We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Churasco Mofongo wow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calizo Seafood Restaurant

Calizo Seafood Restaurant
Carr 987 Km 4.6 | Las Croabas, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
+1 787-863-3664
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 73 Restaurants in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Mediterranean, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Decor is very similar to Old San Juan in Puerto Rico, where brightly colored road brick Victorian tables, wooden decorations and a beachy touch to outdoor spaces, and also with air conditioned VIP lounge for everyone. Es con una decoracion muy parecida al viejo san juan en puerto rico, en su carreteras con ladrillos colores brillantes mesas victorianas , decoraciones en madera y un toque playero con espacios al aire libre, y tambien con salon VIP con aire acondicionado para todos los gustos.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Churasco Mofongo wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We ate here and the food was great the seafood was delicious but the churasco Mofongo was unbelievable you got to try it

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calizo, Gerente at Calizo Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for honoring us with your visit. We are glad you enjoyed your time in our restaurant.
We hope to have you back, to provide the service and food quality you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    75
    27
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caguas, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent food and service! Highly recommended for tourists and local clients as well. We invited friends from Florida and they loved it!!! The appetizers were great, specially the prawns in spicy sauce and the seafood croquettes, amazing!!! For dinner we ordered the whole fried grouper, skirt steak, fresh mahi mahi fillet and lobster, everything was delicious!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calizo, Gerente at Calizo Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for honoring us with your visit. We are glad you enjoyed your time in our restaurant.
We hope to have you back, to provide the service and food quality you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“No charge for pigeon poop”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had appetizers including calamari and some sort of fritter both overpriced and not particularly good. To stave off starvation and not go bankrupt we ordered a hamburger which was not bad.
Midway into our meal a bird pooped on my knee which the waiter who was surly merely handed me a napkin for the damage. The owners father was at the bar and came over to chat and gave us a coupon for two sangrias on return which we would not and you should not either, there are better places, for instance a little up the street La Estancia.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Great food, don't understand why it's not more popular with the tourist crowd.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just right down past la estacion, and a good value in comparison to other spots in the area. Ordered the skirt steak on the mofongo every time, with a side order of asparagus which came with sautéed mushrooms and spinach with olive oil and garlic. The skirt steak has lots of big chunks of beef and a good mix of veggies and an amazing sauce. I loved this dish and my mouth still waters thinking about it. The service was very good, and the atmosphere is cool with a fountain in the middle. Only negative is the price, but it's in line with everyone else's prices in pr which are all tourist high IMHO.

Huge fan of what they are doing in the kitchen, this is the hidden gem in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calizo, Gerente at Calizo Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for honoring us with your visit. We are glad you enjoyed your time in our restaurant.
We hope to have you back, to provide the service and food quality you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent meal, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My wife and I ate at Calizo on Christmas night. She had the grouper and she loved it! I had the skirt steak with mufongo, it was excellent! Our waiter was Clay, he was friendly very efficient.
Would highly recommend, nice outdoor eating area with a fountain.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calizo, Gerente at Calizo Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for honoring us with your visit. We are glad you enjoyed your time in our restaurant.
We hope to have you back, to provide the service and food quality you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calizo Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Calizo Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calizo Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.