We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel, would recommend to everyone.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Atlantico

Save Saved
You added Melia Atlantico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melia Atlantico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de la Mojarra s/n, 21409 Ayamonte, Isla Canela, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Isla Canela
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome hotel, would recommend to everyone.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Went with my girlfriend and her family for a weeks stay, probably one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. As soon as you pull up outside your jaw is on the floor and they you walk into this luxurious lobby and treated by very friendly staff. Bedroom was lovely, bed was big and comfy, room was clean and modern. Me and my girlfriend woke up really early one morning to watch the sun rise which was pretty awesome, the view from the balcony was top notch. The beach is a stones throw away from the hotel, very clean and we'll looked after. Now the best bit... The food! FOOD GLORIOUS FOOD! Hats off to the chefs, they cook up some delicious meals on those grills, which is done made to eat for you so it's fresh.

Won't ramble on too much, I've already recommended this hotel onto family and friends and would do so to you if you are thinking about going here.

Ps there is a bus stop right outside the hotel which takes you to the local town, we did a couple of day trips there and also went over to Portugal which was a good day out.

Didn't use the spa so won't rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Neil3329,

We would like to thank you for such a motivating and amazing words you have used to describe your stay in our Hotel! We will be delighted to welcome you back again in the near future and try to surprise you even more with our services!

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    90
    37
    14
    7
See reviews for
76
187
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from two weeks in Isla Canela, We didn't stay in your beautiful hotel, but in an apartment down the road. To our horror when we arrived for a relaxing two weeks by the pool we had been promised, we were told the pool had closed two weeks before ( not something mentioned in the advert). We approached your staff and explained the situation and offered to eat and drink lunch there if we could swim in the pool.They told us "No problem" and what started as a disaster ended with a wonderful holiday Thank you Melia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear JHJONES2013,

We would like to thank you for such a motivating and amazing words you have used to describe your stay in our Hotel! We desire that you will choose us first for the next year. We will be delighted to welcome you back again in the near future and try to surprise you even more with our services!

The entire staff is looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just returned from a two week stay. Second time we have visited (last time was when Rui ran the hotel) and have to say I could not compare who was best Rui or Melia. Great credit has to go to all the staff at the hotel especially Carlos (despite him showing horror at the football team I supported) and Marga in the restaurant. Whilst the staff were excellent, these two were exceptional. The hotel itself was spotless at all times, room was cleaned and maintained efficiently (albeit smaller than room we had previously, maybe we were spoilt last time). The food in the restaurant was excellent with a great selection of cooked, cereals, breads, pastries, cakes, fruit, cold meats and yogurts at breakfast. Dinner selection was equally varied with salads, soups, cold meats, breads, fish and meat. I have to say that the gazpacho we had whilst on a day trip to Seville was better than the hotel though. Isla Canela is a very quiet resort and is great to get on a bike and explore the surrounding areas. Sugar Reef still excellent for drinks measures (and winning the weekly quiz twice in a row). Ayamonte is a pleasant typical Spanish town, but is what it says on the tin, our opinion is that half day is best there.Would be better if the local bus service had their routes on the appropriate bus stops though as it can be confusing where you would pick up bus for return back. Did not cross into Portugal as this was done previously. Nik the Thomson rep was fantastic, totally decent guy and always helpful (makes a change from most reps we have had previously). Did not see Eileen except at Faro airport coach park on arrival and she must have been having a stressful day as there was no welcome except for a "are you going to Spain?". Would we we go again? Most certainly, but would like to see other places before returning to such a fantastic establishment.

Room Tip: Room 3059 is smaller than most and has a very minute balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear moodybutgrumpy,

It is very nice to hear that you have been very satisfied with both our product and service, and you enjoyed the location as well. We are delighted to know that your stay with us was wonderful.I would like to thank you for your comments and the details you highlighted about our quality of our food. I am sure it will help many people to come to our hotel.

Wishing to welcome you again very soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I've just returned after spending two excellent weeks at the Melia. Although the surrounding area is very quiet, if you just want to chill out this is the place for you. The hotel is spotless, the rooms are very comfortable and the food is great.
Plenty of sunbeds so you dont need to get up at the crack of dawn to play the "towel game",(although in our second week some guests did, and suprise suprise, they were all English) !
A special mention must go to the lady who looked after our room (2008), Laura was brilliant, also Maria in the restaurant, please thank them for me.
All in all, a brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear DurhamAm,

On behalf of myself and the Meliá Atlántico team, I would like to thank you for choosing us during your visit to Isla Canela as well as for posting such a wonderful remark regarding your experience with us. We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed with the quality of our buffet.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in your next visit!!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Our sixth visit and we were very pleased with the way that Melia had improved things in the main. The hotel was spotless throughout and the staff were top knotch. It was nice to see many of the Riu faces back. We are planning our next trip already.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Trevor H,

Greetings from Isla Canela!!! Thank you very much for such a good review regarding your stay in our hotel!!

