We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place for getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1000 Avenida Conquistador, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Resort Credit
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Bucks County, Pa.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing place for getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I recently spent three nights here and had a wonderful time. Resort is nicely maintained and clean. We had a room with a view of the ocean, which was delightful. As others have mentioned, it is a short hike to the El Conquistador, where you catch the boat to the resort's own island -- which was nicely kept as well. Of course, it's hard to compare this over the sister property since we didn't stay there, but my sense is we made the right choice staying here. On needs improvement side, I'd say the maid service could take things up a notch. Coffee packets weren't replaced/supplied and a few other small things. But all in all, we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    208
    71
    45
    31
See reviews for
421
159
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed 4 days at the Casitas. The experience was FABULOUS! The staff was friendly and helpful and the facilities were extremely clean! We had breakfast outdoors at a small rest near the Casita. My family had a blast at the water park! Can't wait to stay again!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our intention was to stay at El Conquistador Resort but it was full. The option was to stay at Las Casitas. It is a great place because you still have the services of the hotel plus privacy and access to the infinity pool. That pool has the most wonderful/beautiful view, great spot to watch a sunset.
The only down side is that the room has furniture that is a bit outdated (it doesn't compare to the hotel rooms).
Breakfast service at the Las Casitas restaurant was great. A wonderful group of ladies. The food was not bad but the "fresh" orange juice didn't scream Minute Maid because it doesn't talk. Just wish that it was not advertised as "fresh".
Would not mind staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A wonderful resort that we travel to for a yearly winter escape each January. Kids refer to it as "our place" and they look forward to this vacation more than any other! Wonderful property with great amenities.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, AR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our family (two kids, my husband, my mom, and me) rented a three bedroom casita with an ocean view. The unit was 5510, and it was FANTASTIC! This was the best vacation I've ever had! The grounds were stunning, the service was wonderful, and the casita was comfortable, spacious and clean. I was so pleased with our stay, and I would love to go back. I could sit on the patio for hours listening to the waves and watching the ships go by.

Here are a few tips:
1. Get a rental car. There is a Walmart in town, and you will probably want to get some supplies.
2. There is a full kitchen- stove, oven, microwave, full size fridge, everything you need.
3. Go to the waterpark, if it is not crowded. Our kids have been to many waterparks, and this one was was small but fun. There were very few other families there, so our kids had the run of the place, and they had a GREAT time! If you have smaller children, keep any eye on them. The water is mostly shallow- not over 4.5 feet deep-- but you will still need to keep watch.
4. Go to Palamino Island, if it is not crowded. We took the ferry ride over two days in a row. It wasn't crowded at all, and we had a lovely time. The island was my favorite part of the trip. It was serene and beautiful.

Overall, I felt like I was in paradise. The transportation guys were so super nice! The Manor House staff were so helpful and friendly. We absolutely loved this place, and we would love to go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

First trip to Puerto Rico, and we booked a trip thru Luxury Link which explains the high value rating. If we had paid anything near full price, we would have been disappointed. Las Casitas is Waldorf's real estate development adjacent to the huge, convention style El Conquistador resort. With the real estate crash, the condo type rooms either were not all sold or they run a rental program for the owners. For the traveler, it's seamless and results in more space for the $ and a much better vacation experience.

Las Casitas is a relatively small, almost intimate resort that offers shelter from the mega EC resort. LC offers good, relatively large accommodations with a full kitchen and a balcony overlooking the ocean (you are perched on a cliff). It's a great view. It is not appropriate, however, for the physically impaired because there are steps.

We rented a car which I highly recommend because the food at EC is mediocre at best and is matched by the poor service. Most of the restaurant choices are at EC as are most of the amenities. We ate at 1 of the EC restaurants the first night and ate every other dinner out. Fortunately, there are some very good restaurants serving much better, fresher, and authentic food a short drive from the hotel. Breakfast at LC was included in our package, and the service at LC was much better than at EC, but food quality/variety still lags, particularly for a Waldorf.

Be prepared to walk long distances to EC or to wait for some kind of shuttle (which does not run on a regular schedule). I heard comments from some people that it sometimes took some time for the shuttle pick-up. We like to walk (I have young kids) so it was not a problem for us, but it could be an impediment for others.

While there are a plethora of pools at both EC and LC which are very convenient, there is no beach. You have to take the hotel's ferry to Palomino Island. It is a good 15-20 minute walk from LC to the cable car and then another 10-15 minutes to the ferry. The ferry ride is another 15-20 minutes. While PI is spectacular, it is not convenient. You have to plan on spending multiple hours to make it worthwhile.

If you are a strong swimmer/snorkeler, the snorkeling between PI and Little Palomino is the best in the area. We saw lots of fish, conch, sand dollars, etc.

Room Tip: If you plan on spending substantial time at El Conquistador for dining or other amenities, get a cas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have been traveling to Las Casitas with my adult children, their spouses and their young children for 10 years. They have finally earned their 5 stars. Without exception, everything was wonderful. Our 3 bedroom casita houses all of us in comfort and is located adjacent to the village pool (perfect for small children) and a short walk (1-2 minutes) to the beautiful infinity pool. Housekeeping outdid themselves: Besides leaving our rooms spotless and putting away any items we might have left out, they decorated the beds each night with a different animal made from towels. The entire staff is friendly and courteous, from the grounds keepers to the resort manager Max who is visible and approachable. We utilize the tennis courts every morning. Our game has grown from one court with 3 of us playing to 3 courts with all of us playing. Lunch is fun around the pool or at the Vantana outdoor cafe situated between the pools. Since we never need more than a coverup, bathing suits are the dress of the day. My daughter and her family love to go to the beach so they head out there for a day of fun. We also like 1 or 2 days at the water park, a nice diversion from the pools. This is beautifully landdcaped and well taken care of.
Ana Colon, our concierge, arranges for all our needs and handles any problems that may occur. When she receives my shopping list she arranges for a butler to shop for our groceries so our unit is provisioned before our arrival. Roll away beds are in place for the children before we arrive. Private busing is arranged for airport transportation. A Babysitter is hired for the nights the adults go out alone.
Our only complaint is the mediocre restaurants on premises. The food is ordinary and costly for what you receive (Strip House, Blossoms and Sting Ray, which is the best of the 3). We have given up on the Italian Restaurant and will no longer go. The outdoor Italian Restauant is lots of fun but how many nights can you go there, and that's a pizza type night.
For endless family fun we highly recommend Las Casitas.

Room Tip: Between the village pool and the infinity pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 Avenida Conquistador, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Casitas Village is an enclave of private villas that enjoy sweeping ocean views, fully equipped kitchens, personal concierges and butler service. Among many pleasures, enjoy an expansive waterpark, scuba dive, ride horseback, golf or choose from a renowned menu of soothing treatments at the Waldorf Astoria Spa. Las Casitas Village has long been known as the jewel of the Caribbean and has accumulated a list of prestigious awards and accolades including: 4-diamond rating by AAA ; #1 Family Resort by Caribbean Travel & Lifestyle Magazine ; Condé Nast Worlds Best 2012 Top 30 Caribbean Resorts 2012; 2013 Condé Nast Gold List; Travel + Leisure 2012 World's Best Award. Welcome to Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.