We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$189 (USD)
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Wayne, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Nice hotel. Rooms a bit dated but nice. Spectacular views. Very pricy. Rent a car or take a cad to local restaurants. Pasion, YiDukas were two we tried. Local Puerto Rican food and very good prices. Dont eat dinner in the resort. Las Brisas for breakfast was good. A starbucks in the lobby. Just do yourself a favor and eat dinner off property.

If you want to kayak Bio Bay, book long before you go. It was sold out.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt L, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts from your most recent stay at El Conquistador. We certainly have spectacular views, and the memories will last a lifetime. I am sorry that our dining experiences for dinner fell short of your expectations. We certainly do review your comments with our Food and Beverage Team in hopes of improving in the near future. Thank you and hope to see you at the resort again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,643
    1,596
    814
    513
    291
See reviews for
1,662
1,268
49
600
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Great place to escape to for a family vacation. The rooms were beautiful and spacious and the staff couldn't be more friendly. Loved Palomino Island and the ferry ride to get there. Also loved the Rain Forest. A great time was had by all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebradillas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

A short boat trip from the hotel, which is complimentary, we arrived at Palomino Island. Hotel staff was great on the boat and on the island. Pedro Moreno provided us with friendly and excellent service and helpful advise. Pizza is not great, but the chicken sandwich and hamburgers are good, so are the french fries!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICHTC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Our family of four spent 5 nights at the El Con. I don't get the negative reviews. This is one of the most beautiful resorts I have been to. It is very large and very family oriented. For us, it offered everything that we could want. The private island, Palomino, is beautiful. The pools, terraces and rooms offer beautiful uninstructed views of the Caribbean.

This is a resort; so, food and drinks are more expensive than at other hotels. We typically ate breakfast and lunch at the hotel and left the property for dinner. Don't miss La Estacion. We were in a "partial ocean view" room which was great. We had a spectacular view of El Yunque, the golf course and the Caribbean in the distance. We were on the 5 floor of the main building. This is a very large resort; so there is quite a bit of walking, but the grounds are beautiful and the views were great. With very few exceptions, the staff were well trained, happy and helpful. Again, we didn't have the same experience that some other reviewers experienced.

You will not get bored at this resort and if you want to escape the kids, there are many adult choices at night. We have travelled extensively in the Caribbean and Mexico and would definitely rank this resort towards the top. Thank you for a great week!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

I struggled with this review...there are moments when it is an excellent hotel...then next day, average...then next poor....so I gave it an overall average.
Let's start with the excellent points~ view...every place has a postcard view; then the new rooms, they were modern, clean and white; the staff, everywhere was friendly and accommodating, and the final section hotel succeeds is for families with younger children; there are endless activities and a fun water park.
Now, it's starts to go downhill~ The overall appearance, of the hotel is tired. The furniture in the lobby is worn, the carpet in the Las Brisas wing hallways, was dirty and stained, the walls, and many outside structures and railings in need of a fresh coat of paint.
Now, the worse part the restaurants. They also vary from poor to average, to the very good Piccolo Fontana....they are extremely expensive...and in Blossoms, expensive and in eatable!
Lastly, if you are traveling with a young family, this is a good option....but for couples or families with older high school or college age children, the restaurants are weak, there is no casino, and no evening activities.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt L, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of the resort. We really do appreciate your candid feedback and fully understand your thoughts about your stay. In response to some of the low-lights of your stay, we are getting a full face lift in the lobby very soon. The new furniture has been ordered, and will arrive to the resort very soon. Also, the carpets in the Las Brisas building hallways will be replaced within the next few months. We do recognize how this will help with our guest's impressions and are listening to their feedback. We do hope that you will want to return in the near future so you can see the new upgrades. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had a conference here and booked our trip. Then I started reading reviews that had me so worried we all most cancelled our trip! I am so happy we did not cancel! The entire resort we were at was very clean and the staff were all very friendly. Someone mentioned about not seeing maids but we saw them every day! Yes, the restaurants are expensive but so are all resort restaurants. We especially loved the private island beach. There is no charge for the comfortable lounge chairs even under the built in umbrellas. I especially enjoyed seeing the iguanas and bearded dragons walking around. There are two bars on the beach and one restaurant. They have two small stores on the beach too. The pontoon boat runs every half hour back to the resort hotel. We had a great time. The only bad thing was the wi-fi connection hardly worked. My AT&T cell service worked fine but my husband's Verizon service was very slow. If you have kids it is even better with lots of activities for them. There is volleyball, basketball, miniature golf, and chess on the beach all at no extra charge. There is also horseback riding and they are rescue rehabilitated horses!!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor in the main hotel facing the marina. Beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

My boyfriend and I totally loved this place!!! Everything was so magically beautiful!! We are but even engaged and we already decided that this will be out wedding venue for when the big day comes! We loved the view, the services, the adventures and everything thinkable!!
Not to mention Calu flowers, they are in-house and made my boyfriend's and I night so special! I placed a romantic order and they did it the same day! Had wine, petals, candles and a heart shaped with "I love you"
This place is beyond incredible!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 918
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop a cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island, relaxing spa golf course or the water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hilton Hotels so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.