We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Skaftafell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Skaftafell to your Saves list
Hotel Skaftafell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Freysnesi, Skaftafell, Vatnajokull National Park 785, Iceland (Formerly Fosshotel Skaftafell)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skaftafell
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great view, good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My sons and I stayed here while visiting Skaftafell national park and found it very comfortable. A rear facing room will give you a lovely view of the mountains/glacier, and the breakfast served is above average. Overall it was a very good value and is recommended.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    25
    32
    16
    1
See reviews for
16
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakebay, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a mix up with our pre-booked hotel about 50 Km away and came in to Hotel Skaftafell as walk ins instead. We were welcomed with a smile and got a room and a decent rate. It was cozy and clean , we had terrible wifi ( but really, when you're amongst glaciers, who really cares about wifi?) We had dinner at the restaurant, expensive but a nice meal, and drinks later at the bar upstairs. We met some lovely women from Catalonia and enjoyed our beer and their company. The poor bartender had no idea how to make any of the drinks they had up on the chalkboard, but we were just happy to have our feet up with a beer after a very long day of driving and sightseeing. We ended our evening with a spectacular viewing of the Aurora Borealis! It was VERY cold, but the most incredible experience. I found the beds to be incredibly comfortable, nice heavy comforters as well. Breakfast in the morning was good, fairly standard but appreciated. Overall and excellent stay for us.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The place is comfortable, clean and a standard hotel. They serve breakfast in the morning which is standard breakfast. The rooms are comfortable and staff definitely friendly and helpful. They have an upstairs bar too so keep that in mind if you need a drink. They are basically open whenever, i asked for a drink around midnight and they served me without hesitation. WiFi signal is strong in the rooms and there is a common area upstairs that people can relax and soak in the adventures of the day. Good stop over place, very standard in hotel. Nothing special on the decor but then again I wasn't expecting anything. It's close to skaftafell area for the glacier park that the climb and walks are located. It's also close enough to the glacier lagoon. Worth staying, price was reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I picked this hotel on the basis of being convenient to the Vatnajökull national park, the tongue of the glacier Öræfajökull behind the hotel and Jökulsárlón where the icebergs calve off the Breiðamerkurjökull glacier into the lagoon and the quietness. There is no other hotel for 30+ miles in either direction, so its best to book well in advance.

Like others have noted, the rooms are rather small, though the beds are firm and the rooms warm - we were in the "block" at the back - quiet and great views of the mountains and the glaciers. The bathroom was tiny and heating by means of 2 convection heaters only in the room and no tea or coffee making facilities. Front desk staff were very polite and helpful and also the evening restaurant staff were very professional - but the food was rather expensive and very limited choices. Eat at the petrol station across from the hotel - its half the price. Hotel wifi was quite good.

There is merit in taking time to walk up behind the hotel to the glacier and observing the view over the hotel across the basalt plains to the sea. Peaceful and serene.

Room Tip: Stay in the blocks out the back for a quiet life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

There aren't many choices for places to stay on the south coast of Iceland, but that doesn't mean the hotels take that for granted! The people who run and work at the hotel are friendly, the rooms are clean (and very quiet!), and the beds comfortable so what more do you want? In addition, we had a nice meal and while looking out the window I saw and managed to capture an amazing sunset right across the street. If you travel in the winter (from October to March), there is a chance to see the northern lights and you can leave your room number at the desk and they will wake you if the northern lights show up.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We stayed here for one night and found it a good location for visiting Jokulsarlon as this was the furthest location we are doing before heading back towards Reykjavik. Our room was a good size and clean, the bathroom was compact with a shower cubicle rather than bath with shower over. As with other hotels in Iceland no hard soap just liquid. Hair dryer wasn't provided so if that's important to you then take your own. We had requested double beds but had two singles on arrival, but had been told by tour agent that a double couldn't be guaranteed. The beds were very comfortable.

Dinner is in the restaurant or you can eat across the road at the cafe which is part of the hotel. The cafe is cheaper and does various burgers and a few other dishes - you can also buy food supplies and has a petrol station. The restaurant has a smaller choice of meals. My lamb wasn't as tender as I've had in other places in Iceland but it was ok. Prices are similar to other hotels around ISK 4,100 for a main meal and ISK 1,500 for pudding (£24 / £7.50)

As there isn't much else around there aren't too many lights so good if the a Northern lights make an appearance. There is a bar upstairs which looks out over the bar into the mountains.

Good choice at breakfast and helpful friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

In Skaftafell, 50kms far away from Jokulsarlon. The area is fantastic, price is quite expensive even for Iceland: most expensive thing was for sure the dinner, even if it was really good. Really good sleep with fantastic beds.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Skaftafell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skaftafell

Address: Freysnesi, Skaftafell, Vatnajokull National Park 785, Iceland (Formerly Fosshotel Skaftafell)
Location: Iceland > East Region > Vatnajokull National Park > Skaftafell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skaftafell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skaftafell 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Skaftafell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Skaftafell Hotel Skaftafell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Skaftafell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.