We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do in Maddalena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B la petit maison

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Maddalena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B la petit maison
Save
You added B&B la petit maison to your Saves list
Livenza, 7, 07024 Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must do in Maddalena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved to stay at this charming place.

Why we loved it so much:

Miriam and Lino was so nice and helpful.
The room was big and beautiful.
The little garden where you eat was really relaxing.
The breakfast was so cute, Miriam makes special decorations for you.
It is a 5 minute walk from the center of the city.

We stayed at hotel at first, but when we found this little gem we moved right away, much more charm.

While you are there, you must try a day trip with a boat called Marinella. It only cost 30€ and you get a really nice lunch onboard. Lino and Miriam will help you book it. The captain is among the most skilled in the archipelago.

Drive around the Island and over to Caprera, find the beach you like the most and enjoy it. A parasol is a must though.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
62
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Every day of our 8-day stay at La Petit Maison was special. The hospitality of Miriam and Lino made us feel totally at home, more so than during any other part of our trip. The breakfasts are definitely something to wake up for, so much so that at least half of our holiday photos were fruit-based!

The room was spacious, clean and cool, which proved to be crucial as the temperature was rarely below 30 degrees. However, my favourite part of the house was the garden, which was beautifully decorated and came complete with a talking parrot!

We couldn't have designed a better place to stay and I want to thank Miriam and Lino for their great stories, paintings and hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

La petit(e) maison is what you expect to see in an upmarket glossy magazine. Old fashioned designer chic with quirky touches. The b&b was totally refurbished by Miriam and Lino. We were part of a film set - "Out of Africa" or another film of that ilk. It oozes charm and sophistication. And so does Miriam. Her breakfasts are a work of art and we were not surprised to learn that she has turned down offers to do her own cookery programme on TV. During our stay Miriam arranged for us to go on a boat tour of La Maddalena archipelago for the day. She especially asked the Captain, a friend, to bring his American wife along to explain the sights. It was the most enjoyable day of our three week tour of Sardinia. We paid only 30 euros per person for the day's cruise on the Marinella IV including lunch. We would highly recommend the boat cruise and the b&b. La Maddalena itself and its islands were the highlight of our tour.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I've just returned from a five-night stay at La Petit Maison and it was, quite simply, fantastic. Miriam and Lino are perfect hosts and go out of their way to make sure your trip to the island is very special. From restaurant and excursion recommendations to checking bus times for us and dropping us at the port in our last day, we were treated like a member of their family. Nothing was too much for them.

The garden and accommodation itself is also beautiful. The room was very clean and decorated in a way that captures their exceptional taste and attention to detail. It's the little touches that really make the place and they've clearly put a great deal of thought into decorating the whole property. Breakfasts are also wonderful consisting of lots of fresh fruit and pastries that will set you up for the day ahead.

We can't wait to return to the B&B and stay with Miriam and Lino again soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Thank you Lino and Mim for making our visit to La Maddelena so lovely.

You made us feel so welcome from the moment we stepped through the garden gates, and the house was beautiful as was our room. The surprise at the breakfast table each morning gave us something to look forward to each day, and the tips for the best beaches and restaurants invaluable - we even returned to our favourite place twice!

Thank you also for arranging for us to experience a magical evening on a nearby island to see Paolo Tessuti play. We loved being part of it - seeing more of the real Sardegna and its arty crowd, and sharing a meal with you both and practicing our Italian. We would love to come back in the future. Grazie mille da Simona, Emma e la principessa 'Franzi'.
xxx

Room Tip: We stayed in the standard room - a nice breeze through the windows, and the bathroom was lovely too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

La petite maison is a great experience: a beautiful place that shows the talents of both Miriam and Lino. Miriam's breakfasts are works of art and we loved Lino's paintings displayed in our room. They care for their guests, as evidenced by such things as the provision of beach umbrellas, the offer of breakfast rolls to take along for picnic lunches, and the readiness to make restaurant reservations . We felt so comfortable there; it was hard to leave after three nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Just returned from La Petit Maison where my wife and I enjoyed a lovely 5-night stay (August 2012). We had not stayed in a B&B abroad before, usually going for hotels, but we are very glad we gave it a try and pleased with the whole experience and value for money. As others have pointed out the house is beautifully decorated and has plenty of character. The courtyard garden where you eat breakfast is leafy and cool with flowers in bloom. The way that you enter the premises which seems hidden away from the road, through an unassuming gate, and then opens out infront of you as you step down into the courtyard, reminded us a bit of some of the beautiful riads you might find in Morocco.

Miriam and Lino are very friendly and helpful but never intrusive. Breakfasts are very nice with croissants, bread, fresh fruit and yoghurt. Our room was very nice with a large comfortable bed and our own bathroom. There are only 3 guest rooms in total so it is nice and peaceful. The first night was a bit hot and humid but it was like that accross southern europe - the following nights we had acclimatised and we slept well.

The location is great, just a 5 minute walk to the main part of the town by the seafront. A car or scooter is needed to go further afield to explore the numerous fantastic beaches around the island.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to B&B la petit maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B la petit maison

Address: Livenza, 7, 07024 Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Maddalena Islands > La Maddalena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in La Maddalena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the Petit Maison is located on the island of La Maddalena, in one of the, for those who love the sea, most beautiful and fascinating in the Mediterranean.The house has 3 bedrooms of about 20 mq.,inside the room, furniture decorated in pastel tones enhanced with aging techniques. while “Standard” has a private bath, crafts made and covered with colored resins.Breakfast can be enjoyed in the garden, the shade of the lemon tree or under a small gazebo. If time does not allow, breakfast will be served inside the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
B&B La Petit Maison La Maddalena, Sardinia - Maddalena Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B la petit maison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.