We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned with long ago charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Centraal

Hotel Centraal
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Centraal to your Saves list
Hotel Centraal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brouwersstraat 12, 8861 CX Harlingen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Harlingen
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Old fashioned with long ago charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in July of 2012. The location is, of course, central-- with very easy public parking across the street.
This is not a particularly up to date hotel, however there was a certain charm in that its not trying to be anything other than what it is--- an old fashioned hotel with pretty lobby, a nice man behind the old fashioned check in counter, steep steps for our generation to remember how our ancestors travelled, smallish clean rooms, and gobs of history. I liked it. Made me think of the long past much more than prettified quaint places that, although are lovely and charming, know what they are.
Breakfast was immense, tasty, and typical full bodied Dutch coffee which we found to be the best in Europe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great location. Average room with outdated decor. The bathroom was like a closet and towels were kept on a towel rack just outside the bathroom.

You could easily hear other hotel guests coming and going.

A bit minimal for the price I paid for the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here for a week's holiday. Its location within Harlingen is excellent, the rooms very comfortable, the staff friendly and breakfast of a very high standard. The only shortcoming for those with reduced mobility would be the absence of a lift and the steep, winding staircase to the upper floors.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2007

The room we had was ok but pretty cold even with the central heating on, which was a bit surprising for September.

Its a great location in the centre of town, but unless you want to pay a fortune for parking you need to arrive after 6pm. If you stay for more than one night and leave your car in the street during the day it could turn into a fairly expensive stay.

  • Disliked — no free parking
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park NY
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

Stayed at the Hotel Centraal in Harlingen, NL for two nights in May while visiting friends in the city. The hotel is located in the center of town within walking distance of all Harlingen activities. The Hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull and all spoke excellent english. There is only public street parking in front of the hotel at the parking meter rates. We stayed in the "Deluxe" rooms which are totally refurbished and in a new section at the rear of the hotel. The regular rooms are located in the floors above the original hotel. The "deluxe" rooms are spacious and clean with a large bathroom. A great breakfast was included for the E87 price. Harlingen is a delightful little city directly on the ocean.

  • Liked — Convinient location
  • Disliked — No free parking
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlingen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zeezicht
Hotel Zeezicht
#3 of 4 in Harlingen
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Anna Casparii
Hotel Anna Casparii
#2 of 4 in Harlingen
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant vof 't Heerenlogement
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant De Stadsherberg
15.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Sneek
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel De Eilanden
Boutique Hotel De Eilanden
#1 of 4 in Harlingen
4.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centraal

Address: Brouwersstraat 12, 8861 CX Harlingen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Harlingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Harlingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centraal 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Centraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Centraal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.