We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great act!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 745pm Farmhouse Fine Dining

745pm Farmhouse Fine Dining
Moat Farm | Middlewood Green, Stowmarket, England
01449 711222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 48 Restaurants in Stowmarket
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“What a great act!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Our fourth visit to the 7.45.
Having crossed the bridge over the moat into the farmyard, the restaurant is in a converted farm building - functional rather than 'over done-up'. The five course £33.50 menu no choices - one can check on the web-site a few days before to see that weekends offerings. The food is delicious and made mainly from local ingredients. The approach to wine is great, find your bottle in the fridge/cabinet and open it! Prices from £9.50 for reds (Chilean Pinot Noir), and white from £10.50 (northern Italian).The host is friendly and genial, more a gifted amateur rather than a 'hard nosed' professional. No gratuities are allowed! We look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    11
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

A unique experience - with the first chill of winter the low room was cosy and welcoming, as was the host and single helping hand.

Execution was flawless with a red poll beef fillet absolutely outstanding! A couple of the 5 courses seemed overly seasoned, but the freshness of the ingredients still shone through.

Yes, the wine reflected sound selection, with some excellent dessert wines being served at no more than £2.50 a glass.

Definitely going back to test the consistency and of course, enjoy! The challenge will be for the excellent host being able to 'preserve' the special nature of this offer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ssssh....keep it a secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Absolutely agree with other reviews, but we really should keep this place a secret! If too many people hear about it, we won't be able to book a table till 2015. Food superb, wine great & inexpensive, but it's the small details that make it 5*....service friendly but not overbearing; lighting not too dim, not too harsh; seats comfortable & at right height for table; music does not dominate.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Can't believe this is just up the road!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Found out about this restaurant through Tripadvisor and having read the reviews, had to look it up. Their website clearly explains what the experience is like and also shows you the menu for the coming weekend as well as the wine list.

The concept is one sitting at 7.45pm on Fridays and Saturdays of up to 18 covers, with a set five course menu including coffee (and in addition jugs of water, canapes, sorbet and truffles). Booking is necessary due to the size. The menu is currently set at £33.50 with a strictly no tips policy. Payment is cash or cheque only.

From the outside, the building doesn't look much - a small extension to an old farmhouse. Go through a couple of doors into the building and you're in the small dining room. The owner showed us to our table and said he would be round to chat to us in a moment. He personally went to each table to explain the menu and the mainly the wine arrangements!

Wine is sold at close to retail price, with bottles priced between about £9 and £20. A list with good description is provided and shelf numbers are indicated for the dual ambience wine fridge. You help yourself throughout the night so can read the labels etc to help you choose. We also started the night with a quarter bottle of prosecco which was £4.50, a nice way to kick off the evening.

Canapes were brought out at 7.45pm and the evening continued with plate after plate of beautifully presented and lovely tasting food being brought out. A lot of the ingredients were seasonal and consisted of classic combinations with a modern outlook. Obviously if you are particularly fussy then it may not be the place for you, but for the price, you could leave an entire course (ie if you're not into fish) or the odd thing from a plate and it would still be good value. They were also catering for a lactose intolerant diner on the table beside us, so I can imagine they would be happy to work around needs with enough notice.

Service was very simply food being delivered and plates collected and as you could help yourself to wine, there were no need for a lot of interaction. However, it was made clear you could knock on the kitchen door if needed! With five course and six tables, there wasn't any long periods when no one was available anyway.

At the end of the evening the owner came out to check everything had been ok and to collect up the wine bottles to add to the bill.

We were ready to leave at about 10.45pm so the whole experience was about 3hrs. I've been to plenty of restaurants where you can see staff tidying away around you but you don't get this here as everyone is leaving around the same time.

Before arriving, we were a little concerned what the atmosphere would be like due to the size, but it was really good. The general chit chat of the tables was helped by not having a waiter standing over the table the whole time, and guests being able to get up and get a bottle of wine etc, made it informal enough for you to have a good time.

Overall, a really lovely experience that I will be recommending to everyone and priced so reasonably that we will definitely be going again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great, and the only 'great' locally!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic from the off. Ignore the dingy carpark and the slight awkwardness of first arrival... The food and value is outstanding.

A naff pie in many local pubs are over a tenner, but here we had 5 excellent courses (plus canapé and sorbet and coffee courses) for £33. Unless you are a particularly fussy eater I don't think it is a problem that the menu is 'set', but surely food-lovers would be happy to try anything so long as it's cooked and presented well, and here it certainly is!!

Our 5 courses were gorgeous... Asparagus tasting plate (soup, tart, fingers in hollandaise); duck and sage terrine; salt and peppery cod; confit duck with damson sauce; peach with Marsala sauce and zabaglione ice cream. Yum x5!!!

Will be going again soon. Price makes it very accessible, just need babysitters now!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 745pm Farmhouse Fine Dining also viewed

 

Been to 745pm Farmhouse Fine Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 745pm Farmhouse Fine Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.