We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The glass is half full” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fajardo Inn

Save Saved
You added The Fajardo Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fajardo Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parcelas Beltran #52, Fajardo 00740, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Fajardo
Nj
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The glass is half full”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

You can decide to overlook the lack of basic amenities or get annoyed. Location is perfect for exploring the east coast but you must be willing to drive to go anywhere. The pool is great but the pool bar is always closed, the jacuzzi is "broken" and the towels are more like the rags you use to wash your car. We paid extra for a balcony room, but there were no chairs to use, housekeeping did bring a few plastic chairs when we asked. Our shower had a ripped curtain and the shower handle fell off, but whatever, the glass is still half full. The place is clean and the staff is friendly. There is s great bakery - golden sweets - about a mile away where you get an amazing latte and deliciously inexpensive breakfast. Fajardo inn is not for a high maintenance person, it a local, basic hotel, with a cool bird house and chickens walking about. There is a nice basketball court as well, but you will need to bring your own ball!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    238
    135
    56
    43
See reviews for
145
235
23
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Fajardo Inn for 3 nights during our trip to Puerto Rico and I would have given it 3.5 stars if I could - better than average, but not quite very good. I would describe this resort as a nice place - for exactly what it is... a good value resort that can be utilized as an excellent launching pad for day trips.

Pluses:
+ Value - This is a great resort-like place for families looking to come on a budget. There are multiple pools, mini-golf, basketball courts, and a gym. You will definitely find nicer places, but I guarantee they will significantly more. Everything is clean and well maintained. They also seemed to do a good job of grouping singles/couple in one area and families in another, really allowing everyone to enjoy the resort based on their needs.
+ Location for day trips (not for staying around the hotel) - You can hop in your car and be at the Ferry for Culebra and Vieques in 5 mins, El Yunque in less than 30 mins, Luqillo Beach in 20 mins, and the Bioluminescent Bay in 10 mins.
+ Talking birds... gotta love those talking birds
+ Friendly staff who were helfpul with driections

Minuses:
- Pool/Beach Towels... are you kidding me!!! Their towles are as thin as T-shirts. They are very strict on returning towels and not losing your towel cards ($25 for each card if you do). The towels might be worth 50 cents on a good day, but don't lose that card or misplace your towel. Even front desk clerk checking us in joked about their towel situation.
- Internet in the lobby only. Makes it a bit tougher for planning those day trips
- Location in town is not the greatest. You must drive to any restaurants (other than the 2 restaurants attached to the hotel) or to the beach.

Other:
= Blue Iguana is a typical tex-mex type restaurant that serves the purpose of an easy meal or a drink instead of needing to get into your car to go to a good restaurant. An ideal place after a long day when you just want a quick meal and aren't expecting anything that will knock your socks off. Great deals on the daily special. Staff was very attentive and friendly at the restaurant.
= Mini-golf was really fun for only ~$2 for each person, but the course has definitely seen some better days. Just like the resort, a good value for exactly what it is...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I booked a room at Fajardo Inn due to the proximity to the ferry to Culebra and based on reviews on TA. The pics posted are a nice representation of the hotel. It is a beautiful hotel with friendly staff. The location was perfect. There were lots of restaurants and things to do including Bio bay tours and private boat tours from the Marinas. Our room was very large and nicely decorated. It had a small tube TV and a coffee maker. The bathroom was large with a nice shower. We did not eat in the restaurant we wanted to try out the local fare- which we enjoyed, but we did visit the bar and enjoyed that. The hotel was extremely clean in every aspect and was pleasantly decorated for Christmas. We didn't get to use the pools because the weather was bad during our stay , but they looked very nice. I found The Fajardo Inn to be a great place for value and location. I definitely plan to return to do the things that I missed due to weather, and I am sure I will be a frequent guest in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

First time in fajardo and absolutely loved it. Located on a hill with view of mountains. Morning sunrises are beautiful and pool is awesome! I used the gym (something I never do on vacation) it was friendly and very clean. Note to the ladies, tang tops/sleeveless tops and shorts are not allowed. If staying here a rental car is a must. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This place was great. It was about a 5 minute car ride from the ferry and the Kayaking Puerto Rico Bio Bay excursion. The rooms were large and clean. The staff was very friendly and attentive. This place has an EXTENSIVE pool area. Additionally, it has mini golf, a gym, and 2 restaurants and a bar. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. The only downfall is that the free wifi only works in the lobby. It would have been nice to have wifi in our rooms, but no big deal, because this place was great. The food at the restaurants was delicious and the drinks were great too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgton, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is one of those places that leaves you with a nice feeling. The rooms are big and clean as is the whole hotel. It has great pools and activities and is very reasonably priced. The Blue Iguana restaurant on site is very good too. If you're in Fajardo looking to take the ferry it is convenient. Be sure to park in the public ferry parking and avoid the private lot scams!

Room Tip: Ask for a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had a 2 night reservation at the Fajardo Inn. My friend and I were staying in Fajardo for 2 nights to check out El Yunque and the surrounding beaches. When we arrived I was told that we needed to pay $30 extra per night for 2 beds since it was considered an upgrade even though on our reservations said we had booked 2 beds. We were taken off guard by this, but since we only paid $74/night we forked out the extra $30 to have our own beds.

The rooms are a good size and the hotel itself is nice. Don't expect anything extravagant or elegant. The pool area is decent sized with a small slide. We went in November and there was absolutely no one at the pool. The weather was still really warm outside (80's and humid). There are iguanas walking around the pool area which is kind of cool except for the poop piles every here and there. The pool area in general however is very clean and well maintained. They have a tiny mini golf area if you have kids they may enjoy that.

I am going to have to agree with a few of the other reviewers on bed bugs...or some kind of bugs. We did notice we would have bug bites in the morning. I can't be sure if it's from the beds because I never saw anything, but I did have that itchy sensation in the morning and saw a few new small bites like a rash (not like mosquito bites). The bugs in Puerto Rico are vicious in general though, so it could be from hiking or going to the beach. Definitely bring lots of bug spray! The hotel location itself is about a 30 minute drive from El Yunque and is close to the Ferry if you are going to Culebra or Vieques.

There is one restaurant called the Blue Iguana attached to the hotel. They serve american/mexican type food (ie. bbq ribs, nachos, burrito, etc). They have daily specials that were reasonably priced around $7.99.

I would probably book a room here again since it was on the budget friendly side and decent accomodations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fajardo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fajardo Inn

Address: Parcelas Beltran #52, Fajardo 00740, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fajardo Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fajardo Inn offers clean and comfortable accommodations for business travelers, vacationers, and events, such as conferences, retreats and weddings. Also offered is a unique on-line honeymoon registry. Relax beside one of our pools, one with water bar, spa, beach, waterfall and slide. Dine at our Blue Iguana Mexican restaurant, or the elegant Star Fish Restaurant. Try our mini-putt, or one of many excursions, such as hiking El Yunque Rain Forest, kayaking, snorkeling or diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Fajardo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fajardo Hotel Fajardo
Fajardo Puerto Rico
Fajardo Hotel Puerto Rico
Fajardo Inn Puerto Rico
The Fajardo Inn Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fajardo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.