with them, I was impressed with how pleasant all the employees were despite what looked like a pretty hard job of herding us all around.

If you have kayaking experience, that could definitely add to the fun; we were able to stay in the front of our group of about 15 boats the whole time, so we got to hear everything the trip leader had to say about the environment, flora, and fauna. We found out the next day that some of the other guests struggled with their boats in the windy weather, and the company gave everyone on our trip an automatic partial credit. We had no such problems, but I could see how it might be difficult if you're not comfortable in water (although it's 2 feet deep), and it's dark, and if there's wind.

Overall, we thought it was a VERY good value. Some of the other reviews mentioned it's hard to find, but if you follow the verbal directions on the website and take a look at their map, you shouldn't have any problems. It's exactly as described and the roads are marked. (I have found that nav systems generally don't work well in PR yet, so don't count on your phone to get you there.)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We are really not much for doing tours, but rather like doing things on our own. However, we wanted to see the Bio Bay in Fajardo. We went on the earlier tour, which we liked because we were able to see the mangrove forest better. As it became darker, we had fun watching the water glow as we splashed and paddled. Going back through the mangrove forest, we saw fish glowing as they darted under our kayak. Some reviews lamented that the earlier tour was not dark enough, but we did not find that to be a problem. At any rate, once you go back in the mangrove forest, it was absolutely pitch black. The bioluminescence continued all the way until we left the canal. The tour was run very well, and the staff was very helpful, friendly and informative.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Professionally and well run operation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The experience itself was amazing. The bioluminescent microorganisms -- while nothing close to the pictures -- were incredible to see lighting up. I went on the earlier tour, which was nice for navigating the Mangroves, but I wish it would've been a little darker before we headed back. Part of the problem were some nearby lights, and I would recommend trying to avoid booking near a full moon, as that will probably detract from the apparent brightness. Overall, though, a very cool and worthwhile experience. To top it all off, Kayaking Puerto Rico was a very well run, helpful, and professional tour group.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“AWESOME EXPERIENCE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We went through Kayaking Puerto Rico for 2 excursions...the Bio Bay and the Aquafari in Culebra. Both were amazing and worth every bit of money and time. The staff is super friendly, funny and kind. The Bio Bay was an amazing experience. At night, you leave the meeting area on kayaks and head across some open water to a little path through the mangroves. Once you get far enough in, you start to see the water glow with every oar stroke. It was BEAUTIFUL. It opens up into a lake where you meet and the guides talk for a bit about what causes the effect, then you are allowed to paddle around and check out the area for a bit before meeting the group again and heading back out. It is absolutely beautiful. Seeing the water sparkle and glow like that is just surreal! The Aquafari was also absolutely amazing. Snorkeling with sea turtles and sting rays and schools of fish...awesome. If you are in the area, DEFINITELY take the time to check out their excursions and do 1 or 2 or all of them if you have time haha. I am already planning another trip to PR and will most definitely be using Kayaking Puerto Rico again!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayaking Puerto Rico Adventures, Inc. also viewed

 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Kayaking Puerto Rico Adventures, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayaking Puerto Rico Adventures, Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.