We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Food, Good Mixed Drinks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Iguana

Blue Iguana
#52 Parcelas Beltran, Fajardo, Puerto Rico
787 860 6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 72 Restaurants in Fajardo
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Average Food, Good Mixed Drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The food descriptions are good and creative, but the actual plates were was mostly blah. Twice the crab cakes we ordered were undercooked and had to be sent back. The other dishes were also unimpressive: a bit heavy on the grease, not too exciting, but tolerable. I'd eat there but not as my first choice.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Go for the food - not for atmospher”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

This is one of two restaurants that are in the main building of the Fajardo Inn. I would not seak it out if I were not staying at the hotel. In the main part of the restaurant, there are ten to twelve tables. In an alcove to one side are two pool table across the way, a bar. Sports TV runs soundlessly. Perhaps the extreme of casual dining.
The menu is limited offering standard Texmex - burrito, casedia, fajita and burgers. I had chicken fajita. Plenty of food. Ample extras - guacamole, sour cream, shaded cheese.
Wait staff friendly and attentive.
Best feature - if staying at the hotel, you can have a beer or two and not worry about getting behind the wheel.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville Timonium, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Average... at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Went back here during another visit to Fajardo. We enjoyed it last time. Unfortunately,food was only fair this time with very skimpy portions and a bit pricey for Tex-Mex at those portion sizes. Place was relatively deserted at dinner time. Wouldn't go back again.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Okay food, horrible service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We ate here because it was conveniently located at our hotel. After waiting about 10 minutes, a waiter took our orders. One hour later, we received our beverages and another 30 minutes later we got our food. One dish, which seemed to be vegetarian from the menu description, was covered in chicken. The 'sprite' was actually only soda water. The part of our order that we correctly received was pretty good. The wait staff seemed confused and disinterested in customers

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

I ate here because it was convenient. Bad mistake. Food was ok at best, not much flavor. Everything was overpriced - guess it should be expected at a hotel restaurant).
Place had no spirit - felt like cafeteria seating.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Iguana also viewed

 

Been to Blue Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Iguana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.