We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Puerto Rico!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1000 Avenida Conquistador, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$269 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paradise in Puerto Rico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We just returned from our 4th year at Las Casitas and once again, it was a truly perfect vacation. We hated to leave! Beautiful surroundings, great accomodations in our 2 bedroom ocean view casita, excellent service, especially from our butler, Carlos, and all the girls at the Manor House. This resort has everything for a couple/family to enjoy and we have already booked our trip for next year and can't wait to return to Paradise!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    217
    74
    46
    31
See reviews for
437
175
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northport, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Just got back from this wonderful vacation! Can't wait to return. Beautiful place, beautiful weather. Wonderful experience. Almost lost my daughter's new ipod touch and it was returned to us by Albert.. Sooo grateful!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princess Anne, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We wanted to See the El Yunque rain forest nearby and decided to stay for 2 nights in this place.
The setting is nice and the place is just large and a little outdated .
These Grand Hotels were fashionable in the late 30th and it cavernous premisses did impress some people.
However now more private places are preferred with good restaurants and service.
To say at least ,this place ,in the older part is very outdated and needs a complete workover.
The rooms even with their terrific view show their age.
They are clean but not spotless.
The restaurants,we tried a sandwich(just good for the waste basket) and a Chinese place do not meet the proclaimed standard of this place.
So for dinner ,rent a car and eat off the premisses.
When we send an email to the food manager ,he was disappointed that we will not visit this place again.
So if you want to have a real luxury hotel ,take the ferry to Vieques and stay at the really renovated W Hotel.
It is expensive but worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

We stayed at the Las Casitas/El Conquistador Resort in Fajardo for 5 nights in January 2011. We had a 2Br casita that had an oceanfront view. We elected to drive to the hotel because the transfers were $75 and renting a car for 5 days was $150 and it gave us the freedom to drive around. The hotel grounds are very nice and you drive up a hill to get to the front desk of Las Casitas (which is separate from the main hotel). check in is a breeze.
The 2br Casita is very spacious and has a full size kitchen which was awesome we have a 2.5 year old daughter. The rooms are very comfortable and housekeeping was thorough and polite. We had to ask for a few things more than once (paper towels, soap), but things happen. Beds and linens are comfortable, master bedroom has a safe. The balcony can be accessed via the living room and the bedroom. Nice touch.
The Casitas have their own pools and hot tubs which were not crowded and the infinity pool was amazing. The pools are not heated which is not a problem during the day, but in the evening it can get chilly.
The hotel grounds are expansive. There is no "on-site" beach, but our daughter loved the way we'd get to the beach: golf cart ride to main hotel, funicular down the hill to the marina, and a 7 minute boat ride to palomino. The island is clean and beautiful and the west side of the island has almost no waves and crystal clear water.
We only went to the restaurants a few times. Decent, overpriced, bland resort food. There are a number of better restaurants within a 5 minute drive of the hotel (La Estacion is one) that are much much better.
The dive shop on the site of the resort is above average as is the spa.
Overall, Pros: Beautiful 4.5 start resort that is incredibly family friendly and worry free.
Cons: no beach on site, but the island is awesome.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOCA RATON, FLORIDA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

First of all, Las Casitas are beautiful and the perfect place for any family with children of any age! The rooms are beautiful and the activities are plentiful for all. Kids Camp, Teen lounge, Water Park, excellent restaurants, Casino, Spa, and private Island. There is a beautiful golf course, Tennis, horseback riding, and it is real near El Yunke forest. There are excellent restaurants right near the hotel as well. The pools are magnificent!
My only complaint has to do with housekeeping. Sometimes we didn't get towels and another time housekeeping didn't show up until my 3rd call at 7 pm. Fortunately, the managers did respond and within 30 minutes all problems were resolved. So I would give it 4.5 *. It is too bad housekeeping took away the last star.
However, our family of 4 will be returning next year. If you don't mind spending a little time correcting the issues and reviewing the bill, it is a great place! I think tipping the manger will solve the housekeeping issue. I found out people paid lots of different amounts for their rooms so search around before booking. One other point, the hotel has a lot of hidden charges or rather not apparent charges so if your room charge is $400, expect another 20% of "resort fees" and taxes!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

My husband and I chose Las Casitas Village on the recommendation of a friend who had recently stayed here. I have been coming to Puerto Rico for vacations with my family since 1986, and have usually stayed in the Isla Verde / San Juan area. We decided to try some place new for 4 nights before going to meet the rest of my family in San Juan. Boy was I glad that we did.

