We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort - if your expectations are set appropriately” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1000 Avenida Conquistador, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$269 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great family resort - if your expectations are set appropriately”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just returned from 6 days at Las Casitas (March 2013). It was a terrific place for our spring break - 2 adults and a 7 year old. Here are the pros, cons and tips from our trip:

Property: the property is beautiful, caribbean architecture and colors, tiles everywhere and gorgeous views of the sea or the golf course/mountains. It's beautifully planted. The property and rooms are a little worn - this is not 'brand new' so some paint is scraped, some tiles chipped, some signs of humidity on the outsides of buildings. If you don't look too too closely, lovely. We were up in the 'north village', which was a terrific location for us - close to the gym, the upper Casitas pool.

Pools: there are 7 pools - 3 at Las Casitas, 3 at the main level of El Conquistador, 1 at the interim level. This doesn't include the pools of the Coqui water park. The pools at Las Casitas are meant only for the guests of the casitas - the other pools can be used by any of the guests. The Casitas pools are quieter, but smaller and it can be hard to get several chairs together, unless you go early. Pools are all between 3' and 4' deep, so great for kids. One of the El Conquistador pools has 4 swim lanes, they were often busy in the early morning.

Clean towels can be tough - I realize it's hard for staff to keep up with the towel situation, especially as there are few places to leave used towels, so they're often scattered about the chairs, even when guests have left. There are hot tubs at all of the pools, some hotter than others. Never too full, based on our experience.

For of the nights we were there, they showed family movies at the north pool at El Conquistador - a fun way to see a movie, even if sound isn't perfect (so it's more enjoyable if you've already seen the movie once so you know the general plot). They even offer pop corn - a nice touch. We hit Walmart for a floating seat type thing and enjoyed the movies from the water.

Rooms: we booked a room through Expedia (the smallest room) and were very pleasantly surprised that it was a 1 BR, with a full kitchen (that's not what we expected from the room description online and the person who checked us in didn't mention that we'd been upgraded or anything). Lovely balcony with a lounge chair and table w/ 4 chairs overlooking the grounds and El Yunque. Open concept kitchen (with island for 3 to eat at), dining area and couch and chair around TV. We also had a washer/dryer - you can buy laundry soap at one of the stores at El Conquistador. Cleaning staff was good, once they got going - somehow we missed their rotation for the first 36 hours of our stay. One con - the beds were soft! If that's what you like, you'll be delighted. It wasn't great for us.

Eating: The kitchen in our casita had all the basics - including dish detergent and dishwasher soap, and even a blender! There's a Ralph's about 10 minutes from the resort, so it was nice to have supplies on hand instead of always leaving the resort for meals or eating at the resort (we saw the reviews and chose not to eat on property). Things we didn't pick up on our first food run and wish we had: sponge, coffee and coffee filters (coffee pods included in the room, but not if you want decaf or go through a fair amount of coffee), gladware (for leftovers). We found all of that at Ralphs - very much a complete supermarket, even if you can't find absolutely everything you'd find in the States (e.g., almond butter). There is a Starbucks at El Conquistador - full service (tho they don't take the Sbux loyalty card) and open at 6am. Seems they serve local coffee -- which we prefer to the usual Sbux, so we were pleased.

Beach - other reviews have commented about travel over to the beach (the island 7-10 minutes away by ferry). We really enjoyed our time at the beach - plenty of chairs, a fair amount of shade from trees or umbrellas, a place to rent water equipment, and soccer, basketball, ping pong, chess, casual minigolf, beanbag toss all right there. Can snorkel from the beach to some dying reef and see fish - not a ton of great fish to see, but entertaining and gives you the feel of snorkeling. Some cons: there's not much beach for distance walking, if that's your preference; the ferries can be a real bear in terms of getting over there -- on a Saturday morning, we easily made the first boat at 9am (we showed up at 9.05 grabbed some of the last seats and by 9.10 it was pulling out). Then, the full-on spring break crowd arrived! Combined w/ an unfortunately timed coast guard inspection on Monday morning, we waited about 40 minutes for a ferry (we arrived at 10.15) , and had a similar wait Tuesday morning (we arrived at 9.10). Others experienced even longer lines those mornings. To the resorts credit, they did hand out water to some waiting in line and called in the dive boat to help ferry people across, but still, a wait of over 30 minutes to get on the ferry over to the beach isn't a great start to anyone's vacation day.

Water Park - Coqui seems to fill up! We always went at 4pm ($5/person until it closes - around 5.15 for the slides, 5.30 for the rest). There's not a ton there to keep an active child busy all day, so an hour plus in the afternoons was perfect for us. Three slides (one w/ tubes) and a lazy river were our focus. There's a smaller, shallower pool area for younger kids.

