We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our honeymoon escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Time N' Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Time N' Place
Save
You added Time N' Place to your Saves list
Near Falmouth, Falmouth, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Falmouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our honeymoon escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed here 10 years ago & loved the tranquility & uniqueness of the place. I wanted my husband to experience the real Jamaica by travelling round the island. Our first stop was to be Tony's place. Foolishly, I thought I didn't need a map to navigate round the island, I had after all lived & worked in Jamaica 10 years ago. I hadn't accounted for the new highway & got list trying to find Time 'n Place. Tony & team came to our rescue. He sent someone out to findus on the highway so we could follow them back. It isn't difficult to find but had been by-passed when the new highway was built. This rescue service just emphasises Tony's great hospitality & willingness to make yoyr stay a truly relaxing experience.

We had originally booked one of the 4 cottages but when Tony realised he moved us into the newly built "love nest". A much bigger wooden cottage on stilts with a balcony overlooking the bay. Lying in bed listening to the waves rolling onto the beach was incredible.

The cottages may be basic but that's what adds to the charm of this place. A secret haven away from the more touristy 5 star sll-inclusive resorts. This is the real Jamaica & Tony Moncrieffe & staff make it a very relaxing stay. There is a beach bar with light meals available & the overall experience is a great way to start your trip if you are looking to relax & unwind.

We'd definitely stay here again, love the rustic, natural feel of the place & Tony is a great host. One Love!

Only thing to be aware of - pesky mosquitos. We were munched to pieces whilst sat the beach bar.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    19
    2
    6
    6
See reviews for
16
35
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
lawton, MI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I November 2012 my girlfriend and I visited Time n Place for the third time in four years. Tony, Wayne, Harvel and all the other good honest Jamaican people we have met there have become true friends. We feel like we are at home because we are. If you expect to be waited on well this is not your place. The pace is very "Jamaican" and that is just what we like. We both lead busy lives with kids and jobs and everything else. While there we just chill and read. We actually each finished three novels a piece in a week. There is plenty to do in the area if you are interested and you will find that everything you wish for will be given to you sometimes you just have to chill and go with the island pace. We stayed in the Birds Nest which is basically your fantasy tree house built over the beach with the ocean just fifty feet away. We stayed just before Thanksgiving and we had the place all to ourselves. The food is great and the atmosphere can't be beat. We would live there if we could. Maybe one day. Real Jamaica, all the time. 'Nuf respect.

Room Tip: stay in one of the two perched rooms or cabin 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

if you want to live in heat , bugs,and dirty rooms then stay there, if you like feeling sweary and dirty all the time make sure you have your own bedding, towels and soap and bug spray and extra food to snacks on, it was not a good a good vacation, lock up your money and keep lock door and windows and beware of who you trust, could tell you alot of things but to each is there own you may like it and maybe you won't it is all up to what you like for vacation

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

After staying in two guest homes, a hotel, and a fancy all inclusive resort, we landed at Time N Place, and it was our favorite place to stay out of all of them. Our experience at Time N Place was pretty awesome. We wanted to have a real good Jamaican experience and that did it for us. The cottages were real nice and they are right on the sand. Tony was an amazing person and was very nice to us.

If you're a delicate person who wants a huge flat screen tv with a blasting ac and a Jacuzzi tub, well maybe this is not the place for you. But if you want to chill, have a wonderful time, enjoy the beach and its wonderful weather, then this would be it. We highly recommend this place to anybody.

We're definitely coming back to Time N Place when we're back in Jamaica. Thank you Tony.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

If you are looking for a relaxing day on the beach. This is the beach for you. The beach was beautiful. The cocktails were delicious. The staff were very friendly and Tony was awesome! It is like being on your own deserted island - unspoiled - not crowded - just perfect. It was my favorite thing about my cruise. We had the best day. If you are looking for a Ritz Carlton then I wouldn't recommend Time and Place. It is a place for complete relaxation. No tourists - just friendly locals and a beautiful beach. I cannot wait to go back there again on my next cruise. It is not a tourist trap. It's just absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My husband and I have been to Jamaica twice now while cruising with Royal Caribbean (this time on Allure of the Seas). Since we had done the falls and the caves last time we wanted something a bit more secluded and to get a taste of true Jamaica. Time N Place was the PERFECT choice of the Falmouth port. It was a short 10 minute cab drive (do not let those cab drivers sway you to another choice because they will try). We walked up and found a beautiful beach with hardly any traffic. Relaxation was calling our name. About an hour later we had the joy of meeting Tony the owner. He took us on a tour of the property and showed us what he was building for the future. The huts are comfortable and he builds these himself! I hope to some day visit again and see what else he puts on his land. The Jerk chicken that they made was delicious and just what we were looking for on the trip. If you are looking for a place to get away from the crowd, relax, and get some great food (and Red Stripe of course) then look no further than Time N' Place!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Went here with husband and two daughters, ages 6 and 2 for 3 full days and 2 nights. Could have spent more time just relaxing in the sand, using the kayaks, wandering the beach. It's a great place and Tony and his staff are wonderful hosts. My girls loved the dogs, especially Archer. Don't come or stay here if you're expecting to be "served", though Tony will do whatever he can to make your stay enjoyable. It's a communal atmosphere. If you want food, just place your order about an hour ahead. Make sure to use your bug spray just before dusk and use the mosquito net in your room. We had no problems with this strategy, but saw the downside on one daughter's arm which was not in the water after the sun went down. There is a "naturalist" resort next door which my older daughter thought was "gross" when they went for a walk on the beach in front of her. Nonetheless, I still have to highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Time N' Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Time N' Place

Address: Near Falmouth, Falmouth, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Trelawny Parish > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Falmouth
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Time n` Place Hotel Jamaica
Time n Place Jamaica
Time N' Place Trelawny Parish, Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Time N' Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.