We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fanny's Terrace Bistro

Fanny's Terrace Bistro
Via hacia Cerro Punta, Cerro Punta, Panama
+(507)68456455
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Sushi, Vegetarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: We guarantee a unique esperience that you will never forget
Bocas del Toro, Panama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great people, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We were lucky enough to be staying just a 10-minute walk down the road, so that we could go back for a second meal at Fanny's. They were willing to make all kinds of variations of their basic menu, and everything that came out of their tiny kitchen was fantastic. Fresh ingredients perfectly seasoned. We had to control ourselves to save room for dessert: cheesecake topped with passion fruit/strawberry sauce. Yum! But the best part might have been the conversations we enjoyed with our friendly chefs, Fanny and Luis. We left feeling we'd made new friends. If you are anywhere near Cerro Punta, don't miss the opportunity to try Fanny's Terrace Bistro. The food is excellent and the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Volcan, Panama
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Wow what a find and a great recommendation! The amazing family fed us wonderfully, cared for us so warmly and made marvelous tea with herbs and ingredients from their garden. It was more than incredible meals we enjoyed there, it was the whole experience: the family, their talent with food, the freshness and flavouring of everything were just fantastic. This is truly creative and amazing food. Can't wait to come back for more of your cooking later this year, Fanny and family!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A true gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

When our good friend who lives in nearby Volcan suggested we dine at Fanny's, we promptly agreed and were truly delighted. The charming cabin is below the road, perched over the river with wonderful scenery during daylight hours. But it was four of us for dinner on a Wednesday night, and since we called ahead she agreed enthusiastically to feed us. And what a meal! Fanny's menu is the definition of the freshest form of farm to table one can find, especially in Panama. The tiny lettuces and arugula that regaled the marvelous salads were picked an hour earlier from the restauran't's garden; it is onion harvesting season in the highlands of Chiriqui so we ordered the sublime cream of onion soup for starters. Yum! Chicken breast with mustard sauce or with wine and herbs was wonderful. So sorry we had no room for desert. And last but least, our hostess and chef has to be the most gracious, warm and capable restauranteur in Panama, bar none. She and her partner and son, the smiling server, made our evening, magical in this true gem, and all for a very reasonable tag. Kudos all around.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Food in Panama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were amazed by this place. It is a modest looking restaurant from the road. Just a small building with outdoor picnic table seating and some indoor seating as well. The view up the side of the hill is breathtaking. Classical music plays in the background. And then, a chalkboard with the night's specials is brought out and the decision-making begins. We were served a crisp white wine with tuna croquettes to start. My husband had tornedos of beef, which he claims to be the best steak he has ever eaten. I had mahi mahi in coconut curry sauce, which rendered me speechless. Too full for dessert we had to pass on the chocolate cake, flan, strawberries and more. Too bad. But we returned the next day for lunch. And the next. And the next.

Do not miss this place. Fanny and her husband are the chefs and they know what they are doing. Jonathan, Fanny's son, is a delightful host who speaks impeccable English but is only there when he is not in medical school in Panama City.

Such a wonderful and unexpected find.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Our hosts at Cielito Sur recommended this place to us. We had two really good meals there. It is a tiny little wooden building perched below the road on the hillside, and with a very informal atmosphere. Fanny and her husband and her son prepare and serve the food. You feel as if you are sitting in their kitchen having a meal with them. The food was excellent too, fresh and prepared with love. This was the one of the best places and the best meals we had in Panama. It felt like a privilege to be there!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fanny's Terrace Bistro also viewed

 
Volcan, Chiriqui Province
David, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Fanny's Terrace Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fanny's Terrace Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.