We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can be hit or miss...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glistening Waters

Glistening Waters
Luminous Lagoon, Falmouth, Jamaica
(876) 954-3229
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 19 restaurants in Falmouth
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Can be hit or miss...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

...depending on when you go. The restaurant leaves a lot to be desired, but the boat ride is somoething out of this world. The bay becomes luminescent when stirred up, but the best time to visit is on a hot clear night, when there has been no rainfall for a few weeks at best. With cold or cool weather or after rainfall the show is nonexistent and very disappointing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    58
    39
    28
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What a rip off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

When we arrived, we were escorted onto a boat, which then drove for 30 seconds and then stopped. We could see the building and dock we just left from. A guide on board swirled a stick in the water, explained the glow and said we could get into the water. We were permitted to swim for 5 minutes and told to get back on board the boat. We then drove around for about 10 minutes while we were told the history of the nearby town. The boat driver said he would hurry to get us back to the dock so we could go get dinner. Weird thing is, we had already had dinner and were in no rush.

For $66 per person (times 7 in our family), I felt we were practically robbed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“luminous lagoon and glistening waters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

really neat thing to do! you go out on the lagoon at night on a 'tour' - they brings you out and stops in the middle of the bay and you get out and swim around - lots of silt on the bottom so if you're squeamish you might be a bit put off - there are phosphorus organisms in the water that glow when disturbed - so it has to be on very dark night - full moon wont work as well - quite neat to see - not a long trip out but would recommend just the same - we hired our own cab for the night and had dinner at the restaurant after wards so not sure of a 'tour' price would be if with a tour co. Dinner was great - a lot of typical local food - we had seafood - fish/lobster/shrimp and peas/rice - yum - just a word - they add the tip to the bill so just make sure of that before you tip out the waitress - excellent service and great food

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Water is Always glowing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Glistening Waters is located middway between the town of Falmouth and the Trelawny Beach Hotel on the main road between Montego Bay and Ocho Rios.Customer service is a1 and the tour guide that takes you on the boat ride which last half an hour is knowledgeable of what gives the water that glistening colour. Tours are done at night to see the effect. LibertyToursJamaica

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“NOT WORTH THE MONEY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The trip is a long one and when you get there you go out in a boat. You swim for about 2 mins then back on the boat and you don't glow. total waste of money

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glistening Waters also viewed

Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
 
Falmouth, Trelawny Parish
 

Been to Glistening Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glistening Waters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.