We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fajardo Inn

Save Saved
You added The Fajardo Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Fajardo Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parcelas Beltran #52, Fajardo 00740, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Fajardo
Zurich
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Fajardo is not a pretty place, but chances are you are there to visit Culebra or Vieques. The Fajardo Inn is conveniently located about a 5mins drive or 15mins walk from the ferry to these islands. Other than that, it is a bit off, so there are few e.g. restaurant or basic shopping options nearby (at least I disn't see any)

The hotel itself is pretty big. I agree with previous posters that it seems strangely deserted even though it really wasn't when I was there - I saw at least 30 cars parked outside, but few people nevertheless. That being said, it is well-maintained, rooms are spacious even though furniture is a bit dated (who cares, though). Staff was friendly and helpful, check-in efficient. WiFi worked so-so, but that seems the case almost everywhere in PR.

The hotel has two pools and two restaurants, I was in the Mexican one, which frankly I found only OK even though it gets consistently great reviews. I think there's also a gym. There's plenty of parking and it's free.

I would stay here again and found it a good place for a night or two after visiting El Yunque and before Culebra/Vieques.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIPR, General Manager at The Fajardo Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. If you come back to Fajardo, we hope to be able to have you again as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    230
    126
    53
    43
See reviews for
140
221
21
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We recently stayed at the Fajardo Inn for two nights. We chose the Inn because we were taking the ferry to Vieques which was 5 minutes away from the Inn for the next part of our trip. We also inquired if we could leave our rental car at the Inn for the two days we would be visiting Vieques and the staff were very accommodating to allow us to park the car there, and when we requested a refrigerator for our room they quickly provided one.

Our room was comfortable for our needs as we do not spend a lot of time in the room. We had a corner room at the far end of the main building which was clean and quiet. There is not a lot to do in the immediate area of the Inn, but if you have a car, there are many restaurants and activities to do in the Fajardo area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIPR, General Manager at The Fajardo Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hello, thank you for letting us now about your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that our staff was able to help you. And mostly that you enjoy the Fajardo area. We hope to see you in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. Everyone is super nice, the food is incredible and the rooms are clean. It is really close from the rainforest, which we LOVED. It is an hour away from San Juan, so if you want to visit there make sure you rent a car. From the hotel, going towards the rainforest, before you make a left to enter the rainforest, take a right where you will see a breakfast cafe. They have the best breakfast in town. I loved Puerto Rico, everyone is so friendly. Don't be afraid to ask around if you get lost.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIPR, General Manager at The Fajardo Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi, we are very happy to know that you had so much of a good time with us. It was a real pleasure having you as our guest. We really appreciate you taking time to let us know about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

On a recent visit three of us spent 3 nights at the Fajardo Inn. The location is situated on a hill and offers panoramic views of Fajardo Bay and the ocean as well as the town of Fajardo and the interior mountains of Puerto Rico. On site the Inn has several swimming pools, a mini golf course and a playground. The area is populated with beautiful fruit trees and flowers and shrubs of many colors, shapes and sizes. The room we had was large, with 2 queen sized beds, a large dresser, 2 night tables, a table and chairs and a decent sized bathroom. Unfortunately, there were some issues which plagued us. First, the beds were lumpy and uncomfortable, and there was only 1 pillow per person; the beds were also covered with heavy, floral and unattractive quits. But the biggest problem was in the bathroom; we noticed a puddle of water on the floor. When I tried to call the front desk, the phone was not working. I had to walk to reception to report both issues. The phone was replaced, and maintenance came and said they would repair the toilet temporarily unless we wanted to switch rooms. We opted to switch, but the "better" room was only better in price because it had a mini fridge and microwave which our other room did not. My wife was unhappy because the TV was old, the room was isolated from the rest of the Inn and the place was poorly decorated and depressing, so we returned to our previous room which had been fixed for the time being--a full repair was made while we were out the next day. Throughout our stay staff was very accommodating, pleasant and helpful. One point to be aware of is the difficulty of getting around if a person has difficulty walking--there are a lot of stairs around the complex but only 1 creaky, slow elevator. Additionally, our keys had to be reactivated at least three times during our stay--very inconvenient. Our stay was in the long run pleasant, and we would consider returning again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The lower pool is beautiful. The upper pool, smaller and rectangular, is convenient.
We stayed here as a very mixed group. Engaged couple, her parents who had never been to PR before, and me, who has been here often staying with family in their homes. (My son, half Puerto Rican, had also been here often, but never in a hotel!)
There are few amenities save for the view. Not really any criollo food--mostly American food, with a few adaptations. No coffee, but there is a coffee maker in the room. You can buy a paper cup of coffee for $1 from a machine in the gym building, but it is not representative of the extraordinary coffee this island has.
As a person with MS, I walk slowly and with a cane. This Inn is built on hills, and if you have walking issues, this may present difficulties. What else presents a bit of a problem is the room floor tiles that can be slippery. For me, this is difficult, although clearly for no one else in our party.
But you can park all over the property. Blue Iguana is a nice bar; Star Fish has good menu and takes some stabs at quite good Puerto Rican cooking. Breakfast is totally American, and the oatmeal is smooth and PR style...sweet.
Plenty of English-speaking TV channels on outdated TV sets, but are you really there for TV? That said, the BBC America comes loud and clear!
It is true that Fajardo is not the most touristy part of Puerto Rico. But if you drive, you can go shopping at any of the places along Route 3; if you like sleepy fishing villages, go down to Las Croabas, and there are the ferries to Vieques and Culebra that launch from here and are not too far away. The luquillo kiosks (lots of street food) and the beach there, and of course, the magnificent rainforest, El Yunque, are within 20 minutes driving.
Come here to relax, not sightsee.

