We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice country pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tempest Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elslack
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tempest Arms
Save
You added The Tempest Arms to your Saves list
Elslack, Skipton BD23 3AY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Tenerife, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice country pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We met up with family members here as it was half way between Harrogate and Blackburn.
We had booked a table and arrived 20mins early. Even though the restaurant was full we were immediately shown to our table.
The menu had us all hungry before we started so we ordered the drinks and as soon as they arrived we ordered the food.
The food was all very nice but, I have to say, it was not quite as good as we had expected.
On any other day we would, I'm sure, have been very happy with our meals. Trouble was, we had read so many fantastic reviews we expected really great things.
I must stress that there was nothing particularly wrong with the food, it just didn't live up to our expectations.
Service was fine and the meal was for a fair price.
I would love to return in the Summer and spend a few days in one of their rooms. This would allow us to enjoy the bar a little more without having to drive home.
Ah well. Next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Oh dear! Well I could say dont read the reviews! But I wont as we really do like to receive them! Great review and lots of positives, so go on give us another try! Im sure it will be all it says on the ...... as they say. Great portions, home cooked and friendly service! From all at The Tempest Arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    80
    30
    15
    8
See reviews for
68
254
4
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in room 11 which has its own private outside hot tub and what a treat that was, the room was hugh and probably the nicest room I have stayed in in the Uk. The food was excellent and the portions hugh so could only manage one course would have loved to try more. Staff very friendly and service was good.

Would highly recommended the Tempest Arms for bth accommodation and for its meals

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
THANK YOU Gilly for your great review we are so pleased all was to your liking and look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

In modern text that could be ‘Well, I’ve got some booze to comfort me’, but there is more than booze, good as it is, to The Tempest Arms.
After having passed by The Tempest Arms on many occasions, it’s just off the A56, we diverted last year for something to eat. We were very impressed both by the food and the ambience, agreeing together to have an overnight stay even though we are less than an hour from home.
Finally this was arranged, it is very popular at weekends, and we were so pleased we did. There is a good selection of rooms from ‘Club’ (standard) to several suites. We stayed in a standard room which was very acceptable, spacious, very clean, good bed, very nice small modern shower room and all the usual facilities. Prices are competitive, especially if you can visit other than on the popular Saturday night.
The modern rooms are ‘grafted on’ to a beautiful and welcoming ‘olde world’ pub, though the suites are a very short walk away at the back. There is a restaurant, where breakfast is served, but the same extremely comprehensive menu is served in the various cosy bar areas. Evening fare was excellent, competitively priced, and matched by a very good wine list. Portions are of a good size, well presented and service was good,(we dined in the bar as the restaurant was fully booked). This high standard extended to breakfast, but this did lack a selection of fruit for those with a light appetite.
The pub/hotel is just 5 miles away from the lovely market town of Skipton which has an interesting castle and lively market days. It is a short drive to the most southerly of the dales and Bolton Abbey is not to be missed
Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The suites are very nice and worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
WOW WEE!

Thank you so much for your glowing review! Thrilled, Chuffed and over the moon! We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

From us all at the Tempest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Went with friends on busy Sunday lunchtime - hadn't booked but didn't have to wait long for a table on the bar lounge area. We had to wait a while for food but it well worth the wait. Delivered on hot plates we had a vegetarian dish a fish dish & my toad in the hole was divine - rich comforting & moreish. There was no way we could face pudding but there was a wide choice & the pick & mix cheese board also looked good. A great find & will return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Well thank you we are thrilled with your review and for your delightful comments THANK YOU from all at the Tempest Arms we look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

First time staying here. Hotel easy to find. Room en suite and very comfortable. Breakfast very good with an excellent choice and a variety of hot food. Popular hotel in a quiet area.Would recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Great to hear about your first visit to the Tempest Arms we are really happy that all was to your liking and that you took the time to post a review. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a very special place, food excellent great choice of beers and wine, staff lovely and a cosy bar/eating area. We have also eaten in the restaurant but booking in advance would be advisable as it gets extremely busy.Next time we are in the area we will try an over night stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
THANK YOU so much Mavis! Looking forward to visit number 3! Cheers till then and thank you!

Martin and Veronica and The Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roc, Croatia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Another trip here and another rave review. Everything about the stay was perfect, the staff were welcoming and helpful, the food fantastic and the room exceptional. Last time we stayed they needed more bar staff and friendlier bar staff, this seems to have happened. We were served efficiently and the beer & wine was spot on.

Room Tip: Choose a hot tub suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your 'Brilliant' review we are chuffed to bits all was to your liking and I will certainly pass on your comments to our team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tempest Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tempest Arms

Address: Elslack, Skipton BD23 3AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Elslack
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, drink, dine and stay in a delightful Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tempest Arms Hotel Elslack
Tempest Arms Skipton
Tempest Arms Hotel Skipton
The Tempest Arms Elslack, Skipton, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tempest Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.