We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Dive center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $149
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Fajardo
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant Dive center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

While I didn't stay in the resort I can only attest to the dive school located there.

I found them very helpful and very reasonable priced.

I did 5 dives altogether and despite the conditions not being fantastic (poor visibility due to storms) the crew still found plenty for us to see.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,897 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,243
    1,296
    658
    440
    260
See reviews for
1333
1021
40
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (859)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and huge.This is not the place to go if you have health issues.Not even a bottle of water in the room,nothing. I've been at many hotels throughout the caribbean where there refrigs are stocked with water and soda. Everything you want to consume you pay through the nose. No microwaves in the room either.Yes the beach at palomino island is nice,but who wants to walk a quarter of a mile take a tram car down the hill and wait 1/2 hour for a boat ride to the beach? Better take water shoes because it is a rocky beach in the water.Pricey restaurants yes live bands no.The best night life you get is your tv.If you like paying for a view this is the place for you.If you like to be close to the beach and have a healthy choice for restaurants,this isn't the place for you.Go to the restaurants off the premise for better value and variety.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a real terrace,not the French terrace where you stick your head out like a parak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Conquistador is a lovely property with beautiful, scenic views. The pools are nice, as are the main lobby and common areas. If the true cost of staying at the hotel was what was quoted (for me, $279 per night on the hotel website), I'd have little to complain about. However, given all of the *extras* the hotel charges you (resort fees, airport shuttle service charge and the like), this resort is not a great value. For over $400 a night, I expect better-maintained rooms and better, friendlier service from the staff. In addition, I expect better dining options, rather then the over-priced and mediocre food that the hotel has to offer. For the amount of money I paid, I expected a much better experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barceloneta, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed for a weekend looking to wind down in family, my wife and 3 year old were with me. The package included one free breakfast and tickets for the water park. We were accomodated in the rooms that are close by the Water Park. The weekend was spent on the sunny beach of Palomino and at the Water Park and one night at the pools located right next to Las Vistas and open up to late in the night. We snacked at the hotel $$ but decided to eat outside of the hotel area. The service was great, the room was clean and my wife and daughter enjoyed every minute we spent at the hotel. HINT: If you are looking to stay and make the purpose of the vacation visit the private island (Palomino) and the Water Park of El Conquistador ask if there are rooms available on the lower level (La Marina). You have to take a short ride to these rooms but being so close to the Water Park and where the boat docks to go to Palomino (if you plan to go to the island, GO EARLY the lines tend to get very long after 9am) is worth it.

Room Tip: If you are looking to stay and make the purpose of the vacation visit the private island (Palomino...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trophy Club, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is my second trip to this impressive hotel. The views are spectacular and you have rooms for all types of guests. The place is so large that a lack of maintenance is evident in some places of the premises. I went to the spa which I like very much and the gym is very well set. If you want a easily accessible beach.. you are in for a wait as you have to take a 10'15 minute ferry to Palomino Island, but once you are there you can forget about the ride.
I would come back to this resort with my family ' although I would not look forth to the commute from the airport to the hotel which is at least 45 minutes.

Room Tip: Both times I stayed in room 4330 which has a spectacular view but its far from the ocean.. the breez...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryancf2061
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for a beach getaway in the Caribbean, and after extensive research settled on 2 nights in San Juan and 4 nights at El Conquistador. After reading dozens of reviews for the hotel, I was a little leary of whether we made the right choice for a couples spot. The El Conquistador exceeded our expectations, and Palomino Island is probably the best hotel amenity I have ever seen. Here are a few tips that benefited us:
1) rent a car. Being able to tour old town San Juan, and hike La Mina trail in El Yunque were two of our most memorable parts of the trip. El Yunque is only 30-40 minutes from the hotel and we ate lunch at La Parilla in Luquillo, which made for a fantastic day trip. Try to get to La Mina trail at El Yunque by 10am because it becomes crowded.
2) eat dinner outside the resort. we had several breakfasts at Cafe Caribe and a couple lunches at Bella Vista that were decently priced and good quality, but the dinner restaurants are highly overpriced for the quality. We had dinner at 3 nearby restaurants in Fajardo and all were delicious and service was exceptional. We ate at La Estacion, Di Yukas, and El Varadero and appetizers, two entrees and several drinks was never more than $100.
3) for couples, there is a secluded, clothing optional beach on the far side of Palomino Island called Hidden Cove. It's a bit of a walk, but more than worth it. We had the beach to ourselves! That being said, there are no beverage services at Hidden Cove, so you will need to bring your own drinks (not exactly approved by hotel but we were discreet and had no issues). There is a Walgreens in town and 12 packs of Medallo were $9 vs the $6/beer you pay at the resort.
4) Las Brisas ocean view rooms were very nice. We were upgraded from a garden view room due to hh gold status. We had two minor maintenance issues that were fixed very quickly.

We are not typically fans of returning to the same vacation spot, but will certainly make an exception for the El Conquistador!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooele, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The morning view, watching the sunrise over Isla Palamino is amazing. Within walking distance to the park for the Bio-Bay tours at night, call ahead for reservations. Many in-house restaurants, night life w/ live bands, and most importantly, you can listen to the Coqui as they sing you to sleep at night. I never wanted to leave.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning oceanfront resort perched atop cliff, overlooking Caribbean Sea on one side & Atlantic Ocean on the other. Check out the dramatic views, the private island or the brand new water park - it's all part of this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Conquistador Resort, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
El Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
Conquistador Hotel Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Puerto Rico
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.