We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cosy hotel & fantastic restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Restaurant Hotel de Nederlanden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sandton Restaurant Hotel de Nederlanden to your Saves list
Sandton Restaurant Hotel de Nederlanden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duinkerken 3, 3633 EM Vreeland, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vreeland
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice cosy hotel & fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel is in a beautiful, "typically Dutch" area with lots of canals, irrigated fields, windmills etc. Rooms are functional and cosy - nothing extravagant, but fully serves the purpose. The main advantage is the food though. All the dishes were thoroughly thought through, greatly designed, beautifully served, and - above all - very very tasty. Combine it with a selection of pretty good wines and you have a magnificent dinner. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
14
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We booked for two nights as the highlight of our stay of 14 nights in the Netherlands and thought that asking for a room overlooking the river would be a real bonus so asked for a Junior Suite with river view and our booking was confirmed. When we arrived there was a large party taking place outside with no room to park in the car park (we were told to find a space somewhere in an adjoining street) and we then found ourselves shown to a nice room overlooking the car park on one side and a small housing estate on the other. When we complained, we were told that no rooms were guaranteed and all other rooms were full. We were told that we might be able to move rooms the following day but moving luggage half way through a two day stay did not appeal.
Evening meals were really good and service was excellent but it took from 8 p.m. to 11.40 p.m. to serve dinner and other guests were complaining about the length of time that it took the kitchen to get meals out. Breakfast was served at the table but was nothing out of the ordinary and a total bill of over 900 euros for our stay left us seriously deflated!

Room Tip: Don't bother - on their own admission, the hotel give no guarantees that you'll get any part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I was there in a bussiness trip to Hilversum, and I wasn't expecting this kind of hotel as it was around 20 km away from the city, but once I went into the hotel reception I knew this one was "different" from the business hotels I'm used to stay.
To begin with, this beatiful hotel is located in a nice small village (Vreeland) and it lies by the side of the canal just a few meters from a moving wooden bridge that connects with the center of the village. The staff is attentive, friendly and eager to help.
My room was in the first floor with lots of natural light and with a view over the canal and the wooden bridge. It was a big room with a big bathroom and jacuzzi. The bed was confortable and the ceiling was made of wooden beams very well maintained. All the furniture was choosen to provide a "old time" feeling, althought I could also use my computer to connect to the internet using a complimentary free wifi connection.
Breakfast was not included in the room price, so I had to pay 20 euros daily for the breakfast, but it was worthwhile.
The restaurant is a must. I'm very skeptic about restaurants (after many years traveling around) but this was a rewarding surprise. I had halibut fish for the first dish and this was just unforgettable. And for the dessert, the waiter recommend me a souffle mit icecream (chef specialty), and this was D E L I C I O U S.
Should I come to Hilversum again I will stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request a rrom with a view over the canal bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneve
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We only went to the Restaurant. Excellent food, on a way to a Michelin star. Nice area, well decorated restaurant.

I recommend the pigeon - a difficult meat to prepare - it was perfectly cooked and tasty.

The service was OK maybe to improve if the restaurant wants a star!

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is beautifully located in a small town at the water side, with view on a nice wooden bridge. Obviously not all rooms have this view. The reception area / lounge with many couches is cosy. The lady of the reception desk is very friendly and helpful, the waiters of the restaurant too arrogant to say hello. The rooms are rather large but can be hot due to lack of A/C. Sandton calls all the rooms luxury rooms but with no A/C, a simple TV, bad wifi connection, no mini bar, no coffee facilities and free fresh fruit which are two mandarines the 160+ Euro a night is rather overprized, especially if you get a room without a view.

The breakfast is very nice and served at your table, parking is free. So a nice place if your expectations are not too high..

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

Although I have yet to stay in this hotel/restaurant, I had the great pleasure of dining there in September AND I intend to go back soon. The quality of the food and wine was great. I chose the 4 course chef's menu. The alaskan crab was beautifully presented and the venison was the best I have ever tasted. It was a superb culinary experience and one that I cannot wait to repeat. The staff were exteremely attentive and the whole experience was memorable. Contrary to the other reviewer, the amuses were not only delicious but were well explained. The petits fours were also excellent although maybe a touch too much after a a big meal. All in all, definitely one of the best restaurants in The Netherlands and a chef to watch for the future.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

The location is great. The room I was in looked great. There was a complimentary bottle of water and wine. The food was nice enough, but the personnel was unattentive. Orders were forgotten, the amuse not explained. I didn't feel welcome and had the impression the personnel couldn't be bothered.
The room was extremely hot and there were musquito's.
Not Michelin worthy.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — attitude by personnel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Restaurant Hotel de Nederlanden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Restaurant Hotel de Nederlanden

Address: Duinkerken 3, 3633 EM Vreeland, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Vreeland
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vreeland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandton Restaurant Hotel de Nederlanden 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandton Restaurant Hotel de Nederlanden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Restaurant Hotel de Nederlanden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.