We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every thing reviewed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Atlantico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Atlantico to your Saves list
Melia Atlantico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de la Mojarra s/n, 21409 Ayamonte, Isla Canela, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% discount
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isla Canela
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Every thing reviewed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Melia. Starting at the beginning, it must have been end of season blues Eileen did not give us a very exciting welcome to Spain. From the terminal building to the transfer coach at Faro we had to negotiate two roads and a car park on our own, we were just pointed in the general direction of our coach.Our room looked over the estuary, a view which we liked. yes i appreciate the fishing boats were noisy but if you closed the window then it was fine. The hotel was quite at night, being end of season the only entertainment was on odd nights, the opera singer was superb. The staff at the hotel were very friendly which i like and every were was kept very clean. I found a broad mix of people in the hotel young, old, German, French, Dutch, all of which made for a pleasant experience. I find it difficult to criticize the food, there was certainly plenty of it also varied. The thomson rep Nik was very helpful and always there when you wanted him, always enthusiastic. Be aware that Spanish is the main language spoken, we were double charged at two of the local restaurants. Sandy beach direct from the hotel made for a very pleasant stay, will be coming again before to long. George

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Georgemarsh983,

Thank you very much for such a good review regarding your stay in the Meliá Atlántico!

It is very nice to hear that you have been very satisfied with both our product and service, and you enjoyed the location as well. We are delighted to know that your stay with us was wonderful, and thank you also for sharing your impressions about Isla Canela on Tripadvisor, I am sure it will help many people to get around Ayamonte better.

Wishing to welcome you again very soon!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    173
    65
    20
    10
See reviews for
149
302
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Arrived at the Melia Atlantico to a warm welcome from Nik the Thomson rep who was waiting to greet everyone off the coach, the transfer time from Faro airport was 1 hour 10 minutes. While we were waiting to check-in Nik was telling us about the hotel and where the nearest supermarket was.

Our room on the 4th floor was very comfortable, really nice pleasant room, had a problem with the toilet one night, mentioned this to reception as we went to dinner, on our return from dinner everything had been sorted within about 30 minutes, excellent service.

I would have preferred the restaurant to have had tablecloths although it was not as bad as I had thought it would be, I would like to see a dress code after 8 P.M., if someone prefers to dine in shorts they could go to dinner at 7 P.M.

The evening entertainment was adequate, although I don’t think the Tina Turner tribute act was appropriate for the age group in the hotel.

On Monday evening Nik the Thomson rep runs a quiz for charity at the Sugar Reef bar, which was a nice pleasant evening.

The resort of Isla Canela is very quiet with only 2 very small supermarkets, a couple of bars/restaurants, no shops, (there is a very small shop in the hotel selling souvenir type things) I think there may have been some shops in the past but due to the recession they have closed down, the area has the impression that it is an up and coming area, but not quite got there due to the recession. The marina was a nice area to walk around but you never saw anyone walking around. The river estuary at the side of the hotel was interesting to watch the fishing boats.

The public bus to Ayamonte went from outside the hotel on the half hour, first bus 9.30 A.M. returning from Ayamonte on the hour, the bus stops running for siesta from 2 P.M. to 5 P.M. and finishes at 7 P.M. Ayamonte is a very Spanish town, quite a few shops to look around, bar prices were very reasonable, returning from Ayamonte there is a supermarket – SuperSol directly opposite the bus stop, very convenient.

Very easy to get the ferry from Ayamonte over to Vila Real de Santo Antonio in Portugal, the ferry crossing takes about 15 minutes, we didn’t need our passports, when we were there a fiesta was about to start with a fair and extra market stalls, lots of linen shop in Vila Real.

We booked 3 excursions with Thomson’s online before we went to Isla Canela, not a very good idea, I don’t think I would do this again, I had to chase Thomson’s twice for the e-ticket for the excursions, which I got 2 days before departure, we went to Seville on our first day, so missed the welcome meeting which I don’t like doing, we could have gone to Seville on the Wednesday but there was Quarteria market excursion on the Wednesday which I wanted to see, this was cancelled on Tuesday evening at about 6 P.M., a letter was pushed under our bedroom door to say there were not enough numbers, I don’t think this was the case, the excursion never existed from Isla Canela only Portugal, I had to ring the 24 hour holiday line at 10p a minute to get a refund, which took a week to get back into my bank. We also booked Loule a shopping experience, this was a really nice day, we didn’t expect this excursion to operate, we went on a mini bus, en-route near Faro we dropped some people off to join another excursion, then we continued to Loule.

Complimentary WiFi was available to Thomson guests, good connection, even in the bedroom, you had to sign for a 24 hour WiFi code at reception.

All in all a lovely hotel with very pleasant staff, we enjoyed our holiday, a special mention to Nik the Thomson rep who was the most helpful rep we have ever had on holiday, we will return sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a partial sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear 665Holidaygirl,

Thank you very much for recommend the Meliá Atlántico for future guests and for make such a good review, especially regarding the services we provide. We feel very glad to know that the attention of our staff helped to make your visit to Isla Canela a more unforgettable stay.

Wishing to welcome you and your family in the near future!

