We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly my kind of time and place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Time N' Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Time N' Place
Near Falmouth, Falmouth, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Falmouth
Darien, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Exactly my kind of time and place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

If your looking for a Sandals Resort then this isn't the place for you, but If you are wanting a truly authentic Jamaican day then this is the place to go! I truly felt like I had been to Jamaica and not just the some tourist-centered port area. We were picked up by a very friendly gentleman at the Scotia Bank not far from the Port gates. We never felt unsafe walking to the bank or waiting. We took a short 10 minute ride to Time N Place and enjoyed a great conversation with our driver. Typically Harvel picks up all the guests but he had another errand to run that morning. We were the only guests there when we arrived. The view was breath taking. The coverings and buildings are made of left over wood and tin and the wooden tables and beach chairs are all mismatch giving it a cozy and authentic feel. The owner Tony immediatly greeted us and invited us to take a look around and set our belongings where ever we liked. I felt completly comfortable leaving our bags and towels in a chair and walking around. Tony is friendly and so funny. He was the perfect host! There are two bathrooms next to each other which also are used as changing areas. They are rustic, but serve their purpose. We settled our things down in two beach chairs under one of the coverings and immediatly took a dip in the crystal clear waters. Tony kept the beach raked from any seaweed that may have washed ashore. The water is shallow enough that you can play with small children right along the beach.The sand was nice, and water shoes weren't needed. Everytime we got in the water it was mostly in the same area, but I didn't notice any drop offs. If you have small children you could ask Harvel about drop offs and I'm sure he would know. Soon another van arrived with six more guests also from the ship. The eight of us had the whole place to ourselves for the day. There is a sea kayak for guest use, and wifi in the cottage courtyard. When we were ready for a drink we headed over to the bar. Tony met us at the bar and informed us that they are on a honor system and that if no one is there when we are ready for another drink to just make it or grab it ourselves and mark it on the pad next to our name. Can you believe it? An honor system at a bar! The Red Stripes were cold and only $2.50. We didn't have any mixed drinks, but there were bottles of liquor there. I didn't notice a frozen drink machine though. There were three dogs who obviously love to call Time N Place home. They were sweet animals who would stay with you all day long if you paid them attention or wander off if you didn't. Harvel is the business side of Time N Place. He checked on us several times to make sure we didn't need anything, and told us just to let him know when we wanted anthing from the kitchen. When we saw the other cruisers order food we ordered too to make it easier for them. I am not a big fan of spicy food, but wanted to try the jerk chicken so my hubby and I got one order to start off with to share. Just a few minutes later we were brought a large plate with AMAZING chicken, peas and rice, and their version of cole slaw. It was delicious and filled us both up.
There were three Jamaican guys there who my husband talked to for quite awhile and one of the men played dominos with the other guests at one of the tables. The three men all made wooden sculptures and jewelry and at different times asked if we would like to see them. We agreed and they got their wares to show us. They were not pushy and we bought a souviner from each of them. Tony obviously lets them come with the understanding that they are not to hassle his guests. When we were ready to leave we simply told Harvel and he took us back to the port walk in. They also have cottages they rent for over night guests. Of the four ports we visited on our cruise Jamaica and Time N Place were our favorite. We loved it so much we are considering skipping our yearly September cruise next year and just going to Jamaica and using Time N Place as a base point.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    18
    2
    6
    6
See reviews for
16
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The setting is isolated and really beautiful, the cabins quirky, Tony the owner is a great guy and the vibe is relaxed and friendly. The place could use a makeover but it definitively has a lot of charm. The food was tasty and exceeded our expectations, although it was on the pricy side. At the time we visited mosquitoes were a very serious issue.
You love it or you hate it. We loved it!

