We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the only way to do Bio Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BioIsland

BioIsland
987 Street, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
787-422-7857
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 48 Activities in Fajardo
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“This is the only way to do Bio Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014 NEW

The electric boat is totally the way to go. We passed at least 4 large groups of kayakers who were constantly getting stuck in the mangroves, crashing into each other and some even flipped over. Skip that debacle and cruise with ease with the electric boat of BioIsland. They were very professional, informative, and allowed for more time in the lagoon than kayakers. The bio bay was absolutely amazing.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    13
    3
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Informative enjoyable and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely experience! Barney, Jeff and Mario were excellent as they guided our small group of 8 through the waters and gave us all the trivia related to the waters, flora and fauna. Not to mention the glowing waters and fish! Totally recommend this trip.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A must-do! Great tour & guide, one minor suggestion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

One of the only companies with an electric boat for the tour. I say this tour is a must-do over the kayaks. We saw how most other tourists go for the kayak experience and I must say it looked like a scary kayak trip, with 1 mile out to the lagoon and 1 mile back with the connecting canal full of trees and sharp branches and minimal lighting on the kayaks... just not the way I want to spend a night to enjoy the Bioluminescence experience. The boat was efficient and safe; there were 8 of us, plus Captain Jeff and Mario and his brother. Mario and Jeff were great tour guides, showed us iguanas on the trees and pointed out the science, geography and history of the lagoon and bioluminescence. The lagoon was very quiet and peaceful, with great stars shining above us. The bioluminescence was definitely real and they provided props and explained to us how to see the effects. The highlight was that Captain Jeff was a professional photography instructor and was able to capture amazing shots of each of us with the cameras some of the tourists have. Make sure you have a good SLR with ISO3200+ and manual mode to adjust aperture and shutter speed. Jeff will make your memory of the BioBay an experience with his amazing photography skills. I think this is something that a kayaking tour cannot offer. One minor suggestion would be that he and the company should offer to take photos with his DSLR and offered to email us the photos afterwards, either for a small fee or free of charge. That'll save a lot of time adjusting each camera's setting to make the photo look amazing. Thank you BioIsland. I would say forget about kayaking to BioBay!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Only one to use!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

There are many tours available to the bio lagoon, most involve kayaks in the pitch black. This operation is simply the best! They are very well versed in the science of the lagoon and share it at an understandable level. Mario knows what he is talking about and is very friendly. Captain Jeff handles the boat like a dream. The trip is truly a bucket list event! You should take this tour and use this company!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Once in a lifetime experience - do yourself a favor and opt for the boat and NOT the kayaks. They do get sold out weeks in advance, esp. around holiday time, so do make reservations well in advance. My first trip to the bay was with the other boat company and I have written a review about them as well. It was hard to get them to answer your call but we did make it and we were able to make a reservation, We took the 6:00 PM tour and it was the day before full moon day. We thought it was the worst possible time to see the bioluminescence but we did not have a choice. But the glow was surreal, and it was no different from the glow we experienced 5 days before, with the other boat company. The guide Mario was very funny and informative and made the experience fun for us. The captain even helped us with the camera to get some good pictures of the glow. Our experience with this company was soo much better compared to the other one. Would do it again!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BioIsland also viewed

 

Been to BioIsland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BioIsland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.