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have just returned from 10 days at the Atlantico, we knew before we went that it had been taken over by Melia, from Rui, which in our opinion is a backward step. Although the rooms and public areas are all very nice the food is absolutely abysmmal, who has sprouts, carrots, broad beans etc for breakfast, and then no sign of any veg at dinner, very strange. We were also very annoyed, when we arrived at 10.p.m. to be ushered towards a cold buffet which was covered in small flies, inedible. The area around the hotel has also been let go, it was very scruffy compared to our last visit 4 years ago.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Juneken,

Thanks for posting your impressions about your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor, we very much appreciate your review.

We very much appreciate your kind words about our hotel, although we regret to know that we did not reach all your expectations with our buffet. Your kind comments will serve as an added inspiration to improve our services.

The entire staff is looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We flew from Glasgow on a very early flight (6am) to Faro and then by coach onto the Hotel. The Hotel was beautiful, clean, pleasant staff, great food, great choice of wine, quiet as it was near the end of season, can't recommend this hotel highly enough. We needed a break and a battery recharge and it certainly did that. We did the organised trip to Seville and it was great, unfortunately as this was by coach we would have liked more time to explore this beautiful city. We booked with Kinnaird Tracel our local Travel Agent and they were fantastic in everything they organised right down to the hotel and car parking at Glasgow. Hotel Melia Atlantico is one you should not miss out on. Tour Rep Nick was amazing.

Room Tip: We had a balcony facing over the lagoon and it was great watching the fishing boats coming in and ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear alandrummer,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor!!

It is a pleasure for us to know that you have a good experience during your stay at the Meliá Atlántico. Client’s satisfaction is our ultimate commitment . We will be waiting for you next time you come to Isla Canela!!.

Hoping to accommodate you in the near future!!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is in a great location near the beach and looks the part.

The hotel looks like a 4* hotel but if you have been to any of the other Melia Hotels either in London or Spain you will be disappointed because its not up to their standards.

We travelled with Thompson on a fairly last minute booking, so a really cheap weeks holiday. The resort was really closed up and in many parts very scruffy.

Because it was the second week in October the clientele was of a mature age range with an average age of about 70, it did feel a bit like gods waiting room and on a couple a resident nurse or doctor would have been useful.

The resort seems to have a problem with flies and just sitting quietly became a fly squashing mission.

I m not sure we would visit again not much to do (only expensive Thomson trips the Rep Nick was sycophantic or up his own bum!) the food was overall not that bad but by the end of the week I was glad to go home. The buffet was a bit a of bun fight and sometimes it appeared that those more elderly guest whom spent the day with sticks etc and need help on to the coach or the plane, had a religious healing experience whilst at the hotel and could shove and push to get to the food and be quite often rude, I know that during the war food was in short supply but 60 years on its not the case!! Cava seemed to fuel many of the elderly throughout the day and at breakfast it was not uncommon to see glass upon glass drunk and taken out side of the restaurant.

Overall good for a cheap week.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear ABRDF,

Thank you for sharing on Tripadvisor your nice comments about your stay at the Meliá Atlántico Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. We work every day to improve and provide the best of our service to our guests so that they can fully enjoy their stay with us. We will continue our efforts and hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a week at the melia,the hotel is very grand part of thomson platinum at the tip of isla canela,shops bars nearby very useful as hotel prices a bit steep.couldn't get on with the food, evening menus very strange ie chili con carne with pasta?breakfast bit strange also ,carrots & broad beans alongside eggs & bacon.no comment on entertainment as went to local bar each evening.hotel facilities good,pool area very well laid out & beach easily accessible.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Fixerman1,

Thank you very much for your post!!! We really much appreciate the time that you have taking you for sharing with us your experience in the Meliá Atlántico Hotel. It is really important for us to know how your stay was, because we constantly work to meet our guest’s expectations and specially with the food.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!!!

With our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

returned yesterday from 7 night stay at melia atlantico stunning hotel in every way but far too isolated we found the area around the hotel very scruffy litter along the walkway around the perimeter flies were ever you went nothing whatsoever too do as it was end of season everywhere was closed except a couple of overpriced restaurants we we weren't told this by thompsons when we booked as if we had known we wouldn't have come here the rep for thomsons nick said this was an upmarket up and coming area sadly I don't agree it needs a lot of work and money too bring it up too anything decent we certainly wouldn't ever consider going back there again I would say it would be ideal place for middle aged couples or people in retirement looking for a very quiet holiday and not too bothered on leaving the hotel

Room Tip: don't choose rooms starting with 10 they are facing the estuary with fishing boats going up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear John S,

I would like to thank you on behalf of all the Melia Atlántico staff for your kind feedback.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you have had a perfect and lovely stay in our hotel due to our service. We very much appreciate your kind words about our location, although we regret to know that we did not reach all your expectations.

Looking forward to welcome you back,

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Atlantico

Address: Avenida de la Mojarra s/n, 21409 Ayamonte, Isla Canela, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Ayamonte > Isla Canela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Isla Canela
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Canela
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Canela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Atlantico is located in the beautiful area of Isla Canela, one of the most privileged residential tourism destinations in Spain, in Andalusia, in the province of Huelva, in the municipality of Ayamonte and on the so-called Costa de la Luz (Coast of Light). The hotel is located right on the seafront of Isla Canela Beach (Punta del Moral) which has been awarded the blue flag for quality. The beach is famous for its sand dunes and local vegetation, some of it unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Melia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Melia Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Atlantico Isla Canela
Rui Atlantico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Atlantico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.