We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in all Sardinia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. Nido d'Aquila, 07024 Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in La Maddalena
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in all Sardinia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

First thing to know about Grand Hotel Ma&ma is Olga!
From the first to the last minute Olga made our stay even more pleasant and welcoming. I went with my wife to Ma&Ma as soon as we arrive at La Maddalena island after a trip all around Sardinia. And it was the best choice we could ever made. The hotel is really comfortable and even more familiar than it appear on the pictures. Brand new! With only a few small details to adjust like a drainage from the bath. All looks and is very good for the standard room were we stay from the amenities to the perfumed towels and bathrobes (already missing the smell of Acqua di Parma).
The gym and Spa have fantastic conditions although the water temperature for the internal pool could be a bit warmer.
The restaurant is great as their staff. All the food is really good and well made, but some things are too expensive like water. The breakfast is very good with all that you need for a breakfast with quality food. if it is a sunny day you can have it outside near the pool :).
So its a very charming small hotel with all the conditions for a perfect stay and get to know all the surrounding islands and unforgettable beach's.
All the staff is very nice and Don't forget Olga the young lady with the beautiful and welcoming smile at the reception! With all the good tips for you to know and love La Maddalena as she does!
Coming back for sure as soon as we can!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHResortMaeMa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Paulo P,

Thank you for sharing a fabulous review of our Hotel.

It gives us such great pleasure to learn that everything ensured that you had pleasant and comfortable stay. Our team members aim to ensure that guests are cared for, valued and respected at all time and we are very pleased to hear that our goal was achieved. I will ensure that your kind comments are passed onto the colleagues mentioned.
Once again, thank you very much for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Ma&Ma in the not too distant future.

Best wishes,

Rosalba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    38
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
24
105
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great new hotel with some improvements to be made. Facilities and in particular the spa are great. The pool is very nice but the area is too small. Pictures shown everywhere are misleading because the place has no view. Mistake in bathroom design with flooding after every shower.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHResortMaeMa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Pieter14,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Grand Hotel Ma&Ma.

I really appreciate the time you took to review your visit, your feedback is important to us as it helps to improve our standards of service and to enhance the guest experience.
I look forward to welcoming you again at the Grand Hotel Ma&Ma.

Best regards,

Rosalba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Difficult to find, a bit of a drive from the hive of activity near the docks, but does have a lot of potential. Access road can be found after an extremely tight right hand uphill turn onto a gravel road. Once through the entrance gates (gates not actually fitted yet) you can see 'Ma&Ma' ahead of you.
When we arrived the presence of a dark grey Ferrari F430 parked outside (for rent!) was a pleasant sight and added some credibility to a 5 Star rating. However everything is very very new and several areas are unfinished.
At the moment there is plenty of parking space to your right which is primarily because the buildings opposite are all empty and still under construction. It is not clear if these buildings will be residential or hotel accommodation. If the former there will be nowhere to park, if the latter residents will be annoyed about tourists inevitably taking their parking spaces!
Having visited several 5-7 Star hotels in the UAE in recent years we know what 'no expense spared' quality is like and have to say the decor is right up there. It features some beautiful flooring, tastefully decorated walls and cabinets and stunning crystal effect ceiling lights. Whilst the pristine plush white leather seats and sofas are immaculate at present you do have to wonder if they will stand the test of time.
Similarly in true smart phone style elevators and doors are 'touch screen' operated, which looks great but given the number of double takes we had to make it makes you wonder if it will last. Touch sensitive glass is fine but sometimes you can't beat the feel of a 'button'.
After exiting the blazing August heat the hallways are a bit too cold. Visitors to shops in Florida will know what I mean. The room we had however was fine and we didn't adjust the temperature at all during our stay.
The room is fairly spacious, not Middle East standard, but fine for a family of 3. Again it's tastefully decorated in blacks, greys and beige tones and looks fresh and modern - because it is!
During our stay the 3rd floor balcony was still under construction thus was closed but it is apparent that that will be the place to see the sea. The sea is certainly not visible from floors 1 & 2 nor the swimming pool area.
The swimming pool is annexed to the restaurant area, giving it a dining room-garden feel. The pool itself is kidney shaped and is the same depth at either end. I believe it is about 1.4 metres deep which is ok for adults but not for children (or inexperienced swimmers). There are steps at one end of the pool, (and a bubble pool button in one corner) so you can sit or walk into the pool so is a place of reassurance. Having said that there is no lifeguard on patrol so you have to remain extremely vigilant.
The pool is not huge but it's not that small either. Having read some reviews I was expecting a garden pond but no it's fine. For me the main concern about the pool area is lack of shade. There are plenty of loungers and 3 floors of decking space but only 3 large umbrellas. If you don't put your towel down by 9am you've had it.
Breakfast is pretty good. Again it is not UAE standard in terms of size and variety but there is something there for most people, from cereal to English breakfast and plenty of fruit, cheeses, bread and juices.
Prices for evening meals were way too high - as much as €33 per course - so we generally drove into town for evening meals.
They have a small Technogym set with the usual set of solid free weights, running machines, and cross trainer. The Spa is stunning to look at, but strictly adults only! It features a stunning indoor pool with sparkling ceiling and waterfalls; steam room, turkish bath; massage rooms; solarium (!); hairdresser and manicure/pedicure salon.
Staff were very kind and pleasant, everyone saying hello and always smiling.
Overall very pleased with the hotel but if I were driving a Ferrari here I'd want to avoid all that gravel on the way in - and out! Ouch!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHResortMaeMa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Mikethebi,

Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Ma&Ma and for taking your time to
post your detailed review. We do appreciate your feedback and we will definitely try our best to improve all the directions of the hotel management and in operations departments following our guests suggestions.
We look forward to welcoming you once more to the Grand Hotel Ma&Ma in the near future.


Best Regards,

Rosalba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We arrived at the hotel knowing that it had only recently opened, but it still did not live up to our expectations. First of all there is no real sea view from the bedroom terrasse, even if it is advertised as such. Pool is nice but only a dozen or so sun loungers we wondered what it would be like when hotel is full. A few more choices for breakfast would have been nice. Hotel bar was empty in evenings no wonder when a cocktail costs €19! We had no running water twice during our stay. On positive side the hotel staff tried to do their utmost and were always friendly. We were nevertheless happy to have travelled to this beautiful archipelago and beaches.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHResortMaeMa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear flowerflo,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Grand Hotel Ma&Ma and for your detailed review.

We really appreciate the time you took to review your visit, your feedback is important to us as it helps to improve our standards of service and to enhance the guest experience. Hopefully you will notice the difference in quality and service during your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Roslaba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

New hotel, quite a lot to be improved on.
Rooms are nice and fresh, but very cold because of the airconditioning. You can't really control it, you need to call reception if you want it off and then contact them again if you want it on. Very inconvenient.
tv is supposed to be very high-tech, but none of the English-speaking channels worked. You get good wifi in the room, but nowhere else. (maybe in the lobby, but you need to ask for another password).
The hotel has almost no grounds. While the pool is quite pleasant, the pool area is pretty, but tiny and i can't imagine what it would be like if the hotel was full and there were more than 10 people who'd like to swim. Amazingly they also put all the shade (umbrellas) away as soon as there's the slightest breezy.
The location is good, really close to the sea, but surprisingly there's almost NO view of the sea from anywhere. We had a room on the 3rd top floor and you could glimpse it behind some houses, but i'd never call this 'sea view' as they make it appear in the description of the rooms. Anyway, mainly the view is of the carpark and i would not recommend a room in any of the ground or 1st floors.
Breakfast was also poor. You'd expect better quality from a luxury hotel. There was one type of bread and not really a lot of variety. Hopefully they'll implement some changes there. Did not eat at the restraurant, but it was very expensive. Better spend your money in the cute little town, much more choice and good eats.

The reception staff are very friendly, if not yet very organised. Room service is also rather chaotic. Elevators did not work. I guess it's still a work in progress.
Overall, the hotel feels still quite sterile. Hopefully with time it will get a bit more lived in and probably more pleasant.

Room Tip: definitely go for a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sardinia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed at Grand Hotel Ma & MA last week for a long week-end and very much enjoyed the hotel's location which allowed me to discover many of the hundreds bays all around La Maddalena.

The hotel is suited for active people who really wants to discover the beauty of the isalnd and come back at evening to enjoy a very good spa.

the Building is brand new, nicely decorated and with some very impressive details. with time it will get warmer as you can feel it was recently opened.

Value for money extremely in balance and in line with a new opening.

Room Tip: all rooms are very particular, suites are for sure worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHResortMaeMa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear loki4,

It was such a pleasure to read your review, we are delighted you chose Grand Hotel Ma&Ma for your stay in la Maddalena and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the experience.

Thank you very much for your positive comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel Ma&Ma in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Rosalba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Ordered a familiy room but were upgraded to suite. Lovely and helpful staff arranged for us to have a wonderful holiday. The hotel is quite new and is an undiscovered treasure in this lovely island of maddalena. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotel has a pool, gym, a beach nearby. The breakfast is good with lots of fruit, could only be a little more to choose from. Overall luxury feeling about this.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHResortMaeMa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Juxtra,

Thank you for sharing a fabulous review of our Hotel.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Hotel Ma&Ma and we are very happy that you would definitely recommend it to "anyone".

It was a great pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Rosalba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma

Address: Loc. Nido d'Aquila, 07024 Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Maddalena Islands > La Maddalena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in La Maddalena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ma&Ma (Grand Hotel Resort) has overcome a noteworthy challenge in building an extra luxury resort with a low impact on the surrounding environment. The magnificent elegance and functionality are conveyed in a stylish aesthetic design which coexists with the more rigorous green style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma La Maddalena, Sardinia - Maddalena Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.