We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Chill-out Deli ..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Deli & Cafe

The Deli & Cafe
Chilli Farm, Norwich Road, | Mendlesham, Stowmarket IP14 5NQ, England (Formerly The Deli)
01449 766344
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 46 restaurants in Stowmarket
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Our passion for all things delicious is at the heart of what we do. Our cafe offers light lunches, homemade cakes & scones, great coffee, and much more.We also have a shop full of yummy goodies...locally sourced items always take precedence, but you will also find exciting flavours from the rest of the world. Every product is individually selected and we are constantly sourcing new produce and suppliers that we think you might like! We offer a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, alongside personal and knowledgeable service.We are located at the famous Chilli Farm, which has something for everyone! The Chilli Farm grows thousands of plants each year and you can see them being grown in the Nursery on open days. They also have a smokehouse and their own shop 'Smoke & Spice' which sells The Chilli Company's own range of sauces and smoked produce, as well as everything for the chilli lover!We look forward to seeing you at the Farm!
Ipswich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Chill-out Deli ..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A great place to stop off for some delicious food and snacks. You can have a great meal and take some gorgeous choice chesses, olives et al .. yum yum!
It has now become a firm favorite and we recommend it to everyone!
Pop in and enjoy a fab meal, there is also the chilli farm next door that complements the Deli with good Chilli products and excellent tortilla chips! hot hot.

V recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    17
    12
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place and perfect cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have driven past this place many times and said we should go in so we had some time free and decided to go. We weren't disappointed. The chilli side of the site seems small - a few plants for sale but the deli, chilli produce and cafe are fab. The cake is to die for. Friendly staff helped as well with everything.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A lovely lunch – cakes look delicious too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was our first visit – but won’t be our last. We stopped for a cup of tea but were so intrigued by the menu that we had a gorgeous lunch instead (although the cakes looked delicious too … next time perhaps!).

Everything was fresh and the portion sizes were good. The ambience was calm and relaxed and everywhere was very clean. All the Staff were friendly and service was unrushed.

We did find it very warm upstairs, but not unreasonably so bearing in mind we visited on one of the hottest days of the year so far. We would have enjoyed our visit more without the musak, but that it a personal preference and it won’t stop us returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“'Deliciousness'!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I've had several delicious lunches at the café at the Chilli Farm in the last few months. The new management have done a great job in turning this place round. The sign outside promises 'deliciousness' and that's what we got! There's a great menu with a wide choice of tasty food. The stilton and caramelised walnut bruschetta I had last week was fantastic. They were very helpful in accommodating a group of us from work recently, allowing us to pre-order so our meals were ready when we arrived. There are so many tempting things on the menu that we might just need to keep going back to try them all...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke Holy Cross, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Everything was excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stopped in here for some lunch and had a lovely meal. The place looks lovely and has a really relaxing atmosphere. We were greeted on the way in and someone arrived to take our order very promptly. The lady that waited on our table was really friendly and helpful. We had our two young children who are both under 5 with us. They don't have specific children's meals but we ordered bottle of apple juice and a toasted sandwich for them to share and they were really helpful serving the drink in two separate glasses and serving the sandwich on separate plates each with full garnish. As for the food - it was gorgeous! We had sandwiches and they were served on thick hearty bread with delicious fillings inside. We will definitely return!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deli & Cafe also viewed

 
Stowmarket, Suffolk
Forward Green, Stowmarket
 

Been to The Deli & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Deli & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.