We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant for doorstep golf and a la carte meals.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Isla Canela Golf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Isla Canela Golf to your Saves list
Hotel Isla Canela Golf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Golf Norte s/n, 21409 Ayamonte, Isla Canela, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla Canela
Margate, kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant for doorstep golf and a la carte meals.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Brilliant hotel, excellent rooms, excellent meals if you love a la carte style cooking, lovely friendly staff. Ideal for playing golf (course also very good) This Hotel definitely deserves it's 4* rating. (The location is not ideal if you wish to spend your time on the beach as it is a car ride away)( It is also not suitable for people who crave bangers and mash or beefburgers and chips)

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor were all of a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    43
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
65
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

I travelled with seven friends for a golfing break and found this hotel to be faultless. The rooms are modern and spacious, and the buffet breakfast is just what you need before a round of golf.

The course itself is fantastic and I was told by a local that it is one of the most challenging in Spain.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a top quality golfing break or even just a relaxing break

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We have recently returned from a weeks holiday. Two couples, two golfers , two not. We had a great time, everything about the hotel was top class. Our rooms were spacious, well equipped and very clean. The daily cleaning was excellent. From checking in at reception everything went well. The food was very good, golf great but, without doubt, the best thing was the friendliness & professionalism of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Thanks Pedro the rioja was excellent, especially during the Ryder Cup. As I said, all staff were brilliant, but I must pick out Cinta (sure to have spelt it wrong, I am sorry) as she is a star. We drove to Seville for the day. A very lovely city. Hope to return to the Hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We spent 5 days at the hotel and found it overall to be good. The room was large, clean and comfortable and whilst the balcony offered great views we weren't able to spend much time outside or even open the doors due to a nasty 'drain' like smell.
When I asked for an iron, I was informed that the hotel didn't have one but I could use the laundry service-no thanks!
On our return after a long day, we walked past several staff on the way to our room but were not informed of an ongoing power cut - literally left in the dark! The atmosphere was lacking BUT great pool, handy, quiet location and very clean. Would we go back? Mmm, not sure...

Room Tip: Perhaps, to avoid nasty smells, chose a room not facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

I had a nice stay in this hotel. The food of the restaurant was really good and all the staff very friendly.
The only drawback was the type of bed. I asked for a double size bed but it was not possible and we stayed in a two bed room.
Overall I recommend it. 5 min to the beach, by car.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We were recommended to this hotel by a property agent and the hotel itself was very good. The rooms were large, well furnished & comfortable (provided you like a firm bed) and the staff were generally friendly and helpful.
The hotel's brochure extols the virtues of their restaurant "Thebussem" - they lie, or at least in my case they did!
The wine I ordered, they didn't have; the main course I ordered, they didn't have. the starter both my wife and I ordered, wasn't fresh (and if raw prawns & Crayfish aren't fresh - it isn't good news)
The Salmon Terriaki I ordered as a replacement for the Bream they didn't have was like no Terriaki I have ever seen. It was two chunks of Salmon well cooked on the skin side and raw on the inside - with a pot of Terriaki sauce on the side!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

This hotel was a real find and I will be staying again in future trips to the area. It is located very close to the Spanish Portuguese border outside the town of Ayamonte. It has what looked like a decent 18 hole golf course and an outdoor pool. I had dinner in the bar and breakfast in the restaurant. The food was great as was the service. The bedrooms are well equipped with separate bath and shower, free Wi-Fi and good comfy beds. This is the first hotel I have ever stayed in where the air con is quiet enough that you can have it on at night and still sleep. I thought it was broken initially it was so quiet. So all in all a very good quality hotel, well located, good facilities and not at all over priced. I would recommend this place if you want activity (golf etc) or you want some peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Go down the far end of the corridors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Isla Canela Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isla Canela Golf

Address: Calle Golf Norte s/n, 21409 Ayamonte, Isla Canela, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Ayamonte > Isla Canela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla Canela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Isla Canela Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Isla Canela Golf offers a peaceful, relaxed and friendly setting where you can enjoy all the activities available at Isla Canela and the village of Ayamonte throughout the year thanks to its privileged climate, with more than 300 days of sunshine every year on average.The hotel is beautifully decorated with 58 exclusive and elegant rooms and Andalusian-style architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Isla Canela Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Isla Canela Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.