We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Culebra!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Island Excursions

East Island Excursions
Luis M. Cintron | Marina Puerto Del Rey, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
+1 787-860-3434
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$96*
and up
Ranked #11 of 48 Activities in Fajardo
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For the best snorkeling and island trips!!!Come Sailing aboard our comfortable 62 ft sailing catamaran East Wind to Icacos marine reserve. Relax and enjoy complimentary pina coladas and sumptuous lunch buffet. Beautiful white sand beaches, turquoise waters and extensive reefs. Even non-swimmers can learn to snorkel or just enjoy our underwater windows and waterslide which delight kids of all ages! Our high speed Power catamarans zip you to the underwater world off Culebra Island, famous for its crystal clear waters and colorful reefs. Explore the miles of powdery white sand on Flamenco or Culebrita beaches.Try our nighttime excursion to Vieques Island for a tour of the bio-luminescent bay, and return to the mainland the same night. Enjoy the sparkling waters for a truly magical experience!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Culebra!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I used East Island the last time I was in Puerto Rico for the Icacos snorkeling trip and had a fantastic time. This time I made sure to book them again, choosing the Culebra snorkeling trip. The excursion was definitely one of the highlights of our trip!! The trip over to the island is a fun experience by itself, but once there it is absolute paradise. Culerbra is an absolutely beautiful place and the East Wind Catamarans are a fantastic way to see it. We had plenty of time to snorkel reefs around a deserted beach and then a few hours to spend snorkeling and walking Flamenco beach, which is heaven on earth. Of course the food, service, and hospitality of East Island Excursion are top notch. Highly Recommend!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    84
    19
    12
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Exceeded Expectation!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I had a private group of 60 persons from my organization Puerto Rico Masters Swimming League on a day trip from Fajardo to Icacos. Every aspect of the trip and organization exceeded our expectations. We had a list of the people traveling in advance and that helped us organize the group and know when we were ready to leave. Security counts were re-checked every time we moved from one point to another. On board the Captain William and the crew Hiram, Carlos and Sorein were very polite and friendly. Drinks and snacks were available during all the trip, lunch was appropriate for this type of event and tasted good. The spot on Icacos Beach was the best of all, we got there a little earlier that the rest of the supplier, after about 2 hours in the spectacular clear water beach in Icacos we had lunch and traveled to a nearby coral reef, deep enough to dive from the boat if you wanted, snorkeling equipment was clean and available to use and the coral scene was breath taking. On our way back to Fajardo more snacks were available and the ride was smooth and on time. Every member of my organization thanked me for organizing the event, but the all I did was contact the right people - East Island Excursion.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Mississippi
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience in the Bioluminescent Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This company is the only one that allows you to go for the afternoon from the main island of Puerto Rico to see the Bioluminescent Bay and then return on the same day. All other tours require that you stay overnight on Vieckes.

Overall this tour company is OUTSTANDING. They could not be friendlier or more concerned about your getting a great experience on the Bioluminescent Bay. They pick you up at the Fajardo marina, take you by catamaran to the island of Vieckes and then transport you by van and bus to the bay. The trip on the bay is on a pontoon boat and the crew does EVERYTHING they can to be friendly, entertaining and give you an up close look at the incredible bioluminescent creatures. There is no rush during this tour and you have an abundance of time to ask questions and play with the water to see the amazing illumination that occurs when the water is disturbed. I don't know what other tour companies do on this tour but our group of six people could not have asked for a more complete explanation to exposure to the bay. This is a top quality company and all the staff bend over backwards to make you happy with your experience. I could not more highly recommend them.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous time and value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We took the East Wind catamaran to Icacos for some beach time, swim time and then went to a reef stop for snorkling! This was a great time for the entire family the Internet says they provide lunch but they had some type of food out the entire time. Cpt. William and his entire crew were very informative and helpful and served as everything from snorkling instructors to bartenders/waiters to tour guides! They were very friendly, joked around with the kids and even gave my mom that is not the best swimmer some special attention to ensure she enjoyed the trip and felt comfortable snorkling. They offer pay ahead service which I did take advantage of and it did cut down on the wait because the check in for multiple boats is taking place at the same time! Chris was our host for the trip and he was just a hoot! ! Again he worked hard to be everything to everyone and did a great job! He was knowledgable about the islands and their history and more than willing to share! I think it was worth the price and we got the added value of seeing the movie ship for the Pirates of the Carribean that was docked in the marina. I honestly think we could not have enjoyed it more if we tried! I would recommend this and listen when they say sunscreen is ur friend and tell you to swim over further to the reef..it is worth it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claxton, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“No, No, No, No. Please don't book it!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Oh my goodness, where do I start. We booked this Bio Bay excursion to see the Bio Bay in Mosquito Bay. This was the worst excursion we have ever been on in our lives. We were picked up on a huge tour bus full of people around 3:45 from our hotel. We were driven to a boat dock which was about an hour away and we sat at this spot for at least 45 minutes before we were even acknowledged by anyone. Finally, they opened up a line for people to get in. There were probably 50 people there in line trying to pay and pick out what they wanted to eat for dinner... this makes no sense. Why not have people prepay and preorder the meal? This took f o r e v e r! Worst customer service on earth for something you pay over $150 for per person.

Finally, we were on the boat that took us over to the Bay (or so we thought). The boat ride was the roughest ride I've ever felt. Tons of people were sea sick. It took about 30 minutes over the highest waves and it was just pure torture.

After that is over, we are divided into two groups and organized into about 4 taxi cabs and taken to another place which is about 20 minutes away. By this time, it is around 7:30. We sit in a place and watch some sort of video and then half of us are led to a big yellow school bus and half stay to eat dinner.

Once on the yellow school bus, you are literally scared for your life. We were on a trail and there is no way it was safe. The bus was barely making it and at one point we almost got stuck in the mud. There was someone on our tour fighting with the guide about the safety of the bus but I don't know what was said because it was in Spanish, but it was very heated.

Anyway, finally, we get to the Bio Bay and get on another boat that takes us out to see the fish. There was no moon but still you could barely see the so called glow. We were so disapppointed that we had spent so much time and money on this excursion. we were in the bay for only about 30 minutes. By this time it was after 9pm and everyone was starving. we were put back on the yellow school bus and taken back to the spot for dinner.

We finally got dinner around 9:45pm and then we were loaded back in the taxi vans and taken back to the place to get on the other boat. The seas were not as bad coming back but it was still miserable. After getting off the boat, the bus was there to pick us up again. It was around 11pm and we got back to our hotel after midnight.

I can't stress to you enough that you should never book this tour. Take my word. It was the worst spent money. They were unorganized and safety was not a concern.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Island Excursions also viewed

 

Been to East Island Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Island Excursions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.