Gym - as guests at Las Casitas, you can use the Golden Door Spa gym for free. It seems to open at 6, although the spa doesn't open until 7. Much better facility than the hotel gym. 3 elipticals of varrying types, 2 stair masters, 1 spin bike, 2 recline and 2 seated bikes, and 3 treads. Then there's plenty of weight equipment as well - a wide range of free weights and about a dozen machines. Most of the cardio machines have their own TVs. Not brand new equipment, but we were really pleased with it!

Other: for kids, we didn't try the camp, but we did have fun doing the ScoutAbout activity. A map with 12 'look outs' across the property, including the beach island. Collect a band when you read about each of the topics (e.g., Coquis, conchs, parrots, the labyrinth) and turn them in for an official Scout Band and your name on the bulletin board.

Overall, we were really happy with our experience. It's not a 5* but it was great for our purposes and we'd certainly go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    218
    74
    46
    31
See reviews for
439
175
6
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ojai, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the casitas .... especially the fabulous view from the infiniti pool and the deck off our casita! The grounds and landscaping were lovely and our room was nice and clean though nothing special as far as decor. The casitas were very quiet at night (besides the coqui frogs that we LOVE!) ... we were relieved that it's not a "party" hotel but mostly families. We appreciated the free wifi and the staff was always friendly and helpful. The ScoutAbout program for the kids was fun and we had a beautiful day at Palomino Island.... and we didn't mind the trek to get there. My only complaint is the food. I don't mind paying top price for top quality but the food was WAY overpriced for the quality and selection, especially breakfast. If I ever return, I will use the kitchen to make our own breakfast and try some dinners in town.

Room Tip: Ocean view room near the infiniti pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Casitas are part of the very large El Conquistador resort. This mega resort includes golf course, spa, private island beach, marina and many shops and restaurants. The Casitas are rooms/suites in a village type area as opposed to the El Conquistador which are hotel rooms. The Casitas somehow seemed a bit more quiet and pleasant and separate from the huge hotel areas of the El Conquistador. The resort is too big with too many people. The boat to the beach was pleasant but after you arrive on the island you have to hussle to find a chair and a spot on the beach that is swimmable. The island is large and surrounded by the great Puerto Rico water however a large part of the beach is hard to swim in without beach shoes as there is a reef surrounding the island.
We ate at the Italian restaurant at the hotel.It was great and I would certainly recommend it. The breakfast buffet was huge with lots of choices and I would also recommend that. The other restaurants that we tried were just average. My husband said that the golf course looked good and he would have liked to play but we didn't have enough time.
We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom casita without a view. It had a wonderful balcony with a table and lounge chairs, a kitchen/dining/living room section and separate bedroom. It was nice and if the beach and size of the resort were more to our liking we would think of returning but only if we were looking for a place to bring kids. There seemed to be a lot of kids activities however, it wouldn't be a place my husband and I would go back to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

House keeping is terrible and they move stuff and damage them. When you approach them they deny it. I lost my $180 beautiful butterfly item. Its not at all worth the fat money that you pay. I am so very disappointed and upset with this place. Totally ruined my vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We checked in late... There were no ocean views available ... But we got such a great. Deal we didn't complain.

This resort had amazing grounds to explore. It was fun to walk around grab a drink and enjoy the outstanding views from the many vistas . Mango mojito... Yum!

I agree it is a bit worn in places but the staff is so nice and the locations was great. Drive to Yunque, a near beach, monkey island so much more

Location is out of San Juan but after a couple of days in that city you want to enjoy the culture and restaurants around Fajardo
Estacion is right outside the gates and will give u a meal to remember

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

If you want to be in a tired, run down ,isolated hotel that overcharges you for fast food quality dining you will be quite happy. The hotel needs attention, and the location is dismal! I felt like I was stranded on a Carnival Cruise....

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Overall Las Casitas is a very nice resort but we were a little disappointed in the maintenance and service given the price. The faucets don't work correctly, the toilet mechanism gets stuck, a towel bar was missing, the doors catch on the floor, room service dishes were left outside for a day, the beds were made up missing sheets or blankets or pillows and service was slow in the casual restaurants. Two of the restaurants had excellent service (Stingray Cafe and the Japanese grill) so it seems as if the overall resort has a training issue (the folks are all very nice). The location is beautiful and there is lots to do/see so it still gets a 4 rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 Avenida Conquistador, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Casitas Village is an enclave of private villas that enjoy sweeping ocean views, fully equipped kitchens, personal concierges and butler service. Among many pleasures, enjoy an expansive waterpark, scuba dive, ride horseback, golf or choose from a renowned menu of soothing treatments at the Waldorf Astoria Spa. Las Casitas Village has long been known as the jewel of the Caribbean and has accumulated a list of prestigious awards and accolades including a 4-diamond rating by AAA. Welcome to Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.