We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spalmatore Beach

Spalmatore Beach
Sardinia, Italy
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We did a day trip here, we crossed by ferry with a car and drove around, crossing the bridge to caprera. Both amazing. There's a piece of paradise at every corner.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    37
    16
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andalucía
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't go on your own if you don't know it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Better to go on a cruise than on your own if you don't know the isles. The best beaches are hard to find and get.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Trip to the islands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Took the car on the ferry for the 20 minute crossing. Drove to Caprera and found there were lots of pull ins off the road where you could stop for a swim and a picnic. The coastline was superb. The town of Maddalena was full of little shops and resaurants.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were told that if we visited Sardinia, we had to go to the island of La Maddalena.......so glad we did. Absolutely beautiful!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Easy to get to and a great escape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Sardinia doesn't lack small islands so we gambled on Maddalena. Visiting this intimate oasis is definitely worth the trip and it was so easy to get to. We didn't need to book the car ferry in advance since there are so many boats going to and from the island. We could even buy our tickets on board. It's incredibly simple to navigate around the island. Impossible to get lost, but one definitely needs a car to see the whole thing. The variety of terrain (sea, valley and mountains) was extraordinary. We stopped almost every 10mn to take a picture. It's also interesting for history buffs with Garibaldi's house and memorial on Caprera Island.
The beaches weren't too busy, but we found we preferred the beaches on the east coast of Sardinia. The beaches in Maddalena were a bit more rocky, but there was no shortage of them. Parking for the beach wasn't a problem even in early August. Parking was an issue in the main city of Maddalena for dinner, but perseverance and a bit of Italian innovation paid off.
Strongly recommend visiting Maddalena while you're in Sardinia.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spalmatore Beach also viewed

La Maddalena, Maddalena Islands
 
La Maddalena, Maddalena Islands
La Maddalena, Maddalena Islands
 

Been to Spalmatore Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spalmatore Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Spalmatore Beach to your Saves list