We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$149 (USD)
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Southeast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2005

A gorgeous, magnificent hotel covering lots of ground. About the size of a small town! Beautifully planned and appointed. While I wouldn't personally encourage the hotel or PR as a destination, if you're going there for a convention, the hotel is quite a treat to behold. Many postings on this site about this hotel are rightly critical of the hotel service. Rooms are sub-standard in cleanliness--that seems to be the general complaint I've read about PR hotels and we found it to be sadly true everywhere we stayed and ate. Not a real premium on cleanliness there!! On one of the days, maid service didn't even show up! For daytime meals, service was far too slow and slack. Food prices are exorbitant, bordering on abusive, oddly enough most especially breakfast and lunch Guests have little choice but to take their meals on the property. Service for evening meals was good, and the food quite good too, as a matter of fact, service and the meal at the Bistro was memorably superb.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,421
    1,454
    724
    472
    277
See reviews for
1,475
1,153
46
523
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (984)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2005

If you are looking for paradise, this is it! We just returned from 4 nights at the Wyndham El Conquistador Resort & Golden Door Spa in Puerto Rico. Nestled atop a cliff overlooking the ocean, this resort is the ultimate indulgence! Everything you could possibly want is located right on the property, so there is no need to leave. Even though it was a holiday weekend and the hotel was fully booked, it did not seem crowded at all. The service was excellent. The staff went out of their way to greet us with a smile and catered to our every need.

There are many wonderful restaurants at the resort. Blossoms (a Teppanyaki Grill) was our favorite, and the Stingray Cafe was a very close runner-up. Meals were on the pricey-side, but definitely worth it. The preparations were fresh, creative, and delicious! They featured many local ingredients.

Palomino Island, the El Conquistador's private beach is just a water taxi ride away. The taxis ran frequently and there were shops, a restaurant and bar located on the island. There were plenty of beach chairs, umbrellas, and water activities/sports for guests to enjoy.

The spa was fabulous! Try the Golden Door's signature massage. The menu of spa treatments is endless! A very classy operation.

Try your luck at the casino located near the lobby of the main hotel. During the evenings live Salsa and Merengue bands were featured in the lobby adjacent to the casino and many guests danced the night away!

Go for the Romance Package which includes champagne and fresh tropical fruits upon arrival, a complementary breakfast buffet at Las Brisas every morning (the best breakfast we've ever had), dinner for two at Isabella's, a spa treatment, and free golf on a beautiful course. The setting at Isabella's was beautiful and although the food was good, it was similar to many other steak houses we have been to elsewhere. Try the other restaurants instead for a more unique dining experience.

The only sore point was the long shuttle ride to and from the airport. The El Conquistador staff made every effort to make the trip a pleasant one by providing cold drinks and friendly service. This was not a big deal given all of the positive aspects of our trip.

We cannot wait to return as this paradise has become a family favorite! You must visit there! Definitely opt for an oceanfront room in the main hotel (we stayed on the third floor above the main level). It's well worth the spectacular view!

P.S. I have no affiliation with the El Conquistador. I appreciate great service as it is hard to find these days. This place truly deserves this glowing review.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2005

I stayed for a week at El Conquistador and still think about it often, it was so wonderful. The resort is gorgeous, one of the prettiest and well-kept I've ever stayed in. It is a huge resort, and even though the hotel was sold out during winter break 2005, when we stayed, we hardly ran into anyone.

The staff was friendly and the rooms standard but clean as a whistle and if you get an ocean view room (request the Brisas wing), the sunrises are amazing. It is family friendly, as my husband and I and our three daughter (5 and 18 month old twins) were always made to feel like VIPs. The restaurants are delicious but very expensive- be prepared to drop about $200 + for dinner each night, and Othellos went to great lengths to make my daughter's 5th birthday very special.

My friends all started researching El Conquistador after I emailed them my pictures, because they all looked like postcards, especially the pools and the crystal-clear waters of El Palomino Island, their private island. I thought a week of just eating and sitting on the beach with my family, and no nanny, would be too hectic and perhaps tiresome, but I was sad to leave.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2005

We stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend and had one of the most enjoyable vacations in memory. They have great packages, and we got 2 for 1 golf, spa treatments and water sports.

The spa is fantastic, the golf course is beautiful and challenging-though filled with mosquitoes (it is near the rainforest after all). The beach at Palomino Island was gorgeous, and there are tons of things to do. Walking distance from the hotel is one of PRs bioluminescent bays.

There were a couple of drawbacks, but not enough to ruin the trip for us. First of all, the food is expensive. I've read comments from other New Yorkers saying that prices are on par with New York, which is true, but you're not trying to eat at expensive restaurants three meals a day, every day! Breakfast was sub-par pretty much everywhere, but Isabella's Steakhouse and the Mexican Restaurant at Las Olas were fantastic. We ordered an appetizer of Nachos at the mexican restaurant and ended up cancelling our dinner, there was so much food!

One thing that's very annoying is that you cannot use cash at most of the resort, or on the beach, so everything has to be charged to your room. This of course is so you spend more money, so be careful of this.

I recommend staying in Las Brisas or Las Vistas, which are right next to the main building. I imagine it gets annoying travelling by funicular from the marina to the main building all the time.

It looked like a great place for families, but if you're bothered by kids around, it's not so great for you.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, PR
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2005

Friendly staff, premises well kept, nice rooms, breathtaking views. It all added up to a very pleasant stay. Food was indeed pricey but good ... Will definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2005

Hi,
I stayed at the El Conquistador hotel
in Puerto rico in 1999
The staff were great,and food was excellent.
I would definitely come back to it again,
The plants are so wonderful,
I loved waking up and taking in the beautiful scenery outide.
I loved the fresh salty air.
The prices may be a bit pricey according to one person
that stayed there.
but, they have to remember
they are in another country and the seafood isn't cheap.
it isn't like you just go to a store and buy the stuff.
there are men out in boats every day
who have to go out and catch the seafood for the hotel.

  • Stayed March 1999
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse, n.y.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2005

my family went to p.r. for 9 days end of april beginning of may. we wanted to see the whole island so we rented a truck and did some hotel hopping. all i can say is i wish i would have skipped my three nights in san juan and just stayed here. the resort is incredibibly beautiful. the grounds are magnificent . the funicular did not break down even once. the food is waaaay overpriced but we had the truck so we had other options. no roaches and no leakage, not even god given rain! (lucky us). we stayed in las olas and had a an ocean view. it was wonderful to fall asleep with the sound of the crashing waves and the ocean breeze and awaken to the most glorious sunrises. the ferry is easy and quick. palomino is spectacular. i guess i am with the guy who said if you smile and greet the workers with a positive attitude they will probably do the same. remember, we are all people and someone might be having a moment. we did not expect slavish service and we were treated great. we stayed at a number of hotels during our stay, some great, okay, and not so okay. but the wyndham blew them all way. far far way.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 918
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop a cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island, relaxing spa golf course or the water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.