We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Braco Stables

Braco Stables
Falmouth, Jamaica
876 954-0185
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 19 Activities in Falmouth
Attraction details
Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We Booked a private ride with the stable. This was the best thing we could of done. Our guide was Gangi, he was so well-informative about Jamaica and heritage. He too is a fan of country westerns, serenaded us with some old cowboy songs along with my husband. We loved it! We will be booking another ride with Braco. We will be requesting for Gangi. I highly recommend Braco if you want to ride and see the country side. "It was a blast!"

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    16
    8
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Activity for Families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We chose the private tour for our family of four because we weren't at a resort or aboard a ship, and really wanted a personal view of the island. What a GREAT decision! Our guide, "Rasta" was not only well-informed, but also, it turns out, an expert horseman who's quick actions kept us and our horses calm at all times.

The animals all know where they are going, and your guide will trot them if you are comfortable, cantor, or keep them in a nice walk.

Rasta seemed to be able to create the perfect ride for our level of experience (beginners most of us), while keeping it fun for everybody. The beach part of the ride can get a little crowded (all the rides meet up there) so I suggest trying get into the water with your horses as soon as possible for the best experience. TIP: Ride in swimwear/coverup, and bring dry clothes to change into afterwards…your cab ride back will be uncomfortable if you're damp!

There are of course the photo ops as with all excursions, and normally we don't buy into the "CD" for best prices. However, this time it's worth it, as you can't really get good pictures of your party on horseback while you're actually on horseback! TIP: when going past the beach photo point, ask your guide to have the photographer get a picture of your whole party in line with the ocean in the background. It is our best photo, and your guide is the best person to communicate that to the photographer, since we were mostly trying to NOT fall into the ocean!

Rasta was such a great guide, I have to mention him again! He is actually on the brochure cover leading an ocean ride, and if possible, ask to see if he is working. His knowledge of the island is superb, and his ability to size up each rider and put us at ease with our animals was really the biggest part or our enjoyment. Talking to him about life outside the stables during our rest stop was really great.

This excursion is highly recommended for families of riders in all experience ranges. A great "off the plantation" look at Jamaica.

While the brochure suggests long pants, don't let the fact that you only packed shorts keep you from doing this ride. If you have a towel, they will put it over the saddle and drape it so your legs aren't chaffed. We worried this aspect all the way from booking to finally getting to the stable, but we needn't have. Just sign up, and let the hillside unfold in front of you!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice excursion away from Falmouth Port”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We arrived to Falmouth Jamaica on a cruise. We had reviewed several options in the area and finally settled on using Braco Stables after much research. The reviews here and on other internet sources led us to choose Braco Stables. We were not dissapointed. It was a pleasure to get away from the mass of people at the port and be taken privately to Braco Stables. Braco Stables will arrange pick up at the port. The only problem we encountered with this process is Braco Stables tells you to check with the Tourism Development stand at the port to direct you to where the independent tours get picked up. Unfortunately this is not as easy as it sounds and several people were saying different things. Finally a man told us exactly where to stand. The van pulled up to that spot but told us he wasn't allowed to park there and actually that isn't the correct place. If we were to do this again, and advice to any others, please get a specific location from Braco Stables so you are not wandering around.

Once the ride was all situated, we enjoyed being taken into "real" Jamaica. It has beautiful scenery and was exciting to see Jamaica away from the tourist side. We arrived at the stables and the process began to get situated with final payments and horses. One thing that struck us is that this is by no means an extravagant operation. It is a very authentic ranch with no frills. It is kept up well, however if you are expecting a luxurious state of the art facility, you will be highly dissapointed. This did not distract us since the staff was very friendly and accomodating. We never felt once that we were not safe nor chose a bad excursion.

The actual ride starts off exiting the grounds and crossing a highway. I had read by others that you cross a road, but in reality it is an actual highway. Thankfully they have people stopping traffic! The adventure then began and we trotted through trails and roads. We passed "real" houses, and saw "real" people. The ride definitely does not hide anything from you as we even passed Marijuana farms. There were real Jamaicans in gardens and just sitting by their houses. If you are looking for a secluded ride in the wilderness, this is not for you. There are parts that are secluded but was suprised by how much of the ride is through real communities. The ride on the actual beach is beautiful, however very short. Right when you are taking in the beauty, you then go back onto a trail. All the reviews about the actual swim portion is correct. It was very enjoyable and we enjoyed the break. As others have stated, you don't go through the ocean for a ride. You dismount and they have 2 horses there that you get on and do "laps". Nevertheless it was still a a great experience and as stating already, it was a nice break to dismount and just take in the area.

Everyone was very friendly and we would highly recommend this. We learned though our research that there are several tour operators in the area that offer this excursion but generally at an inflated cost. I would suggest booking directly through Braco to get the best price. Also, if you have 4 or more in your group,they will not charge you the transfer fees. Braco will also let kids ride as long as they are 5. The cruiseline excursions generally will not allow children until 12 to ride, so be sure to check those things out when making your decision.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what we hoped for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

At first we were hesitant to choose a stable that was further away from our ship than some of the other stables. However, we got to see and learn more about the country than most of the other cruisers probably get to do normally, due to the extremely friendly and knowledgable cab driver, Lewis, who was provided by the stable. We were not informed beforehand that credit cards were not an accepted form of payment, so be sure to bring cash. I am a semi- experienced rider. When saddling up, my girlfriend was extremely nervous since she had only been on a horse one other time. The horse sensed her nervousness and acted up a bit. Therefore, our guide Siggy (pronounced soulja) immediately switched her to a more cooperative horse, Hagrid. Since we chose the private tour we had the option of a beach and mountain ride or a beach only ride. We chose the easier beach only ride as recommended by the company for less experienced riders. The quaint fishing village, through which the trail passed, added to the natural beauty of the ocean views that come to mind when one thinks of Jamaica. The swim was much shorter than we had hoped for, only about five minutes each. However, now we understand that the horses are only physically able to wade in the water with someone on their back for a limited amount of time without being exhausted. We loved singing bob Marley tunes with Siggy, and enjoyed allowing him to paint us a picture of the life of an everyday Jamaican. We are very greatful to have chosen this tour, truly feeling we made the most of our limited time in Jamaica.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I had the pleasure to visit Braco Stables in May and in November this year. I was impressed with the beauty of the surroundings, the history of the place and last but not least, with how great their horses are. Well taken care of, these animals are in amazing shape, they are gentle and friendly.
This month I went on a private ride with Kenneth, the lovely Braco guide. I had a fabulous time, the beach ride followed by the ocean swim were unforgettable.
I will surely return next time I am on the island. I keep on looking at the wonderful photos I have and smile.
Highly recommended!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Braco Stables also viewed

Duncans, Trelawny Parish
Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
 
Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
 

Been to Braco Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Braco Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.