We would like to thank you for your incredible feedback regarding your stay with us.
We are very glad to know that our services overreached your expectations. I will pass your kind comments to all the staff of the Melia Atlántico.

Wishing to welcome you in the near future!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilberdyke
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We are just finishing a weeks stay at this hotel. From start to finish it has been excellent. The staff are pleasant and helpful,Ricardo at reception changed our room on arrival due to our dislike of connecting doors in the original room,the one he took so much care to find for us was smaller but had a wonderful view over the river,he was most considerate as we're all the reception staff.he and all the hotel staff are a credit to the Melia organization . Every area of the hotel is well cared for and spotless, the food is varied and plentiful,the dining room was very much to our liking ,spacious and well designed, a lovely relaxing hotel which we hope to return to next year, the only minus is the dire choice of piped music in the public areas.otherwise five star.

Room Tip: River views the best, interesting views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Andrew m,

It is wonderful to know that you have enjoyed to the Meliá Atlántico during your holidays.

We would like to thank you for your incredible feedback regarding your stay with us.
We are very glad to know that our services overreached your expectations. I will pass your kind comments to all the staff who will be delighted to know that you have a wonderful experience thanks to the service that they provide.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!!!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N E Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just returned from our first visit to the Melia Atlantico, and we were very impressed with the hotel and would definitely return.
We were greeted by the rep Nik, and whilst waiting to check-in he pointed out where the facilities were. The reception area is large, spacious and cool. The reception staff were very friendly at all times. We were on the second floor overlooking the entrance to the hotel, at first I wasn't sure if we would be disturbed by coaches, visitors etc but needn't have worried. The room was very quiet, in fact the best sleep we have ever had on holiday. We had full sun on our balcony in the afternoon and evening and saw the most beautiful sunsets. The only downside in the room was the fact that the safe was on the wardrobe floor. It was quite a struggle to use it, having to get on all fours.
The pool area was very spacious, clean and quiet. Plenty of sunbeds were available whatever time of day we went. The pool is quite cool but once in you soon feel warm. It was nice to be able to sunbathe or sit reading without being surrounded by mobiles ringing and lager louts. The animation team don't come round pestering you to join in the activities, which also made a pleasant change. There wasn't many children there but the ones that were, were very well behaved.
We didn't really see the entertainment so can't really comment on how good it was. We were half board so went for a stroll in the evening after our meal, and stopped for a drink in the local bars.
The restaurant is decorated in a minimalist, chic, contemporary style. We never had any trouble finding a table no matter what time we went in to eat. Congratulations to the management for their choice of dining furnishings, doing away with table cloths, which in turn is helping the environment. The tables and chairs were soon wiped and reset. The food was enjoyable, varied and well presented. It was well themed and I particularly like the presentation of the individual portions. A deserved word of praise for the gardener, the floral displays add to the ambience of the hotel.
Although it's a small resort, the area was very busy with local fishermen, in their boats and sat on the rocks at the side of the estuary. The area is typically Spanish and not many locals speak English. This adds to the fun and holiday atmosphere, and the locals seemed to appreciate our efforts to speak Anglo Spanish.
A trip not to be missed is the Guadiana river cruise. The sun on your face, the wind in your hair, glorious views, Abba on the public address. A fabulous day out, not to be missed.
Finally a special word of praise for the Thomson rep Nik. A great asset to the company and a good role model for how reps should be.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Atlantico, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Cheryl S,

Thank you very much for recommend us for future guests and for make such a good review, especially regarding the services we provide. We feel very glad to know that the attention of our staff helped to make your holidays a more unforgettable stay. I would like to thank you for all he details about our food!!

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Atlantico

Address: Avenida de la Mojarra s/n, 21409 Ayamonte, Isla Canela, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Ayamonte > Isla Canela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Isla Canela
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Canela
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Canela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Atlantico 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Atlantico is located in the beautiful area of Isla Canela, one of the most privileged residential tourism destinations in Spain, in Andalusia, in the province of Huelva, in the municipality of Ayamonte and on the so-called Costa de la Luz (Coast of Light). The hotel is located right on the seafront of Isla Canela Beach (Punta del Moral) which has been awarded the blue flag for quality. The beach is famous for its sand dunes and local vegetation, some of it unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Melia Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Atlantico Isla Canela
Rui Atlantico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Atlantico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.