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking or carrying luggage, ask for rooms on the first floor or in the main bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The major problem was how management handed the only issue we reported: the AC was not working for 3 of the 5 nights of our stay. After reporting it to the front desk (to no avail) we spoke to the manager in charge (Mrs Rivolt), who not only dismissed our complaint stating she had no record that we already reported the problem, but also assumed no liability for the lack of action. The AC was finally replaced the following day and with the outside temps in the 80s it was not a pleasurable experience.

The inn includes several buildings with a motel outline: room doors opening on a common balcony. The main bdg has a reception staffed 24hrs/day, a concierge desk with erratic hrs, although when around, the concierge staff was helpful (Sylvia). It is a 15 minute walk to the marina from which you can board the ferries to the islands of Vieques and Culebra, so the location is convenient. The neighborhood is sketchy, we did not feel safe walking after 5pm, but mornings are ok. The major pluses are the many amenities including two large pools, a mini golf ($2 fee/person), a large fitness room, a tennis court, basketball field and small playground. There are also 2 restaurants. Lonely Planet recommended the Mexican, which we found to have slow service and mediocre food. The room and the common spaces were spotlessly clean and the grounds are very nicely landscaped, though the one time we wanted to walk through the garden the guard told us to do it quickly so we would not be seen (by whom, we could not understand).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIPR, General Manager at The Fajardo Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience in our property during your recent stay. After reading your review I will like to point out a few things. When you call our Front Desk Department to inform about the a/c situation, I personally attended you. While on the phone you informed me that you have reported the a/c situation before, I proceeded to review our report log and there was no indication of any complaints from your room, neither with the housekeeping or maintenance department. At that moment you started to raise your voice, which I found unnecessary, as I was not trying to not provide a service to you; and I remember letting you know. Irregardless of that I notify you that I will send someone immediately to verify the a/c, you decline the service at that moment and informed me you were going to call back. You called 30 minutes after to request the service, which was handle immediately by the maintenance department and they brought with them a new a/c to avoid keeping you waiting while we check the a/c unit. And even with that done, you call back our Front Desk department being unhappy stating that if I have sent a new a/c is that I must have known that the a/c was broken. Stating that there was a lack of action or not taking responsibility, was not what I did at the time either, I apologized then for that inconvenience and I certainly will apologize again for having the issue with the a/c, but I believe that once we were aware of the situation was handle in a timely manner.

As a hotel manager our main goal is to provide a service to our customer and assist them with their needs. But sometimes irregardless what we do, or how we do it, or how hard we work to do it, our service can't please the guest as it was your case. I am deeply sorry you had so much of a bad experience with us, I could only assure that we did try very hard to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Despite it's lack of glamour, Fajardo Inn is very comfortable and convenient. Very recommendable if you definitively want to stay in Fajardo (there might be better options around).

The rooms are somewhat awkwardly large, and the furnishing is not the fanciest you'll see, but the room is clean, and so is the hotel. The swimmingpool is very large, and there is also a seemingly large gym, which we didn't use.

Also convenient is the location. If you're making base in Fajardo to go to Vieques or Culebra, or for the Bioluminescent lagoon, you'll find that you are an easy 5 min drive from the former and 15 min from the latter.

All in all, it does the trick, plus it's very decently priced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fajardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fajardo Inn

Also Known As:
The Fajardo Hotel
The Fajardo Hotel Fajardo
Fajardo Inn
Fajardo Puerto Rico
Fajardo Hotel Puerto Rico
Fajardo Inn Puerto Rico
Fajardo Hotel
The Fajardo Inn Puerto Rico
Address: Parcelas Beltran #52, Fajardo 00740, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fajardo Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fajardo Inn offers clean and comfortable accommodations for business travelers, vacationers, and events, such as conferences, retreats and weddings. Also offered is a unique on-line honeymoon registry. Relax beside one of our pools, one with water bar, spa, beach, waterfall and slide. Dine at our Blue Iguana Mexican restaurant, or the elegant Star Fish Restaurant. Try our mini-putt, or one of many excursions, such as hiking El Yunque Rain Forest, kayaking, snorkeling or diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Fajardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fajardo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.