We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Times” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Night
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
NY, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun Times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We has a great time with kids, we loved the private beach and pools. The restaurants, although expensive, were delicious, especially the Italian and the breakfast buffet. Great value for this time of year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Jeffrey - thank you for sharing your review with us. We are pleased to see that you and your family enjoyed your time with us in Puerto Rico. We are happy that you were able to enjoy our on-site amenities including the pools and Palomino. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,360
    1,398
    695
    461
    272
See reviews for
1,434
1,105
46
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (945)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is fabulous, stayed in the villas down by the Marina with the millionaire yachts and the Manatees! Then there is the private Palomino island just a 10 minute boat trip away with watersports in the crystal clear water, beach volley ball etc or just laze around and drink and eat. Take the funicular cable car up to the main hotel in the evening to eat drink and gamble the night away. The Puerto Rican people are fabulous too!

Room Tip: The Marina location is quiet if that is what you want or the main hotel if you want bustle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are happy to see you had such a wonderful experience at the resort during your past stay with us. We hope to have you as our guest again when your travels bring you back to PR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Excellent Hotel! Excellent Staff! They make us feel like home,only thing is that food is very expensive and the entrance to the waterpark is not included, and us being a family of 5,that's a turnoff buy definitely going back next year. Hoping that they included kid breakfats with the purchase of the adult one

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your review. We are delighted to see you had a wonderful experience with your family during your stay with us. The resort does offer a package that includes tickets to the water park which is available throughout the year - the Coqui Water Park package. Thank you for acknowledging the warm hospitality you experienced - we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

i don t understand a lot of the low rankings for this hotel - my and my wife go to Puerto Rico often for business and we had stayed at many places - we think this is the best one for the value. of course, there are improvement opportunities - but for what you pay - how does it get any better than El Conq.? rooms are great - clean, nicely done, there is an amazing island across the hotel with ferry service, and a 20 min swimming distance to the island, there is an amazing mini island with picture perfect water. on the bigger island, you can also hike. great snorkeling. the hotel food overall is not the best - big Achilles heel there - but there are nice restaurants close by.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and are happy to hear you had such a delightful time during your past stay with us. With a new Executive Chef we are looking forward to the wonderful additions to our food and beverage offerings. The resort is also working on enhancements in public areas. We hope to have you back as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This property is absolutely wonderful. I was a little apprehensive when booking as I have a toddler and it seemed like a lot of walking, however our room was very close to the elevators, Starbucks, and some restaurants.
Upon arrival you are overcome by the breathtaking panoramic view.
The pool area has enough to spend the whole day, and the private island is so peaceful and pristine. Lunch on palomino was great, and the stingray cafe was great. The family style restaurant is awful! I'm sorry I cannot remember the name of it, but it was TV dinner style food.
We rented a car and there are plenty of restaurants around the El con to explore.
All in all a great stay and we would return.

Room Tip: Starbucks has great options for an inexpensive breakfast. We stocked up on liquor and snacks at Wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We are delighted to see that you and your family had a wonderful time during your stay with us. We are happy to see that you were able to enjoy the many on-site amenities such as the pools and Palomino Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Coast, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Driving in from the highway, the grounds look beautiful. The day we checked in, they were especially busy and the lobby was packed. Also poorly managed. It took close two hours to check in and even then, the adjoining room for our kids was not ready. Understandable. We were told we would be called when that room was ready.

Our main suite felt dirty and dingy. There was some leftover trash on our balcony. The suite had a great closet though and we had a fantastic view from our room.

We went down to the small water park that is on site. It's nice. Kids loved it. It has a little of everything and a nice vibe.

Don't get mad, but I'll say it: Service in Puerto Rico is generally rude. Love that place, but that is the way it is. That being said, I wasn't surprised when we went back up to our room at dinner time and still no call or message about our keys for the attached room. I made four calls to the front desk over the next two hours. Not badgering, just stating that I was told the keys were on their way but I hadn't seen anyone. Each time I was told that someone was coming up to the room with our keys. Approaching 9pm, I wanted to put my kids to bed. I went down to the front desk. There was not a customer in sight, rather about 15 employees milling about behind the front desk and they were not helpful and were a tad on the condescending side. Either way, I got the keys to our second room. My point: Our second room was not ready and I totally understand that those things happen. But telling me you will deliver my keys, then don't, then ignore a few phone requests to have them sent up, then act put off when I come to get them myself? Nonsense. Do what you say you will do. And if you can't keep your word? Stuff your attitude along with your work.

Spa: Also a little dated, dingy and musty feeling. An employee came in with her toddler part way through my treatment and visited with my technician for a solid 30 minutes during my time there. I didn't really mind, everyone was sweet, but it was awkward. I didn't bring my own kids with me for those two hours.

Gift shops: Fantastic. They have a ridiculous number of shops on site. Tons of fun stuff. I am not a shopper but I shopped this joint.

Casino: Shut down! Super disappointed that there was no blackjack after the kids hit the sack. The space is an odd conglomeration of games and things.

Restaurants: I love Puerto Rican food. The menus at this resort looked like American Sports Bar-fare. We ventured off site for the good stuff. Overall: Not what you'd expect from a Waldorf. Also, not the best experience you could have in Puerto Rico. Many other options for similar money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fel93, Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your candid comments as it allows us to identify areas of opportunity. Your comments have been reviewed by our management team for immediate action. It is our goal to make a memorable experience for all of our guests and we apologize that there were some items in which we did not meet your expectations. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the on-site amenities and that your children had fun at the water park. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

As always, Do your homework, prepare and budget for your vacation. We started by getting a vacation package with flight and hotel (saved almost $500.00) we rented a car knowing that in order to have a full experience a car is need and glad we did. If you want to eat good food and not as expensive, drive a little ways out of the area for authentic Puertorican food. Locals are great and very friendly. we stayed for 2 weeks and traveled the whole island, did out our laundry in town and had a great time. The Hotel is very secured and beautiful, staff was second to none. had a blast! cant find anything bad to mention, but as always...research and do your homework..you will not be disappointed with this Hotel.

Room Tip: If you have the choice to choose a room, I would go for a room in the main building. as the one we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fel93, Public Relations Manager at El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to see that you had such a great experience during your time with us in Puerto Rico. Thank you for acknowledging the warm hospitality that you received from our team members. We are happy to see that you not only enjoyed our on-site amenities but were also able to explore the beauty of Puerto Rico. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 918
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island or the brand new water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.