We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location makes this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Skaftafell

Hotel Skaftafell
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Skaftafell to your Saves list
Hotel Skaftafell
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Freysnesi, Skaftafell, Skaftafell National Park 785, Iceland (Formerly Fosshotel Skaftafell)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skaftafell
Calgary
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Location makes this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Definitely get the impression this hotel is an assembly of a of pre-fabs, however that said its clean, quiet and comfortable, just not luxurious.
It is in a spectacular location and you have easy road access from there to the numerous glaciers and waterfalls. The view from our room was gorgeous.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. As with many of the places that don't have a land-line, the Wifi is slow and data is limited (but who cares).
The food was very good but expensive. One food alternative for the budget conscious might be the gas station across the road which also seemed to serve all 3 meals.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    19
    22
    12
    1
See reviews for
13
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

If you're looking for a place to stay that's close to Skaftafell, this is it. No frills, clean and warm place to spend the night near the glaciers on the south coast. Friendly and helpful staff. Don't expect luxury, but nothing beats the convenience. I'm not sure what reviewers who expected more for their money were seeking - if you want a luxury stay, you can't be at the base of this glacier.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

We wanted an over night stay in the Vatnajokulsthjodgardur Nation Park so choice was limited to this or stay in Vik and travel onwards for a couple of hours.
The hotel itself is very dated and looks like long pre-fabs. We stayed in the main block of the hotel as it appeared to be the only part open at the time (Nov 2014)
The rooms have 3 single beds in each and a small but functional shower room. Shower gel and shampoo provided. Towels so very thin I truly believed I was going to tear it in half getting dry!
The hotels' restaurant prices and choices was limited and over priced. Choice of 3 mains, all around the £35.00 mark. Fish, Lamb or vegetarian option.
We ate at the petrol station across the road, haddock and beef burger with 2 soft drinks for £25.00 total. Very nice.
The wi-fi connection was limited which we were not aware of, so it was soon used up!
No refreshment making facilities in the room however staff were willing to provide thermos flasks and milk etc
Breakfast was poor and very limited.
For the £100.00 per night I feel this could be the one thing they excel at.I asked for a hot boiled egg, but sadly the waiter told me there were none, but some cold boiled eggs were halved on a tray of ham(?) and cheese. There were other options like yoghurt and cream cheese.
We had toast and cornflakes............. !!!
So, why bother....??? THE LOCATION !!
Possibly one of the most stunning back drops to an Icelandic hotel! Snow covered Mountains and the largest glacier in Europe.
A brisk walk at the back of the hotel brings you onto a narrow path through what looked like alpine plants everywhere down to the glacier itself.
I would say about a 15 - 20 mins walk if you are a hiker (or young...LOL) to 45 - 50 mins if like me, you are slow and not used to the conditions.
Its cold!! Wrap up well and enjoy the magical sight.
ps... if you chose to stay here, turn left out of the hotel and drive for approx 40 mins to Iceberg Lake. You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We stayed for one night on our trip around Iceland, it is comfortable and friendly set in a national park.which is stunning to hike around. The food was superb, far better than expected, the service relaxed, friendly but professional. We thanked the chef and he joined us at the end of our meal for a chat. It was here that we had the good fortune to see the Aurora in all it's splendour. As this hotel is in a rather secluded area we walked behind the hotel towards the glacier under a full moon with no light pollution of people and watched our own awesome light show! We recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

We stayed at this property on a hiking trip across Iceland. I was told it was a very basic hotel that has a good location. My expectations were low but I was pleasantly surprised in how comfortable I was and the meals were very good. It is well located near the glaciers with spectacular views on the hikes we took in that area. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

There are not that many choices for lodging in Skaftafell but this was a clean and decent place to stay at. We ended up having dinner at the hotel which was really delicious but a bit pricey. Very close drive to the Jokulsarlon Lagoon, which is stunning. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I wouldn't choose to stay at the Hotel Skaftafell again, unless I had to. It is one of the very few alternatives available, so that is probably why they exist. For our $350 for one night, we got a room with three single beds, a leaky shower head that sprayed water all across the bathroom, and a very cramped experience. There is not a good restaurant at this hotel, and very few alternatives anywhere nearby--the truck stop across the street is the recommended haute cuisine in the neighborhood. Of course, breakfast/wi-fi/parking all included, but so what?
The staff are nice, and there is not a lot to complain about, but this place feels very much like a cheap motel in the middle of Mississippi more than anything else. One goes here to see the falls and to hike, but you just want to leave as fast as you can.

Room Tip: All rooms are three singles--I checked them all out during maid service time--there is no particular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Skaftafell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skaftafell

Address: Freysnesi, Skaftafell, Skaftafell National Park 785, Iceland (Formerly Fosshotel Skaftafell)
Location: Iceland > East Region > Skaftafell National Park > Skaftafell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skaftafell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skaftafell 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Skaftafell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Skaftafell Hotel Skaftafell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Skaftafell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.