We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delizioso!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Piccola Fontana

La Piccola Fontana
El Conquistador Resort, Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 76 Restaurants in Fajardo
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Michigan
Level Contributor
274 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Delizioso!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Wide variety of choices. We were all happy with our meals. Excellent service (in fact, it was hard to keep track of who was our waiter -- there were many people coming and going with things.) Make sure you request a table INSIDE the restaurant, as the lobby can be quite loud.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    29
    25
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolivia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“High hopes and a bit disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We saved this restaurant for our last evening splurge while visiting the el con over the holidays with our daughter and her boyfriend. Our reservation was at 9 and when we arrived at 8:45 we were told that someone called at 4 that day to cancel our reservation. No way since we were all on the island at that time. We learned that the hostess called all the rooms at 4 that day to confirm the evening which was ridiculous since everyone is either golfing or on the island at 4. There was no missed call at our room. We waited until 9:30 for them to seat us at a table suitable for 4 and not in a doorway. This was after the hostess wanted to argue about whether we cancelled or not. While waiting the manager comped a bar drink for us. Once seated we had a wonderiful evening. The boyfriend is italian and suggested the homemade pasta. We all had the homemade rigatoni with lobster. The 20 somethings had vodka sauce and we had marinara. The lobster was chunks and really good but a bit sparse for the price. The kids loved it. My husband and I thought it good but not worth the price. The kids had tiramisu and we have a chocolate dessert. The desserts were really really good. We were a bit disappointed that they didn't have good coffee drinks to go with dessert. We will probably try the restaurant again visiting the el con but we will make sure to confirm the reservation and skip the homemade pasta. We won't miss the desserts!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“One of the best food options at the El Con”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This Italian restaurant has a fairly big menu, good service, and good food. And a meal here doesn't seem to cost quite as much as some of the other fine dining options at the El Con. We enjoyed our meal here. I recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pricey, but worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

La Piccola Fontana offers a menu with a many choices for many tastes. I went with a family with a teenager and several younger children. Everyone easily found something to eat - even the normally picky children!

For a starter I had the meat and cheese board (picture shown). The prosciutto went very well with the cheese. I would recommend it for anyone. If you're looking for a smaller starter, you may want to share it with someone. Two of the members of my party tried the beef carpaccio and were very dissatisfied - the bee carpaccio is better at Strip House.

For the main course I enjoyed the Shrimp Fra Diovolo - a dish I enjoy as often as possible. La Piccola Fontana did a great job with it - 4 shrimp larger than any jumbo shrimp I've ever seen and homemade pasta. It was spicy, but delicious.

While this restaurant does have high prices, the portions are large and you will not go hungry.

Out of the restaurants available at the El Conquistador Resort, I would rate them...
1 - Strip House
2 - La Piccola Fontana
3 - Blossoms

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't Make Special Requests”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Food ordered by party members without special requests were tinely served and tasty. Special requests (i.e., no mushrooms, or "well done") were handled poorly or not at all. Sending food back did not improve accuracy. Servers need a better command of both the menu and the english language in a resort where many guests do not speak any spanish.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Piccola Fontana also viewed

Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Piccola Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Piccola Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.