Room Tip: Cabins 1 to 3 have no mosquito screens, which made them at the time we visited unfit for occupation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My family & I visited Time N' Place last week while our cruise ship, Oasis of the Seas, was docked in Falmouth. We arrived to find a secluded beach only minutes away from the port. It was the best day we had off the ship. We were the only people on the beach and it was heaven. If you are looking for a place to chill on the beach while sipping Red Stripe, this is your place. Tony and his crew were polite and great to chat with. Highly recommend Time N' Place!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I really don't understand quite a number of reviewers on this place. This is not the real Jamaica. It is far removed from it. It's dirty, dark, smelly accommodation and extremely uncomfortable and as un-laidback as is possible. Couldn't wait to leave this place after one night. Big mistake. There are hundreds of places in Jamaica that are just so much better than this old 'rustic' place. As a Jamaican I feel almost embarrassed that this place is still open for business. I have no idea what could possibly attract people to this place. I was sadly (mis)guided by the tripadvisor reviews. Happens!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our review of this incredible place is a bit overdue! My boyfriend and I had a great time here. We visited Time N' Place in March of 2013 just for a few hours during the day, because we were on a Celebrity Cruise and it stopped in Falmouth. We got off our boat and met Harvel at a bank very close to the port. He picked us up and took us right over to Time N' Place. It was only about a 25min drive. Time N' Place was beautiful and the staff were fantastic. They were so friendly and helpful. The beach was absolutely gorgeous and it immediately reminded me of Gillian's Island. It was great to be on beach that was not built up with a crowd. For lunch we had jerk chicken that was slow roasted for an hour. It was fantastic! We had a wonderful time and highly recommend it. Tony the owner is fantastic. You have ti visit if you come to Falmouth!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Tony's place is great--he's a unique individual and he has made a little piece of heaven only a half hour away from Mobay! We stayed in the Love Nest, which is the most recent addition and is perched on the beach as close to the waterline as possible. The beach is gorgeous at Time N Place and is you walk west along the beach you can cross over to more beach that is even more sublime and deserted. The cabin had everything we needed and Tony is a great resource for whatever you might need. We travelled all around Jamaica and stayed at 6 places and visited/dined at many more. Without a doubt we can say that Time N Place tied for number 1 with Irie Rest Guest house in Treasure Beach. Our recommendation for the perfect Jamaican trip would be a week at Irie Rest Guest House followed by a week at Time N Place--if you do this you can't go wrong! Please visit soon as Tony may not have the property forever, due to some issues with the land owner. We have our fingers crossed that Time N Place will still be there when we return to Jamaica!

Room Tip: The two huts that are closest to the sea are the best but the rest are only a few steps away so any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I and four friends pre-arranged our day visit to Time n Place with the owner Tony via e-mail. The enclosed port area of Falmouth has been resurrected by RCCL/Celebrity to a clean and well maintained local vendor area. We walked and met our driver Harvel at the appointed place outside the port gate. He was right on time and we were at the beach within 15 minutes, $10 pp round trip. We were greeted by Tony, a knowledgable and affable host who is trying to preserve this beautiful area and keep it from corporate hands. Tony's place is quite rustic but unpretentious and serene with calm transparent water colors ranging from deep blue to teal to pale green on the edge of the Cayman reef. You really can see to the bottom even in shoulder high water, and Tony keeps the beach clean of seaweed. One can just unwind and be immersed in the pure beauty of nature there. It was the most relaxed and enjoyable excursion on our Western Caribbean cruise.
Including ourselves, there were a total of 11 guests. We enjoyed authentic Jamaican cooked to order lunch including lobster, fish, shrimp, jerk chicken for $10 each; Jamaican Red Stripe beer is $3, soda $2. The beach and facility fee is $10. Tony's family was there, including his adorable 2 year old granddaughter and friendly family dogs who were no bother to us. There is a clothing optional beach adjacent to Tony's property, but it's mostly obscured by a jetty with a short pier and boathouse. Tony has a few basic rooms to rent for land vacationers, but we didn't see the interior. There are no annoying beach vendors. Thank you Tony and Harvel. When again in Jamaica, we will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Time N' Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Time N' Place

Address: Near Falmouth, Falmouth, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Trelawny Parish > Falmouth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Falmouth
Also Known As:
Time n` Place Hotel Jamaica
Time n Place Jamaica
Time N' Place Trelawny Parish, Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Time N' Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Time N' Place to your Saves list