We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historical experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falmouth Heritage Walks

Falmouth Heritage Walks
Port Terminal, Falmouth, Jamaica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 activities in Falmouth
Type: Walking tours
Attraction Details
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great historical experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This two hour walk around Falmouth is wonderful. Our guide Carla was excellent. Wear comfortable shoes and a hat. They have water bottles for the midpoint. Very enjoyable, intimate tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina D, Owner at Falmouth Heritage Walks, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you so much for booking our tour. We appreciate the feedback, the helpful hints and the recognition given to our tour guides. It gives us great pride to showcase our town to visitors who want to learn more about Jamaica's history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Chester, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“History Comes Alive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Looking for a quick excursion off the Freedom of the Seas cruise boat; my 81 year old Mom and I had settled on the Heritage Tour of Falmouth, Jamaica. It was doable for her, most importantly, and the price was right. Our guide was very knowledgeable not only of the structures and history of these structures, but of the local flora and fauna so very present around the town. I highly reccommend this tour; it leaves time for shopping and a quick bite on shore before getting back on board the ship.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An Excursion To Be Remembered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I, along with another couple, had the opportunity to take an excursion last week in Falmouth, Jamaica with Falmouth Heritage Walks. I would rate this excursion as EXCELLENT. We were met on-time by Sherilee who gave us a walking tour of Falmouth on the way to the Jewish Cemetery. Once at the cemetery, we were handed over to Marina who was a wealth of knowledge about the cemetery, the people buried there, and the general history of the Jewish people on the island over the years. As excursions go, it wasn't exciting like a boat ride nor as breathtaking as parasailing, but it truly meant more to us than just your typical cruise excursions. Marina and Sherilee were great and made the tour most enjoyable. I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Falmouth.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina D, Owner at Falmouth Heritage Walks, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
It was certainly our pleasure to host you and many thanks for booking the tour. We take pride in offering an authentic heritage experience and introducing visitors to little known facts about Jamaica's rich history, particularly our Jewish history. Our tour guides are always delighted when they make an impression on their guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant day in quaint town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our group of four booked this tour during our cruise ship visit earlier this month. We had a delightful young lady, as our guide. Another young woman, in training as a guide, went along with our group. We covered the entire town of Falmouth, resting along the way, as necessary. Our guide brought cold water for us about midway through the tour. The guides were full of information and eager to answer any questions. At the end of the tour, we visited a beautiful, old, home of an American woman and her Jamaican husband. She was gracious enough to show us her home, even allowing us to peek into her refrigerator to view local food products. Would definitely recommend this tour to others, but not to those who have mobility issues.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
“FALMOUTH HERITAGE WALKS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We were on a cruise that stopped in Falmouth Jamaica. 12 of us went on a combination food tasting and heritage walk. It was very interesting and informative. Our guide was knowledgeable and took care of us, bringing water and letting us rest when it became hot. Highly recommend it. It does require a bit of walking, but all on level ground.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falmouth Heritage Walks also viewed

 
Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
 

Been to Falmouth Heritage Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falmouth Heritage Walks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Falmouth Heritage Walks to your Saves list