We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carrucho filled arepas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Racar Seafood Restaurant

El Racar Seafood Restaurant
Rte 987 | Las Croabas, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 72 Restaurants in Fajardo
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Carrucho filled arepas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Nice place for families or couples. Lunch time is busy with local workers that get a bargain for local food that is tasty and well done. Arepas fill with sea food are so good! Recomended any day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall restaurants are the best places!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

This is definitely a hole-in-the-wall joint, but is worth the trip to get to. The red snapper is the way to go and this is a place that will definitely serves authentic Puerto Rican food for reasonable prices. It's an open-air restaurant, so if you're skittish of small, hungry birds, you may not care for it, but it's good eating with friendly staff for a great price!

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sea side and convenient.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Hungry and looking for a place to eat when all other places were closed, we sauntered into Racar. Good prices, good quantity, average food. I had the octopus mofungo while my partner had the chicken mofungo. Up to this point I would have rejected anyone's mofungo; however, this was a test of determination. Although I didn't fall in love with it, I can now say I don't absolutely hate it. Don't go looking for an up-scale atmosphere; functionality and convenience is the theme here.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pound Ridge, New York
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Food was good, ambiance was mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

The fish here was fresh and tasty. The ambiance is very causal, which is fine, but the service/atmosphere leaves some room for improvement. There was a counter where locals were ordering food, and tables, and there seemed to be one waitress working the tables. She did not greet us. It was hard to tell if there was actually table service from the waitress or if we had to get our own food at the counter. There was live music which was fun, but way too loud to make for an enjoyable dinner.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ok place while waiting for Bio Bay tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Don't expect a great restaurant, but you will receive fresh, local seafood that tastes fine.
We had the snapper and the king fish and both were pretty good. Snapper was delicious and other friends tried the shrimp.
The hygiene of the place is questionable, but you may put that under "authentic beach bar atmosphere". Bathrooms should not be used, if possible.

Overall ok for what you pay, but wouldn't choose it, if you are looking for a good meal in a clean environment.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Racar Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Racar Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Racar Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.