We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel,quiet area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Isla Canela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Isla Canela to your Saves list
Barcelo Isla Canela
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo de los Gavilanes s/n, 21470 Ayamonte, Isla Canela, Spain (Formerly Riu)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% discount
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Isla Canela
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“lovely hotel,quiet area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

we stayed at the barcelo sept 5th , the hotel was spotless, excellent food, most comfy beds, we had asked for a room for disabled , unfortunately it didn't meet the purpose the toilet was too low and the hand rail was not in the right place to pull myself from toilet, also the patio was dangerous with a large step up and a small step down to get onto a tiny patio, hence it didn't get used much. we were happy to find slopes in lots of places, being in a wheel chair made life a lot easier. the matre de also reserved a table for us , a big help in a large dining room, the staff were so very helpful and always pleasant. the gardens were very pretty and colourful. a very nice restful holiday.

Room Tip: rooms facing front of hotel were quiet. if hire kettle make sure you get cups from dining room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    280
    136
    54
    26
See reviews for
237
371
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Positives:
Good location - 2 mins from the beach front, nice gardens, clean throughout
Doesn't feel crowded even when full, great pool for all
Great food quality and selection
Service level ok - sometimes inconsistent and lack of english

Constructive:
Maintenance
Some rooms are quite small and "interesting design" :)

Overall very good and I would recommend and would return again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

If, like us, you are a couple looking for a quiet and relaxing holiday avoid this place at all costs. The Barcelo at Isla Canela is a really nice hotel with beautiful gardens and an impressive pool, but its real focus seems to be on attracting young families at the expense of their older or childless clientele. At times dinner in the main restaurant felt as if it was being held in a crèche as one after another the many very young kids present took it in turns to try to scream the place down. It may well be a cultural thing, i.e. the Spanish doting on young children, but I'm not sure it excuses the restaurant staff dropping everything and rushing to help when a child in a pushchair appeared. On the last two nights we weren't even able to attract their attention enough to purchase a bottle of wine. This was actually no great loss as the quality of wine on offer was pretty ghastly. They even sold an awful bottle of 'Vina Sol' which we thought was well nigh impossible.

On our penultimate night at the children's entertainment was still going strong at 10.25pm as groups of children ran round the terrace area to the consternation of the people sat around trying to enjoy a quiet drink. We never managed to stay around long enough to see the entertainment for those of us who have left childhood behind.

In fairness we really liked the hotel. The room we had was spacious enough, quiet (thankfully) and well equipped. The hotel was clean, and the staff courteous and helpful - unless of course they had been distracted by the arrival of a child under the age of 3.

Having been directed to this hotel by Thomsons after clicking the 'for couples' icon on their website this wasn't what we had expected, and by the reactions of many of the other couples (of all ages) around us it wasn't what they had hoped for either. The majority of the Barcelo's clientele actually seem to us to be couples of varying ages. Perhaps the hotel might think about addressing their needs as enthusiastically as they seem to be those of young families with children.

Needless to say we won't be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent week here. On first arriving we were not sure we would like it as it seemed so vast and at the risk of sounding really boring lacked a kettle in the room!! However within 24 hours we had settled in, hired a kettle from reception and really enjoyed chilling out beside the pools(we all needed a rest- 21 yr olds with us had just done finals at uni' and we had been busy at work). The pools were great with loads of sun loungers and we all enjoyed some of the activities available at the hotel.It was nice also to just walk across the road to the beach.The food was actually really good though we wished that more tables had been provided outside on the lovely terrace- having said that we only had to eat one evening and one breakfast indoors. The restaurant is v. big and quite stuffy. French windows would be a good idea. Also something needs to be done about the morning coffee- not nice at all- we luckily had taken some ground coffee bags. All the staff without exception were really nice, reasonable lunches available in the bar. had a fantastic holiday and didn't want to leave.Not a lot to do or see close by but as we had only wanted to enjoy the weather, swim, eat, drink and read this was fine!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We went to this hotel for 10 nights on August 1st. Overall nice hotel and was unsure what to expect. There are a lot of negative reviews and was concerned but most people seem to be unnessarily complaining about small things that do not really matter. The rooms are a little dated but very clean, flat screen TV (few english channels). Aircon included but more than happy to have door open at nights as temps drop to low as 65F. Free Wifi in reception or more convenient you can buy a wifi pass for 2 weeks for just 20 euros. So you can watch streaming TV on your tablet and make free calls over the internet e.g download viber etc.
Drinks are all inclusive (on all inclusive deal) including beer, wine and spirits. Some brands you have to pay for but are discounts 50%. Cocktail of the day included which they mix up during the week, as many as you want e.g Pina Colada.
Buffet restaurant for breakfast lunch and dinner. Food is pretty good but as with any all inclusive you may need a break and visting one of the restaurant across the road. They serve pretty good food, various tapas and are right on the beach so a night spot to watch the sun go down.
Daytime and evening entertainment is ok but not the reason why you would go there.
Lovely grounds and lots of seating outside.
Mainly one large pool connecting to a smaller shallow pool. Abdunance of sun beds.
Fantastic beach across the road, few shops and you can walk down the road that follows the beach.
Otherwise not much in the area but were more than content to stay in the hotel except a couple trips out.
Enjoyed the stay and nice hotel if you are just looking for sun, decent pool and relax majority of the time.

Room Tip: Go for a see view room and buy the wifi in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Lovely hotel, food very good and plenty of choice. Our room was not the best décor wise...but hey...you only sleep in it. It was clean and comfortable. Beach is just across the road and is beautiful. Peaceful place to stay and not really many children as I think it is more suited to the mature holiday makers. You can hire bikes and ride into the little villages. Only thing I did not like was that to get to the main shops in Ayamonte you have to get a bus...remember they close in the afternoon as it is so hot and the bus back to the hotel stops running so make sure you know when the last bus is back to the hotel or you will be stranded for a few hours unless you get a taxi. There are a couple of shops across the road from the hotel and a few little market stalls on the front but if you like shopping then you need to go into the town. The bus stop is just a short walk down the road. Overall a nice peaceful retreat if you want to get away from it all. I would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for the best room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Mum and I had our annual holiday here this year and I have to say it is a great place to stay! Mum and Dad had stayed the year before and as my Mum was a returning guest we received a bottle of Cava, which was in our room when we arrived as a thank you for coming back! The rooms are nice and clean and the beds are comfortable. The food was very good and the wine was out of a bottle rather than the watered down stuff you sometimes get when all inclusive and tasted fine. The staff were all very nice and within a couple of days knew our faces and we were always greeted with a smile and a hello how are you?. It's a quite resort, but the hotel was lively and if you like a good walk there's a good one along the promenade. I can highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Isla Canela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Isla Canela

Address: Paseo de los Gavilanes s/n, 21470 Ayamonte, Isla Canela, Spain (Formerly Riu)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Ayamonte > Isla Canela
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Isla Canela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Isla Canela 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Barcelo Isla Canela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Isla Canela Hotel Isla Canela
Isla Canela Barcelo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Isla Canela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.