We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bioluminescent Bay

Bioluminescent Bay
Laguna Grande | Las Croabas, Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 Attractions in Fajardo
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the three bioluminescent bays in PR - others are in Vieques and in SW of Island.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Make sure you go here on a night when there is no moon out, you will be able to see the water light up better on a really dark night. Parking was not so good as everyone is out enjoying the food vendors and the party atmosphere, but overall it was great!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    841
    245
    95
    44
    45
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Take the night time tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went on the English speaking night tour - make sure to ask for this as most of the tours are in Spanish. Our tour guide Carlos was fun and very informative!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bio-Bay , Fajardo, and Mosquito Bay, Vieques”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Having lived in Puerto Rico while stationed aboard Roosevelt Roads, I've been able to experience both of these beautiful bays. The kayaking was a bit stressful with my 6 year old, ( yes, she know how to swim), as she couldn't help me maneuver the kayak. Make sure you bring a waterproof flashlight to see your way through the mangroves ! My husband and 7 year old son were on the other kayak and did just fine. Once in the bay it's amazing watching the fish swim by, seeing the glowing droplets off your paddle and fingertips. I highly recommend this trip. Just don't let both flashlights be in the same kayak and get dropped over board by the 7 year old. Mosquito Bay was alot more relaxing as I didn't have to figure out how to maneuver a kayak. I would do both again ! The beauty of the water is something you will never see again!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Night Walking Tour - Different Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was my first exposure to Laguna Grande and since we had an infant in our group of 6, the only viable option was Night Walking tour which lasted for total of 2 hrs.

It started with ride in tram car and first stop was to the Lighthouse where tour guide presented power point around "dinoflagellates" and talked about significance of Lighthouse (This piece was informative but lacks universal appeal and might not find that many takers)

After lighthouse the next stop was Biobay - for about 30 mins with the help of long sticks you move the water to see the luminous effect.

Next stop was beach to experience it in the night and final stop was in the reserve where the tour guide talks about different night sounds in the reserve, showed species of coqui frogs, discusses how light pollution affects the area.

Overall great learning experience....If you are a student there are concession rates available for this tour...However was told that for Kayaking tour, mosquito bay, Vieques would be a better option.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What a waste of $75 Dollars”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

First the literature shows was looks like Neon Blue Water. It had rained before we got there and we asked if it would effect it and if yes, by how much. They said not really and that things should be great. We then kayaked through a Mangrove Tunnel. I got hit inthe for head with branches and my forehead was bleeding. The other person in my Kayak got hit in the cheek and was bleeding also. The leader takes off, and if you are not a great kayaker, you are left in the dust, with a guide behind you telling you to catch up. Then we got to the "show", or should I say "No Show"- They give you a tarp to put over you so you can see the glow. Let me tell you there was little or no Luminessence. These people should be shut down for stealing peoples money!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bioluminescent Bay also viewed

Fajardo, Puerto Rico
El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Bioluminescent Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bioluminescent Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.