We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if possible!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel to your Saves list
Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel
A14 Westbound, Haughley, Stowmarket IP14 3PY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stowmarket
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Avoid if possible!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We do not consider ourselves overly picky when it comes to hotels for a single night; we are only sleeping there so it doesn't have to be wonderful. However, this hotel really was pretty ropey!

Having booked well in advance, the price we paid was cheap (I would certainly have been very annoyed if I had paid any more). The first room we were showed to, we immediately asked to be moved as the smell of damp was TERRIBLE, even though the windows were open. When the door was then propped open to let the room 'air', the entire corridor stank!

The receptionist was somewhat stressed (to say the least) to move us to another room (as she was when we checked in, someone asked for an extra pillow...). Once we had moved, the room was very basic but appeared fairly clean. The bathroom seemed a little on the grubby side, although I think it was more old, shabby and dated than actually dirty. This was pretty much the theme throughout the hotel and for lots of the rooms (we had family staying there, so saw about 4 other rooms to ours). The showers also didn't seem to cope well with lots of people using them either, as by about 9:30 the water was cold!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the fields and not the carpark seemed to be a little less damp and mouldy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    25
    24
    18
See reviews for
26
35
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tenerife
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My son and his family stayed here 2 nights ago. The family room was extremely run down and dirty, with many cobwebs. The window frames were literally covered in a thick black mould, and the bathroom hadn't seen Viakal for months. The only plus side was that when a complaint was lodged the fee of 52.95 GBP was refunded without question.

This is an extremely tired and run-down Travelodge and I would recommend that all other local options are exhausted before choosing to stay here. Emergencies only in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This Travelodge is an excellent base for exploring Suffolk countryside etc. It is just off the A14, but was not noisy at all. There is very little around the hotel for eating/drinking, but it was so easy to drive to Bury St Edmunds or the attractive little country villages etc. Hotel basic but clean and very friendly young man on reception. Would recommend it for a short stay. As usual, no frills but worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This travelodge is looking very run down and old now. We arrived and were put in room 40. After unpacking everything, the shower was required. But...no hot water!!! Awful shower and the water was luke warm at best. We were moved to another room where the water was better but still not a very good shower! The person at reception later said the place was booked yp so some poor sod was going to end up in room 40 when they arrived there later on that day! Only paid £22.50 for the room but even so...you expect the basics without having to move rooms! After a long journey, you do not want this hassle! Will be avoiding this travelodge in future.

Room Tip: Avoid room 40!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

This Travelodge is situated on the old single carriageway A14, it now is bypassed by a newish dual carriageway. Resulting it being easy to miss.

The Little chef next door is on reduced hours due to low passing trade.

Staff appeared helpful and professional, my breakfast bag arrived promptly at 4am as requested, the bed was comfortable and shower although low pressure was ok.

It is a bit lonely in the area and I'm guessing they may relocate in the future, all in all one of the better stays i'v had at travelodge.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The entire hotel & stay was awful, luckily only a few hours long as we stayed for a wedding down the road and it was very cheap... as generally someone who views a hotel room as simply somewhere to lay their head I was shocked at how shabby things looked and I would probably stay in a more expensive alternative another time just to get a good night's sleep.

It was too hot, there were holes in the walls through being bashed, equipment being removed, it was like a sauna, no glasses, only plastic cups, only one towel laid out (I found the other eventually!), I can go on!!

Overall it just looks like the hotel has become very run down and Travelodge are not investing in the building. I was also not impressed at the expectation of a £10 payment to check in early even though I was informed by phone earlier in the week rooms would be ready - I've never been charged for this service before in any hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Yorkshire
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Was expecting the worst but found this to be a perfectly OK Travelodge. Clean and with pleasant staff...OK so it's a bit 'tired' but we only paid £9 per night so what the heck!! Stayed 3 nights, using it as a base to explore Suffolk. We found Stowmarket centre itself hopeless for eating places, (and the Travelodge's next door Little Chef is about to close too!). We ate one night at The Kings Arms in nearby Haughley which was typical basic pub food...but perfectly acceptable. One night at The Bull in Woolpit (about 15 min drive away), very nice restaurant-type food here. The third night we went back to Haughley to The Old Counting House, quite expensive but very nice. On our way home, after a fascinating visit to West Stow Anglo Saxon Village, we stopped for lunch at the Wyken Vineyards on the outskirts of Bury St Edmunds and had a slap-up lunch at their Leaping Hare Restaurant.....utterly fab!! Only downside of our trip was that so many things were closed for the winter...really wanted to go to Sutton Hoo for e.g but it was only open week-ends in winter. Other recommendations if you are staying at this Travelodge.....Dedham/Flatford Mill for the Constable connections, (Dedham has a lovely tearoom in the Arts centre), Aldeburgh/Thorpeness Beach for the Benjamin Brittan connection, Long Melford & Lavenham - very pretty villages.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel

Address: A14 Westbound, Haughley, Stowmarket IP14 3PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Stowmarket
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stowmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Suffolk
Travel Lodge Suffolk
Suffolk Travelodge
Suffolk Travel Lodge
Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.