We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal at El Conquistador” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stingray Cafe

Stingray Cafe
1000 El Conquistador Ave. | El Conqistador Hotel, Fajardo 00748, Puerto Rico
+1 787-863-6616
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 72 Restaurants in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located at the seaside La Marina Village on the grounds of El Conquistador Resort, Stingray Cafe is open Monday - Sunday for dinner. Enjoy breathtaking views of the ocean and Palomino Island as you dine on award-winning fare. Chef Dayn Smith presents his creative, Caribbean-infused seafood cuisine in a variety of menu items. Sample the homemade tropical fruit sorbets. Reservations are recommended.
pelham, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best meal at El Conquistador”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Attentive service, nice atmosphere and above all delicious food. My son had steak... and loved it. The rest seafood, of course... superb.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    82
    49
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ct
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“wonderful rest and chef Jo Jo Torres”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We ate at this rest three times during our stay. The chef Jo Jo Torres is excellent and the food was amazing. We live near NYC and the food is definitely gourmet and fantastic. The chef spoke with us and gave us wonderful advice. The food is beautifully presented and delicious. I can't wait to return.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
514 reviews 514 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 178 cities Reviews in 178 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“Good food but hostile waiter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Nicely located at the Marina of El Conquistador Hotel, next to the place you can take ferry to Palomino Island. Outdoor is nicer than the indoor part. Reservations are accepted but seating is not guaranteed as they are on a first come firs served basis... Weird... Food was very good. They are really good on fish and seafood and the wine list is pricey but classy. Only the waiter was so hostile with no reason. Too hostile for my taste. So she got a very tiny tip. Not for her, just for her assistant, which was a pro... And by the way the kids menu is from the bar next to it...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Best restaurant onsite. The outdoor bar area as excellent as well. Our waiter, Jean was top-notch and provide a wealth of info on local Puerto Rican coffees.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Service, Disappointing food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I was here for vacation with my wife. We stayed at the Las Casitas on the El Conqustidor Reaort and had planned on staying on site and relaxing for all our meals. Our experience at Stingray had us reevaluate and decide to venture of resort for the rest of our meals.

Our server was very attentive and helpful. The best part of the meal was easily the shrimp appetizer, the shrimp was cooked well and it had a nice sauce. Our entrees were another story. I ordered dorado and my wife ordered cod with lobster risotto. Both pieces of fish were very overcooked and dried out. The lobster risotto lacked flavor and the lobster was rubber to the point of being in edible. Overall the food was under seasoned.

After this meal we decided to explore options outside the resort if this was to be the quality of food found at the other "high-end" restaurants on the resort.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stingray Cafe also viewed

 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Stingray Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stingray Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.