We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Cabezas de San Juan Nature Reserve

Las Cabezas de San Juan Nature Reserve
Rt 987, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
787-722-5882
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 25 things to do in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Leisure education, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Comprised of three headlands that extend into the Atlantic ocean, this nature reserve encompasses seven different ecosystems including forests, beaches and offshore coral reefs.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

One of our friends booked this tour for us. The tour guide was really funny & informative & everything was so beautiful. You can't beat the views from the lighthouse. I would definitely recommend seeing this.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    48
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Informative tour with lots of wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I loved seeing iguanas in the wild and learning about El Faro, the lighthouse built by the Spanish. This tour is great for all ages as it involves a good mix of walking, tram ride, education, and a tiny bit of air conditioning in part of the lighthouse!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This tram excursion was very interesting. You had to reserve a head of time for an English tour.
The guide was full of information. We made several stops in the 2 1/2 hour tour: at the ocean, the lighthouse (bathrooms) and a boardwalk trail. The lighthouse deck had wonderful views. We saw lots of small crabs on the side of the road, a few birds. Bring lots of cold water, it was VERY hot. I highly recommend this tour.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“The Night Walking Tour was Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had reservations for a Thursday night English tour which included being shuttled to the light house for a presentation and a chance to go up and check out the night view. This was followed by a walk out to the Lagoon where we were given sticks to stir the water to see the bioluminescence. Lastly we stopped and took a short walk out to the beach (seven seas) and so we could see some of the animals and insects active at night. A truly enjoyable 2 hours. Be sure to check the web site for the Department of Natural Resources of Puerto Rico where you can find and make reservations for this and other tours that may be of interest.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My boyfriend who was visiting PR for the first time was in love with this area Fajardo period. Great food and music.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Cabezas de San Juan Nature Reserve also viewed

Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 
El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Las Cabezas de San Juan Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Cabezas de San Juan Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.