We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tempest Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elslack
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tempest Arms
Save
You added The Tempest Arms to your Saves list
Elslack, Skipton BD23 3AY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Certificate of Excellence 2014
west midlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

First time staying here. Hotel easy to find. Room en suite and very comfortable. Breakfast very good with an excellent choice and a variety of hot food. Popular hotel in a quiet area.Would recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Great to hear about your first visit to the Tempest Arms we are really happy that all was to your liking and that you took the time to post a review. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    92
    31
    16
    10
See reviews for
76
278
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a very special place, food excellent great choice of beers and wine, staff lovely and a cosy bar/eating area. We have also eaten in the restaurant but booking in advance would be advisable as it gets extremely busy.Next time we are in the area we will try an over night stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
THANK YOU so much Mavis! Looking forward to visit number 3! Cheers till then and thank you!

Martin and Veronica and The Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roc, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Another trip here and another rave review. Everything about the stay was perfect, the staff were welcoming and helpful, the food fantastic and the room exceptional. Last time we stayed they needed more bar staff and friendlier bar staff, this seems to have happened. We were served efficiently and the beer & wine was spot on.

Room Tip: Choose a hot tub suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your 'Brilliant' review we are chuffed to bits all was to your liking and I will certainly pass on your comments to our team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great atmosphere in cosy surroundings, excellent food & drink, lovely staff who were very efficient & helpful, really comfortable bedrooms. We had a brilliant New Year here & we would recommend this to anyone & not just for New Year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and a HAPPY NEW YEAR to you! From us all at the Tempest Arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Second time we have stayed here, both times in Hot Tub Suite 11.
Rooms are well laid out, and the fire makes it so cosy. Obviously the private hot tub is a major attraction, but the pub and restaurant are also great.
Nice selection of real ales, and the food is fantastic, with great service. We will make this an annual treat !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Roll on next year! Cheers and thank you for your review we are so happy you enjoyed your visit! And certainly look forward to seeing you in a years time! Or sooner hopefully!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed overnight at the Tempest Arms after attending a birthday party there. The room, a junior Suite, was clean and comfortable. The gas fuelled coal effect fire was welcome as it was a cold weekend. There were some nice touches such as dressing gowns and the chocolates on the bed on our arrival. The two twin beds were more like doubles than singles and there was a choice of pillows.There is free cake for guests at reception, another nice touch. One small negative comment (from a personal point of view) was that there was an open fire in the bar area which made it far too hot for some people and we had to find a table well away from the fire. I suppose it is a difficult balance between an inviting open fire on a cold day and some areas being too hot for comfort.
The food was very good with several choices for breakfast.
The key questions is; would we return to the hotel? The answer is yes without a doubt. We are already planning to take friends there for lunch.

Room Tip: There are a number of different types of room including some with a hot tub, so choose one to suit y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review we are thrilled you had a lovely stay with us! It really does make all the difference when our guests take the time to share their thoughts about our lovely Inn!

With lots of best wishes Martin & Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Tempest Arms between Christmas and new year. A cosy pub with an excellent and very extensive menu all at very reasonable prices. Our room, a junior suite was amazing, with quality fixtures and fittings. All the staff are very friendly especially those in the restuarant as it was very busy and the service was nothing short of excellent at all times. We had a lovely relaxing break and hope to visit again very soon.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Cheers to you both for your lovely review we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and certainly look forward to welcoming you again very soon! Till then Happy New Year!
Thank you once again 'Team Tempest'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tempest Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tempest Arms

Address: Elslack, Skipton BD23 3AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Elslack
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elslack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, drink, dine and stay in a delightful Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tempest Arms Hotel Elslack
Tempest Arms Skipton
Tempest Arms Hotel Skipton
The Tempest Arms Elslack, Skipton, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tempest Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.