We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating locally in Fajardo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Racar Seafood Restaurant

El Racar Seafood Restaurant
Rte 987 | Las Croabas, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 67 restaurants in Fajardo
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Bergen County, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Eating locally in Fajardo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great friendly atmosphere--Delicious Mafungo! Inexpensive and COLD beers! Music on Thursday night! Not at all fancy but comfy and friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    15
    11
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good, authentic, cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We got tired of the expensive and mediocre food at El Con so I asked some of the resort's employees where to grab an authentic bite to eat. I went to this place four times during our stay to get the arepas de coco and the pies willed with chicken, fish and beef. Like most hole in the wall joints, this place was filled with locals and tasty.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Long wait for the food, but REALLY good authentic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were STARVING by the time we got here, Capt. Osva from the Fishing Tour in Fajardo recommended the place (even saw him eating where when we got there). We ordered mofongo (I got chicken, sooo good). The shrimp was good too. It just took a LOOOONG time to get the food, so don't go starving and don't go if you're in a rush. All in all it was a good local place to eat, and a short walk from the El Con. We spent $50 for five of us to eat there. Not bad Especially if you're staying at El Con where maybe 2 people eating would be over $60 bucks.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Cool, local seafood shack w/ $1-2 Medallas just a short walk from El Con”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just a casual place w/ plastic chairs, loud local music playing (sometimes; live music on Sundays), and seafood at great prices. I was staying at El Con, went on a walk to look for some geocaches for my daughters, and happened upon this place. It turned out to be happy hour – just $1 for cans of Medalla or Medalla Light (regularly $1.60 or $2 for a bottle); wow – after prices at El Con, that was quite the bargain. I also tried the pastelillos w/ shrimp (just $2.25) – kind of like an empanada or turnover, w/ shrimp in a tasty tomato-type sauce inside – very good.

My husband and I came back the next day for lunch and tried the local fish pastelillo (very good - $1.70), an arepa w/ shrimp, octopus and conch for $6 (kind of a sandwich between cornbread patties; pretty good, not too much flavor, maybe pork would have been better), and mofongos rellenos w/ combinacion of seafood (fish, shrimp, octopus, conch - $19) – almost everyone at the table of local folks behind us got this, too, and we liked it, but I think we were spoiled by the gourmet-like mofongo we had the night before at La Estacion – it was really light, almost like a cornbread pudding, and this one (which probably was more authentic and traditional) was quite a bit denser, and not quite as much flavor. Afterward, we kind of wished we’d tried the whole grilled fish of the day, but it was all still very good. The side of beans and rice (just $3) was incredible.

TIPS – the menu on the board and specials are entirely in Spanish, but they can give you a menu in English and Spanish if you ask. They also have wonderful bottles of homemade salsas if you ask.

NOTE: To get there from the El Con, go down to the Marina, Go left and follow the path out the security exit, and follow the road along the water until you get to the park, it’s on the left side of the street, just past the park. Less than 15 minute walk.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Casual restaurant, live music on Sundays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We were staying at the Marina Lanais condos and this place is in walking distance. We had a Medalla (the only Puerto Rican beer) here on a Sunday night and listened to some live music. The atmosphere is very casual - plastic outdoor tables and chairs. The servers and bartenders are fairly friendly (but don't expect to grab a quick bite to eat and head over to the kayak bio bay tour). We ate here a couple days later and I had the shrimp mofongo - soooo good. Something about the sauce from the shrimp on the mofongo was awesome. My husband had the pork and mofongo - the pork was dry but then again...what would you expect at a seafood restaurant? It's around $15-20 a plate which is pretty much the standard in Puerto Rico for seafood dishes. If you're in the area it's definitely worth a stop.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Racar Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Racar Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Racar Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.