We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buxhall Crown Inn

The Buxhall Crown Inn
Mill Road, Buxhall, Stowmarket IP14 3DW, England
01449 736521
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Stowmarket
Price range: $17 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: 17 Century freehouse and restaurant exposed timberframe dining room ingle nook fireplace with roaring log fire from light lunches to fine dining
Stowmarket
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I were taken here for a leaving do. Really warm welcome and atmosphere. Fabulous food. A lovely cosy country pub for a romantic meal for 2 or a larger party such as ours.

Really nice to go out into the country and not be in a cold and draughty place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    32
    8
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Works Christmas Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was my first visit to the Buxhall Crown for my Schools Christmas Meal, and it was FANTASTIC. Excellent service providing excellent food, in a lovely atmosphere with superb staff, I will definitely return. Mary

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, service and atmosphere for our special occasion.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Upon local recommendation, we held our wedding 'rehearsal' dinner for 40 guests, most of whom had travelled from the USA. Shaun was extremely helpful throughout the planning stages to ensure everything went smoothly. As a result the evening was a fantastic success. The food was outstanding, the service friendly and efficient and everyone loved the rural location, open fire and cosy atmosphere. I would highly recommend The Buxhall Crown for anyone looking for an excellent country pub serving top quality food. All of our guests are still talking about what a wonderful evening it was and it showed them you can find excellent food in England!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cosy Pub Atmosphere with Top Notch Food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

On a cold December day we were greeted by a blazing fire in the log burner at the Buxhall Crown. We sat by the fire with our drinks while we perused the menu before going to our table. The meal was excellent, well cooked and well presented; my lamb, served with curly kale and fresh vegetables, was just perfect. We shared a delicious Apricot and Ginger pud before returning to sit by the fire and relax with our coffees. The service was efficient and the staff friendly; it's a pub were you can enjoy really good food in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent quality, great venue and decent ales...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

.....all combine to make this a hugely enjoyable meal out. The service is swift and the menu choices extensive, including vegetarian.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buxhall Crown Inn also viewed

Forward Green, Stowmarket
 

Been to The Buxhall Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buxhall Crown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.