We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at the chestnut horse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut Horse

Chestnut Horse
The Green, Stowmarket IP14 3AT, England
01449 612298
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 48 Restaurants in Stowmarket
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lunch at the chestnut horse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

We decide to visit today after seeing an advert in the local spot light magazine. There was a good choice of menu and specials on offer. Great warming fire as you walked in and a friendly welcome.
I decided to have the liver and bacon served with mash and veg. Tasted fantastic although was hoping they had the hotpot on. Would recommend a visit will go again xmas menu took my eye.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    12
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Liked the food - but turn on the heating!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

My wife and I came in for lunch. Friendly staff and lots of choice on the menu. The slow cooked pork I chose was very good - melted in the mouth. My wife went for the light bites and was a bit average.

The pub was OK. Nothing special, but not bad. My only criticism was that it was cold. Everyone was wearing their coats.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal and a very warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Had seen that the Chestnut Horse had recently been taken over, so having read a very good write up decided to venture out.

We enjoyed a wonderful meal here last week, the staff were very attentive and even the chef popped out to enquire if we had enjoyed his cooking.

The lamb shoulder simply fell off the bone, while my partner's puff pastry pie looked very tempting, so may well have to sample that next time.

Sadly we hadn't saved room to sample one of the delicious sounding desserts - but promised to make amends next time round.......which will be soon :)

A lovely village setting and very reasonable prices, highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellant Food and Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Once again in for lunch today, the food was delicious, the finest gammon I have ever had, moist and cooked to perfection, supplied by local Suffolk butchers and again the best Chocolate Orange Cheesecake which is to die for. The hospitality provided by new landlords Jennie and Andrew is superb. A true village pub offering excellent food and a superb choice of great ales now it is a free house and not owned by Greene King

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice evening out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Decided to have a meal out and chose The Chestnut Horse. The meal was good but there was limited choice. The prawn cocktail was ok but the prawns were very small - not your usual plump prawns- and there was little or no seafood sauce. The food was reasonably priced and ample portions but found that the bill was more than expected and this was probably due to what we were charged for drinks.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chestnut Horse also viewed

 
Stowmarket, Suffolk
Forward Green, Stowmarket
 

Been to Chestnut Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chestnut Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.