We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property and locations but has some minor issues that if fixed, i can make a big didference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$149 (USD)
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice property and locations but has some minor issues that if fixed, i can make a big didference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located with beautiful scenic views of the warm puerto rican ocean. However, despite the great location it had some small issues that if fixed could make it a true five star hotel.
Pros
Location is great and close to culebra ferry, san juan, el yinque forest, luquillo beach and kiosks, grocery stores etc

Beatiful property

Nice pools
Nice fancy restraunts
Palomino island ks great, but brong water shoes and something to cover your camera from all the rain
Location is better than staying in san juan
Rooms are mkdern at least

Cons
Fix carpets they are nixe bit full of stains
Small tv
Chips on furniture like dressers
Neeeeeeedddddssss a big paint job

Parking is awful teir system needs a lot of haelp. Eduardo the shuttle servoce driver drove like a maniac and their is never room on the shuttle.
Long walks to roomsls to rooms

Expensive
Needs simple maintenance like tub caulking and better cleaning.
Needs some updating.
Needs better drainage as puddles are everywhere
Otherwuse i really enjoyed my stay in puerto rico . Culebra is a must see. Loved the people gere. Anyways great.
La piccola fontana the restraunt has nice ambience food is ok. Kinda expensive for the five star prices but marisol was awesome


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks for sharing your review. We appreciate your candid feedback as it will help us better improve our services for the future. We are working on enhancements throughout the public areas of the resort including new carpeting for the guestroom hallways. We are happy that you enjoyed your overall stay including Palomino Island and look forward to the opportunity to have you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,419
    1,449
    723
    472
    276
See reviews for
1,473
1,148
46
523
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (982)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I live in Puerto Rico and have seen the ups and downs of El Conquistador since in opened over 40 years ago. As many people have stated in the reviews, the view is breathtaking and it is definitely the highlight of the hotel. I noticed that customer service seems to have improved since my last visit and the hotel staff was attentive and friendly. From what I have read in this web site, this does not seem to be a consistent experience for all guests.

The hotel needs more maintenance. I understand that this a huge property, but there are small things that are unacceptable in a five-star hotel. The first room we were assigned on the first floor in Las Vistas, was musty. As a person raised in the tropics, we can always detect the odor of mildew. It did not smell fresh. We requested a change to a room with a king size bed and they immediately gave us a very nice room with a partial ocean view. When we entered the room, a painting was on the floor (we hung it up), the floor lamp did not have light bulb, and both the desk lamp and the floor lamp had rust. The lock on our door broke twice, but security came fairly quickly to open the door. Again, not acceptable for a five star hotel. On a positive note, the king-size bed was very comfortable and the room was cleaned consistently well. No complains there.

The lack of proper maintenance is visible throughout the hotel and definitely this aspect of the hotel has deteriorated since my last visit two years ago. Some areas need paint, the funicular is very noisy (it did not use to be that way), and the buttons on the elevator to the funicular do not light up.

We were at a Convention with meals included. The quality of food was okay, but to be expected when dealing with such a large group. The Conquistador has never been my favorite hotel in Puerto Rico. For the prices you pay at this hotel, you should expect and receive red carpet treatment. This has never been the case. It also concerns me that management does not even attempt to answer or address the concerns of Tripadvisor reviewers - certainly not in line with the reputation of excellence of the Waldorf Astoria chain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We appreciate your candid feedback as it allows us to identify areas of opportunity. The resort is currently working on enhancements throughout the resort public areas including painting, funicular work, etc. We appreciate your acknowledgment of the warm hospitality you experienced from our staff during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, VA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This resort is a lovely place to stay--so much to do, breath taking views and very friendly staff! We took several tours during our stay and had a wonderful experience with each one. Highly recommend the Biolumescent Bay tour and the hike in the El Yunque Rainforest!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fel93, Public Relations Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are delighted to see you had such a wonderful experience during your stay and were able to enjoy the various amenities at the resort. We are glad you also enjoyed your tours to the biobay and the rainforest. We hope to see you soon during your next visit to Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I stay in Puerto Rico quite frequently and was looking forward to exploring a different property. The grounds are beautiful and the property is lovely, but the staff is rude and inattentive in contrast to some of the wonderful and warm service I have received elsewhere in Puerto Rico. The bar staff at Don Q on Palimino Island is awful.

The one upside to El Conquistador is the lovely Palamino island and its proximity to Vieques and Culebra.

There are also some great authentic restaurants off the resort.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks for sharing your feedback during your stay with us. We appreciate your candid comments at they help us identify areas of opportunity for the future. Your comments have been reviewed by our management team and have been addressed accordingly. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the beauty of Palomino during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The staff was fantastic, but the real reason to go to this hotel is the view! The hotel has its own island that you can travel to and from for free. The rooms are very clean and huge. The three pools provide plenty of room for everybody. Great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fel93, Public Relations Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Robert - thanks for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased that you had such a great experience at the resort and that you were able to enjoy the many resort amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest during your next trip to PR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

When I book a room at a 5 star rated hotel, I expect to receive 5 star service. What I received at this resort was more like a 2 and I believe that I am being generous with that rating. There was a strange odor to the rooms as well as evidence of mildew on the walls and carpets. Make sure that you pay close attention to your hotel account, because I found erroneous charges to my account. They even charged my card for good/services that I didn't use long after I had checked out of the resort! And to top it all off the staff were just plain rude. Don't even waste your time inquiring about this resort, there are far better places to stay in PR.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We apologize that there was any additional charges that you did not expect. We assure you that we never want to mislead our guests in any way and we sincerely apologize if the charges were not clear. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and because of this the resort is working diligently on enhancements to public areas. With this said, we assure you that we have taken your comments into consideration and they have been internally discussed with our management team to ensure we provide our guests with the best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, MA, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel offers beautiful views and ammenities however the staff customer service (especially those at the check-out desk) is hit or miss. If you have an early departure, expect a hassle if you request a late check-out. Also, don't expect your room to be serviced daily. And expect to feel disappointed when you leave...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate your candid feedback as we use it to help identify areas of opportunity. Your comments have been reviewed and discussed with our team for immediate action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 918
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop a cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island, relaxing spa golf course or the water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.