We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good restaurant at a romantic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Nederlanden

De Nederlanden
Duinkerken 3, Vreeland 3633 EM, The Netherlands
0294-232326
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 restaurants in Vreeland
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Laren, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good restaurant at a romantic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We wanted to visit this restaurant for some time, but usually it was full. This time we were lucky and it perfect. The gastronomic menu including the wines was delicious. The service was excellent and it was a real treat. We will come back,,

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    27
    8
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Outstanding "restaurant with rooms"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

What an amazing experience we had at De Nederlanden Restaurant and Hotel!

I organised an extremely high profile customer event there for 30 people. We used their hotel rooms, one of their two meeting rooms, their lobby for our cocktail reception and the dining room for an exclusive four course dinner with fine wines then went back into the lobby for coffee, liqueurs and friandises. The venue is located about a 25 minute drive from Schiphol Airport or around an hour from Amsterdam city centre and is located in an idyllic picturesque little village called Vreeland.

The welcome that we received from Caroline and Wilco Berends who own and run the place - Wilco is the chef - was second to none and we all felt as though it was a home from home. In the lead up to the event every time I emailed Caroline with a change or a new request the answer always came back "no problem" which, for an event planner, was heaven to my ears! It was an unknown venue to us so the company was a little nervous and sent several of us over there in the weeks prior to the event to recce the place out and the Berends and their team graciously hosted us each time without ever showing any irritation or concern.

The rooms are large and adequate. Bathrobes and slippers are provided but there are no in-room coffee / tea facilities, air con or giant flatscreen TVs. I was concerned that my senior execs would miss the creature comforts of the larger chain hotels, especially given that the hotel has no fitness facilities and there is very little to do in Vreeland but they totally fell for it's charm and the beautiful views from their rooms over the canal and the little bridge. A couple of them went for a run along the canal or a wander around the village and enjoyed that.

Caroline and Wilco say that they know their strength is in the fabulous one-Michelin-star restaurant which is why they style the venue as a 'restaurant with rooms' rather than a hotel. And the food is so worth the journey! Wilco put a beautiful four course menu together for our dinner and there were canapes and amuse bouches aplenty. All of our customers stayed late and went away happy and you can't ask for much more than that.

Overall a fantastic experience which truly had the personal touch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Excellent food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A real feast for our taste buds !
We first had three "mises en bouche", artistically presented, very creative.
Then the gastronomic menu, each dish full of taste, each little dot of sauce a delicacy, each plate a pleasure for the eye.
A nutritionist would say there was too much protein, but this is not your every day meal either...
The service was excellent as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roussillon
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Inventive and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A very cosy inn by the canal - it must be lovely to sit outside in summer. The restaurant has a michelin star, and may even deserve another on the evidence of my lunch, which was great. Very clean flavours - the highlight was plaice with oysters, mango and crab, which sounds rather odd but was superb and genuinely original. At 45 euros for lunch, this is a great chance to have top class, modern European cooking for a very reasonable price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Magnificent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

All the dishes were thoroughly thought through, greatly designed, beautifully served, and - above all - very very tasty. Combine it with a selection of pretty good wines and you have a magnificent dinner. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Nederlanden also viewed

Vreeland, The Netherlands
Loenen aan de Vecht, The Netherlands
 
Vreeland, The Netherlands
Kortenhoef, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Nederlanden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Nederlanden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.