We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A path sorrounded by nature. Awesome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Dracula

Finca Dracula
Cerro Punta, Panama
507 771 2070
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The habitats of many orchids are being slowly wiped out either by temperature change, forest clearing, or the elimination of insects that pollinate the flowers. Finca Dracula engages in expeditions to collect these native species. Finca Dracula is dedicated to promoting education, investigation, and conservation of orchids and other tropical ornamental plant species.
Panamá City
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A path sorrounded by nature. Awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We went to finca Dracula last December and it was awesome. Its required to go on a 4 x 4 because the uphill walk is very rough. "Any Pets that enters the farm will be fed to the draculas" Lol. Thats the entrance message. The property has a fee to access and rent a guide to walk u by through the facility. Good experience!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lumby, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dracula at the Gate!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Seriously, following a short uphill walk (the road is too rough for anything but a four wheel drive), arrived at the gates of Finca Dracula which had a wrought iron bat on top. Very cool! The grounds were absolutely breathtaking. It felt like walking through the jungle, but on a nice pathway. The orchids (many, many orchids!) were beautiful. The guide spoke fluent english and spanish and gave a very educational, interesting talk about orchids. I learned a lot and was shown the actual "dracula" orchid, perhaps named this because its' petals don't like sunlight. All in all, very much worth seeing.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
135 attraction reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“private and knowledgeable tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

While staying in Los Quetzales, we decided to go and have a look at Finca Dracula, a short walk up the road. You pay 10$/pers entrance fee, but for that money, a guide takes you all around the garden and greenhouses and explains you really a lot about orchids. We had quite some questions and her answers showed that she is an expert. Although we went outside the high season for orchids, there are always real beauties to be seen, so as far as we know, a visit is fascinating in any season. My husband is not into flowers, but also he was impressed after the 1.5h visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

very beautiful place! Well worth the excursion. Now I feel educated on Orchids. Definately came out with a wealth of knowledge and respect for this variety of plant.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Thus was a true highlight of our trip to Panama actually a few years ago. So many exotic orchids. Young children might get bored, but would love exploring the beautiful grounds. You might get lucky and be there like we did in the only day of the year that a particular type of orchid blooms. You do not realize how many types of orchids there are.....ones that even look like monkeys

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finca Dracula also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Finca Dracula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Dracula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.