We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor atmosphere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Shepherd and Dog

The Shepherd and Dog
Lower Road | Onehouse, Stowmarket IP14 3BX, England
+44 1449 614675
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 48 Restaurants in Stowmarket
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“poor atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Food goodish staff good the owner came out to instruct the waitress to go to the bar with 2 customers she didn't come over to speak to us we were the only people in the eating area the food was ok but thin yellow paper napkins were awfully for an evening meal ok just for lunch. over priced for a cold pub with no atmosphere

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HertaWeeks, Owner at The Shepherd and Dog, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Hi,

I'm sorry you felt that way about your experience with us the other evening. Unfortunately we are only a pub and thus cannot afford expensive linen napkins for our customers benefit.

I don't feel like this is a valid reason for only giving us a 2 star review over our napkins but thank you for your comments anyway.

Herta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    5
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent fuss free dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We went for a family Sunday lunch as a group of 6. The menu was really varied, but had the standard roasts as well. Not a huge amount of choice, but what they do, they do well! For the standard of food the price was very reasonable, the location is good & the atmosphere was lovely. Staff were friendly & helpful, we'll definitely be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HertaWeeks, Owner at The Shepherd and Dog, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Hi,

Many thanks for your comments.

Hope you visit us again soon,

Herta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, rude host”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The food was good, bit pricey for what it was even if it has an austrian name. The host however was quite rude, would rather watch her staff struggle to take payments from a large group of diners than help out.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Shepherd and Dog, Onehouse, not to be confused with Forward Green”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

A fantastic country pub run by an Austrian chef and her family. Fresh, home cooked food. Plentiful helpings and a great choice of classic dishes such as beautifully tender schnitzel and goulash, Tyrolean specialities and homemade pies. There is also a vast array of staple English fayre. We had scampi and the most delicious crispy fat chips, a chicken korma perfectly spiced but the winner was the Tyrolean Groestl, which is a potato, ham and eggs pan fry with herbs. Absolutely delicious! We also had the freshly made apple strudel, but there's masses to choose from: daily baked cakes and cheesecakes, fruit salads and an incredible variety of sundaes. I can't believe there aren't more reviews here! Perhaps the less impressive, overpriced Shepherd and Dog, Forward Green has nabbed them all? It always looks busy whenever I pass but we booked a Tuesday afternoon and it was lovely and quiet and relaxed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HertaWeeks, Owner at The Shepherd and Dog, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Hi,

Many thanks for your review and for pointing out a fact that many others have missed.

Hope you visit us again soon,
Herta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Friendly pub with good value food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

This is a typical country pub and caters for all. Families welcome and there is a large outside area with play equipment. We regularly visit this pub to eat. The staff are friendly and the food is excellent. Well kept beer and decent house wine by the glass. Food has an austrian influence.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HertaWeeks, Owner at The Shepherd and Dog, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Hi,

Many thanks for your comments.

Hope you visit us again soon,

Herta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shepherd and Dog also viewed

Forward Green, Stowmarket
Stowmarket, Suffolk
 

Been to The Shepherd and Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shepherd and Dog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.