We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The River Bistro

The River Bistro
Wharfside House | Prentice Road, Stowmarket, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 48 Restaurants in Stowmarket
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Bistro Stowmarket,
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a wonderful here with my sister and my niece last weekend. My niece is normally fussy with food and wanted the chicken dish cooked without pesto which the kitchen happily accommodated so the food is freshly prepared. Despite being very busy with 90 covers expected the eve of mothers day, we were well served and the food was wonderful. Its a bit on the pricey side for this area, but you get what you pay for and it was worth it. Not an extensive menu, but one of everything. No pizzas or burgers, so if u want that, then it's not for you. However, if you want a beautiful steak, piece of lamb, chicken or fish (and veggie option), then go! Good atmosphere. Lovely little restaurant. Just what Stowmarket has needed for many years!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    28
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mothers day made special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

What an excellent experience. Initial veiw of premises is not very inviting either inside or out But once seated the quality soon shines through the polite and efficient staff are second to none. We were a party of 6 adults and 2 children and were made very welcome on what is possibly the busiest lunchtime of the year The wonderful food was served piping hot with precisely the correct timing between courses including the childrens I have spent the last 10 years in Europe and during that time have never tasted better prepared food in such generous portions. All the party remarked on the superb qulityand would definitly visit again. I think the small extra touches made a big inpact on th younger parents among us, particularly the supplying of colouring books and crayons to the children before the first course. Very profesional. I reccomend this venue to all. You will not leave hungry

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Beautifully cooked food in a lovey location. Never let's us down! No hesitation in recommending it to anyone for any occasion! Cannot wait to go again!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
2 reviews
“BEST FOOD IN STOWMARKET”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I would highly recommend this restaurant. The food is second to none, the service is friendly and extremely polite. Food is all cooked fresh and presented immaculately.

Anybody who wishes to spend a nice night out with excellent food should definately make a visit, I can assure you will return time and time again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a lovely evening here recently with friends, although the service was a bit slow. I had the Thai Green Prawn curry and it was superb!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The River Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.