After much debate, we decided to rent a car and am so glad that we did. The restaurants located right outside of the hotel were incredible (La Estacion / Pasion) and well worth the car rental alone.

The hotel is located 33 miles from the airport, and the shuttle to and from the hotel was pricey (I believe it was $74 per person round trip). When we arrived at the airport, it was pouring and the 33 miles took us about 90 minutes to do. But once arrived, holy cow! The hotel was beautiful. Sprawling grounds as we drove up, free parking for Las Casitas guests and we were greeted with bottled water. No problems at all with check in and we were given a brief tour of the immediate area. Las Casitas was gorgeous. It's own little area with 2 pools, restaurant, and very close to the amazing Golden Door Spa, which we tried and loved (though pricey!)

Golf carts will take you everywhere, but we walked wherever we wanted to go. Our room was the best part. We were upgraded to a 1 BR, with a kitchenette, hot tub on the back porch and the most gorgeous ocean view I have ever seen - with 2 lounge chairs. We never needed to leave the room.

I have to say, the great part about our stay is that it wasn't very crowded. There is a vehicular (not sure if that's what it's called), takes you down to the ferry where you go to the beach. We never had to wait, but I'm sure that if it was crowded, it could get annoying. Also, because it wasn't crowded at the resort, the ferries to Palomino Island (where the beach) is, only ran every hour, even on the weekends. Still, Palomino was beautiful and it has everything you'd need for a day at the beach (restaurants, bathrooms, horse back riding).

During one of the days, the weather wasn't so great, and we ended up going to the Coqui Water Park. It would be great for kids, but we found it fun for a couple of hours as adults!
Casino is small, but lots of cute little stores to wander into. Starbucks was key!

Some great things we did: Kayak Adventures - great company and we did the rainforest / bio bay combo.
Golden Door Spa: My husband did a Signature massage and I did the Spirit of LIfe combo - which was awesome!! Something unique other than then the regular massage I always do.
Food: La Estacion had the best skirt steak mofongo I've ever had in my life. I'm still dreaming about it. It's my new favorite restaurant in the world (no joke!)
Grocery Store: the one close by the resort has everything you need. Even had Luna Bars and Kashi cereal for lower prices than I pay in Manhattan. If only I could do my grocery shopping in Puerto Rico!
The lunch place by the main pool was awesome. We had these great foccacia pizza things that were amazing.

I wish we had done the Culebra Island / Flamingo Beach trip that everyone was raving about. We ran out of time.

Overall - great service, great place - and try to eat / book trips outside of the resort.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

Las Casitas is a selection of town home style villas adjacent to the El Conquistador resort. We enjoyed a two bedroom villa and were satisfied with the quality of the rooms. Las Casitas guests can use all of the resort facilities of El Conquistador as well as several other pools exclusive for Las Casitas guests.

Palamino Island is a nice venture, but be forewarned, no coolers! This posed a problem on several occasions as they reduced the 30 minute ferry to only once an hour as well as shut down shops on the island early due to few customers.

All facilities greatly overcharge for food and beverage. Pina coladas run $15 and a hot dog $9. I love to spend while on vacation but hate gouge prices. For those in Las Casitas you can grocery shop in Fajardo as well as dine at a few medium quality establishments out in town. Rental car is cheap and highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 Avenida Conquistador, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Casitas Village is an enclave of private villas that enjoy sweeping ocean views, fully equipped kitchens, personal concierges and butler service. Among many pleasures, enjoy an expansive waterpark, scuba dive, ride horseback, golf or choose from a renowned menu of soothing treatments at the Waldorf Astoria Spa. Las Casitas Village has long been known as the jewel of the Caribbean and has accumulated a list of prestigious awards and accolades including a 4-diamond rating by AAA. Welcome to Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.